We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Bluewater Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The resort is located beautifully on a hill, overlooking the lake, close to the village center. It consists of a series of small buildings with nicely decorated, modern rooms. There’s a common entrance leading to 2 rooms, so you might need to share. Definitely ask for a room with a lake-view!

The room we were in was very small, but good enough for a couple of days (comfortable bed, well functioning heating system, nice shower). There is a possibility to make some coffee and tea in the room, but they don’t replenish nor make up the room every day (not sure if they should, as on the second day around 4:30 pm 2 guys appeared at our door asking if we needed some service...), so if you are a heavy coffee or tea drinker, bring your own supplies or use one of the restaurants in the village (or the hotel restaurant). Also, for some reason the staff always leaves the “common” door open – what the waste of energy in winter!

The breakfast, which you can pre-book the day before (recommend) at the special price of 22$ (otherwise 25$) is really good. On the first morning of our stay, it was a buffet-style breakfast (as there were many guests staying in the hotel) and on the second morning we got to choose anything from an extensive list on top of the continental selection (toast, cheese, jam, yoghurt, fruits).

There are a few restaurants and cafes in the village (in case you don’t want to dine in the hotel’s fancy restaurant), but some of them close really early. Still there are a few options for dinner including Western (=burgers) and Asian (Thai, Japanese). Also, there’s a small supermarket, if you just want a snack or some fruits. If you look for free WiFi, visit the village (there it’s enough just to buy a drink to get the password), in the resort it is pretty expensive.
In case you need to wash your clothes before the next stop, they have a small laundry in the resort. They even supply the washing powder.
The staff is friendly and attentive. The only “remark” I have is about the doors being left open. In winter it’s really unwise.

While staying in the area, climb on the Mt John, it’s an amazing route! Also, visit the Tekapo Springs. Their hot tabs are something you should not miss on your trip. Not to mention Mount Cook, which is just 1 hour drive away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Kia ora Jola L,

What a great review! Thank you! I think this is a fantastic overview of both the resort, and the village, which will be a great help to future travellers who are scrolling through these reviews.

We are pleased to know that you found so many enjoyable aspects about our property, and it seems like you had a fabulous time in Lake Tekapo, which is the most important thing!

In reference to the common doors, they do access two separate rooms that are typically booked by separate families. These can be left ajar from time to time - eliminating some confusion when you arrive to your apartment. Each unit does have its own fire quality door, which are thick , heavy and do ensure that no heat escapes the units during the Winter months. Nonetheless, we appreciate you raising this and our environmental conscience is absolutely key in such a spectacular region as the Mackenzie District.

We really hope to see you back again in the near future.

Best wishes,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    565
    373
    194
    155
See reviews for
376
1,009
57
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The good things: Nice fairly new facilities with great amenities and nice spacious suites with equipped kitchen and two tv, great for long vacations!
The bad thing: the staff is not very friendly or helpful, they charge an extra % if you pay with credit card.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LolaCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Kia ora Pikotoba.

We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed so much about our property.! I really appreciate you jumping on Trip Advisor to let us know - that means a lot!

Regrettably, our resorts do charge a 2% surcharge on all credit card transactions which has become fairly commonplace in the industry today.

Warm regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed here for one night as part of tour package. The hotel complex was huge and there was a bit of walking from the receptionist to our block of rooms at the far end so we're glad our bus driver dropped us off near where our rooms were located. However it was a struggle to lift our luggage up the stairs to our 2nd floor room. Our room was OK for the one night, a bit on the small size and not as luxurious as the website advertised. Dinner at the restaurant in the hotel was excellent, but our waitress had trouble communicating in English and had to ask the chef to explain to us what was the specials of the day. Hotel staff weren't rude or anything but seemed to be disengaged.

Room Tip: ask for a ground floor room if you have trouble lifting your luggage to the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamer176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Kia ora dreamer176,

We appreciate you taking some time to let us know about your stay. Unfortunately we are a little spread out, but we are always happy to allocate a room closer to reception if its requested at the time of booking.
I am very happy to hear that you loved your dinner; we have just released our new Winter Menu, which we are very proud of. We are running a number of specials throughout July/August, and have some hearty room service option also available. It would be great to have you hear again for dinner in the future.

Warm regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

I have driven past this place a number of times and thought it looked great so decided to stay
I had a look at the tripadvisor reviews prior to booking but something bad has happened to the place in June!
Initially we didnt get the room I had booked but after threatening to find somewhere else to stay we did finally get our room
It is pretty obvious that this is a timeshare resort with privately owned units that are in definite need of some maintenance
While the bed linen, shower etc was clean it seems that the vacuum cleaner broke down about a month ago and the person hired to do the dusting must need glasses
Overall for $272 per night tbis place promised a lot and delivered very little
I will not be staying here again

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 510wesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Kia ora 510wesb,

Thank you for your recent feedback and comments. We are obviously disappointed that your expectations were not met on this occasion. You are right in suggesting that we have had some recent staffing challenges, but I can catergorically say that these are well and truly behind us! We have a great head housekeeper and team, who are passionate about providing a lovely clean environment for our guests to enjoy.

We hope you can see it in your heart to give us another chance, so we can show you what we are all about at Peppers Bluewater Resort.

Many thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Tekapo hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

The staff had no idea what they were doing it was a preprepared stay and they stuffed everything up, we had two bad peppers resort experiences and we will never stay at any of their resorts again. It is a highly priced hotel yet you are still required to purchase wifi amongst other things, even the coffee pods in your room arent complementary. The staff are rude and arent accomodating at all. The only thing that it has going for it is the view and you can receive that at other accomodations. Not impressed

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremyBlairVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Kia ora JeremyBlairVictoria,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. We are disappointed that a number of aspects about your stay fell below par, and that we did not meet your expectations. Our internet cost structure is standard fare across our resorts at this point in time, but we are certainly looking at what we can do to change this. We do offer 2 x complimentary coffee pods in all guest rooms, with the option to purchase more beyond that. Additionally, we do offer instant tea & coffee options free of charge.

Regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel has the worst service in any hotel in New Zealand, I was very impressed on how bad it is, it seems that staff members don't have any guest services skills whatsoever. We arrived at the hotel after 3pm and our room was not ready, the person at the Front Desk was very rude and she seem that she did not care at all about her job. When we came back and went to the room we've found a queen bed instead of twins, my travel agent asked for twin beds I had the proved for that.
I went back to talk to the rude receptionist and she said she was going to ask housekeeping to change that. Then we were informed that the housekeeping department has left, and that my brother and I will have to share the bed. they did not offer to change our room, or ask a manager to come and separate the beds. If you are the Manager of this Hotel you have to make sure that your hotel is running well. To the Manager, do you ever read this experiences? do you have anything to say?

Room Tip: Go somewhere else, do not stay at any Peppers Resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martinayel1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Kia ora martinayel1970,

Firstly, we would like to sincerely apologise for a number issues you encountered upon check in. There was no excuse for not having your accommodation ready, and for our inability to handle your booking requests. Secondly, I certainly review all posts on Trip Advisor and have responded strongly with my team this morning to these concerns. This is not the level of customer service we are accustomed to, nor accept and firm action will indeed be taken. I know that does not undo what has been done in your instance, but you do have my assurance that this review has been taken to heart.

Warm regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I was booked to stay at Peppers Lake Tekapo while I was on holiday with my mum. Booked through a travel agent and thought it would be lovely. When we arrived at 3pm our room wasn't ready and we were asked to come back an hour later. When we came back and finally got to our room, it had been made up as a double and not a twin as asked. Went back to reception and advised them of this. They said they would fix it. The room was so small that there was nowhere to sit and there was no view and a window so tiny that the room actually made me think it was previously used as a prison cell. We weren't offered a drink or anything while we waited. After about 40 minutes we went back and asked again and and they couldn't give us a time frame so I said we'd be taking our business elsewhere. They would not offer a refund despite the appalling service. It was booked through a travel agent so I followed up when I got home and they eventually refunded the cost of the breakfast for the next morning but not the $200 for the room. I was really unimpressed and would not consider staying with peppers again.

Room Tip: Don't go with Peppers
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Kia ora Eli W,

We regret the issues you suffered upon arrival, and apologise for the inconvenience caused to you. You were allocated to a Standard Hotel Room, as was booked by your agent. Regretfully, we were fully booked that night, and otherwise would have offered you a number of alternative room types to better serve your needs.
I would appreciate the opportunity for you to contact me directly via email :-andrew.freak@peppers.co.nz

Many thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#8 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
1.0 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Property: Peppers Bluewater Resort
Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking out to the breathtaking Lake Tekapo between Christchurch and Queenstown in New Zealand's South Island, Peppers Bluewater Resort offers architectural design reflective of the surrounding Mackenzie Basin landscape combined with exceptional facilities and services. Accommodation includes stylish studios, one, two and three bedroom luxury villas where the outdoors is portrayed indoors through a refreshing colour palette of turquoise-blue, red and beige. Each room features STD/ISD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, air conditioning and complimentary grooming items. Simply unwind and breathe in the serene atmosphere of Peppers Bluewater Resort. Relax amongst the cosy sofa at Rakinui Lounge while enjoying a warming drink or light snack and for breakfast and dinner Rakinui Restaurant serves a diverse selection of international standard cuisine and favoured local delights accompanied with a breathtaking view across Lake Tekapo. Lake Tekapo provides excellent kayaking and rainbow and brown trout fishing, while the old village is steeped in mythology and rich High Country history. Tekapo is Maori for night sleeping place, and the lake itself boasts the clearest, darkest and most spectacular night sky in Aotearoa, ideal for a tramp up Mount John followed by a romantic twilight picnic. Thrill seekers are sure to cover more terrain by mountain biking or horse riding before revitalising body and soul in the nearby Alpine Springs Health Spa and Hot Pool. The Round Hill Ski Field and Winter Park are also a short drive from Peppers Bluewater Resort offering skiing, ice hockey, ice skating, even curling! Peppers Bluewater Resort is the perfect destination for relaxed weekend escapes or as a relished retreat after a hectic day of exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing