We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UGH. No sleep...recommend getting a tent instead”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This hotel is so radically different than what the pictures show. It is terribly run down. Cleaning staff leaves drawstring sacks full of dirty towels and sheets right in front of the rooms all day long. Curtains are stained, bedspreads are stained. The walls have scratches and touch up paint all over, that does not match. The beds are worse than horrible. The first room they gave us smelled so bad we would not even bring our bags in. Someone came with a mask on and sprayed the room so heavy that we could smell it from the parking lot. In comes our tour guide to trouble shoot. We wanted to drive to Christchurch and stay there for the night, but that was not going to happen. He went to the front desk and got us another room. We waited for a while while they were getting that room clean. When we finally got the room the smell from the air freshener was so heavy we opened all the windows in the place and left them open in the 40 degree weather all night. Horrible night. Thank goodness we were only there one night.

Room Tip: Get the heck out of that place and stay elsewhere!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Kia ora Tina A,

This is not the impression we had hoped to leave with you, so we sincerely apologise for a number of aspects during your stay. We also appreciate you using this forum to let us know.

We are unfortunately quite spread out, so our linen needs to be dropped out the the respective blocks for use. We do come around regularly to collect the dirty linen, and drop fresh linen as required. I wish it was easier to keep this from guest view, but unfortunately it's a little tricky to do that.

We do use an air freshener in all our rooms as part of our brand standard upon arrival, but perhaps we could be a more subtle in its use. I didn't realise we were being so heavy-handed, so thank you for bringing this to my attention.

You will pleased to hear that we have been working our way through all guest rooms Spring Cleaning, and repainting as is required. We do this every year, as we are a large volume hotel with a large volume of room nights. All beds have also now been replaced, so I am confident your next guest experience with us will be a vastly different one.

Best wishes,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,939)
There are newer reviews for Peppers Bluewater Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,085 - 2,091 of 2,939 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

This was one the best places I have stayed in New Zealand. Excellent views of the lake from the rooms, and clean tidy rooms. Apart from the price, this was a great resort. The resort is also located right in the middle of Tekapo, so almost everything you could want to do in Tekapo is only a short walk away. There is also a great restaurant in the main reception at Peppers which I would highly recommend if you want a high quality meal that is only a minutes' walk away.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Kia ora Bobby J,

Thanks so much for a great review!
We are thrilled that you discovered so many positive aspects about our resort, and I am particularly pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal so much!

We look forward to seeing you again.

With thanks.

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Hi

we went for a wedding and the food was great .. but there is something really really wrong with the houskeeping department...

1. we arrived at 530pm and our room was not ready..
2. the first morning the house keeper arrived and she bascially suggested that she just gives me the towels .. and threw me the towels
3. on our last day houskeeping turned up at 530pm to service the room (we sent them away)

for 2 days the rubbish which was there when we arrived was still there

through the entire stay the 'laundry' bags were all outside and they seemed to stay there..there was even a quilt on the ground...(see pics attached) these photos were taken at 5pm and basically the place looked like this the whole time

Good points .. rooms are quite nice.. food very good .. but the housekeeping was a big let down

We have stayed in Peppers all over Australia and at 265 a night having your room ready and serviced daily is expected ..

Only amazing point was seeing awesome friends and celebrating a fabulous couples marriage

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rominamulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Kia ora rominamulham,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We regret our shortcomings in housekeeping service during your stay, and the inconvenience this caused. We are pleased to hear that you found the rooms and food to your liking.

Many thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We arrived very early after an overnight flight and the staff were helpful in getting us into an upgraded room (which we paid for). The room was a good size with all the facilities you could want and a reasonable view albeit the lake was obscured by other apartments. I heard that the cheaper rooms were rather small so we were pleased to be able to upgrade although it did not tur out to be a bargain.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Kia ora Andrew T,

Thank you for your honest review of our property, Peppers Bluewater Resort. We are naturally pleased to hear that you took the opportunity to upgrade to a larger room, and found it to your likely. We do stress that the Standard Hotel rooms are very small, and not suitable for all guest needs. Upgrading to a Deluxe Hotel Room or larger is the way to go, unless you are only looking for a room to lay your head for the night.

Many thanks for the review, and for posting your great photos!

Warm regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stopped for the night here after a long day of traveling and hiking at Mt. Cook. Location is great -- very close to town, church of the good shepherd, tekapo springs, etc. Room was a little small, but for the price it was pretty good. Bathroom was very nice, and there was a great selection of teas, coffees, shampoos, etc. in the room. Staff was super helpful, especially Marcus!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank jessieq22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Kia ora jessieq22,

Thanks so much for your lovely comments! We are really happy to hear that you had such an enjoybale time, and I know Marcus will really appreciate your sentiments.

With thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed at this Peppers resort for one night as a halfway point between Queenstown and Christchurch. This was our most expensive stay in over two weeks on the north and South Islands, so we were expecting something a little bit better than what we were faced with.

While not unexpected, the room we had was very small, with no option but to sit on the bed during any time spent there. Upon arrival, we chose to make use of the tea and coffee facilities, only to find that the milk sachets in our fridge had clotted, and had clearly gone bad a while ago. There was also quite a big part of one wall which had been damaged and simply filled in with white plaster (not repainted). This is of course minor, but not at all what you would expect for the price we paid. We also had the same issue as another recent reviewer with what sounded like a plane engine going on all night. It was clearly coming from the suite next to us, who had their heater turning off and on all night to regulate the temperature, which begs the question why the ventilation systems were designed so poorly.

The one thing this hotel has going for it is very friendly staff. But sadly, this didn't make up for poor state of our room!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Kia ora T J,

Many thanks for your recent review of our property.
We regret that you felt their were aspects of your stay that fell short of the mark, and certainly we will make best use of your comments to strive to improve.
Naturally, we are most appreciative of your kind words about our friendly staff. I absolutely agree that this is a real strength of our team.

Sincere thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stayed here on our last night in the South Island.
Room was very nice, large balcony overlooking the lake.
Arrived early, and the reception was happy to let us into our room earlier.
Great stay - would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSeymour1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Kia ora KSeymour1,

Wow - thanks for a fantastic review!
I'm really thrilled our team were able to get you checked-in nice and early, so you could really enjoy all that Lake Tekapo has to offer.
We value you taking the time to comment on your time with us.

Best wishes,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
673 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: $109 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking out to the breathtaking Lake Tekapo between Christchurch and Queenstown in New Zealand's South Island, Peppers Bluewater Resort offers stylish studios, one, two and three bedroom luxury villas. Relax amongst the cosy sofa at Rakinui Lounge while enjoying a warming drink or light snack and for breakfast and dinner Rakinui Restaurant serves a diverse selection of international standard cuisine and favoured local delights accompanied with a breathtaking view across Lake Tekapo. Lake Tekapo provides excellent kayaking and fishing, while the old village is steeped in mythology and rich High Country history. Tekapo is Maori for night sleeping place, and the lake itself boasts the clearest, darkest and most spectacular night sky in Aotearoa. Thrill seekers are sure to cover more terrain by mountain biking or horse riding before revitalising body and soul in the nearby Alpine Springs Health Spa and Hot Pool. Additional Information: Unfortunately we are unable to allow pets onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing