We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Alright”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Room was alright, if a little small, bed was very comfy. issues were the lack of sound insulation in the doors and hallway, could hear the neighbours crashing in and out every time. also the lack of free internet was annoying and not what i'd expect in this day and age...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IainTipping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Kia ora IainTipping,

We appreciate you taking time to let us know about your recent stay.
We regret that you did not find the Standard Hotel Room more appropriate, but we are glad you enjoyed the comfortable bed!

Best wishes,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    779
    513
    289
    211
See reviews for
571
1,407
85
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed here for one night in early April in a one bedroom hotel room. Unfortunately it was not to the standard of a Peppers we've previously stayed in throughout Australia, even though it looks very new. The room was small, with a tiny LCD TV, and very expensive wi-fi, strange in this day, remembering we're now in 2014!

The outlook to the lake which we had for a few minutes was compromised by two coaches who used what we thought was a car park, to park their vehicles. In all, a disappointing experience. Reccommend also to stay away from the car park as guests come back from 2am or so after the star gazing tours.

Room Tip: Stay away from the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moorak_5291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Kia ora Moorak_5291,

Thank you for your recent comments, and we are naturally disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay more with us.

I understand that the Hotel Room you booked was perhaps not the ideal room type, and I would certainly recommend booking a Lake View in the future. This will ensure that both your view is not compromised, and that you are located further forward in the property and away from the parking.

Nonetheless, I apologise for the impact this had on your stay.

Regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Tekapo hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Had a one bedroom Villa with Mountain View. Not quite sure where the mountain is.....can see the lake between buildings. Sounds glamorous but no mention of two storey unit - we wouldn't have chosen it had we known as we are not as young as we used to be. However, all is clean & just have to remember to have things where we want them. Equipped with decent kitchen, dishwasher, fridge but NO washing machine. They suggest we make use of their laundry service....more costs??? Also NO FREE WiFi! Packages can be purchased.....another cost! Reasonably quiet.

Room Tip: Choice of rooms?? Not close to reception. BTW plenty of WiFi access, coffee, meals in Tekapo. Even a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Kia ora Kat W,

Thanks for your recent review of our property.
I value your comments in relation to the view, and will certainly look into that.
All apartments here do feature stairs, given the open planned living space being located on the upper level. I would certainly hope that we provide the appropriate information to you in this regard. Most of the larger apartments do feature washing machines, but for those that do not their is a conveniently located laundry for guest use nearby.

In terms of internet inclusions, this is without doubt something that we are looking at as a group.

Warm regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warners Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed in a superior room that was comfortable fitted out for in room cooking and eating which we utilised. Bedroom was very small and badly designed. Incredible that in this day and age there is no free Wi-FI which is available free in any cafe or pub for the price of a cup of coffee which one would have anyway. Restaurant over priced..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenjm4150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Kia ora Kenjm4150,

Thank you for your recent review of our property, and we thank you for providing some suggestions for our continued improvement.

Sincere thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Reasonable views from a 'superior' room. Not very private, you can see and be seen from other rooms. Everything was decidedly average.
Lake Tekapo area was great with plenty to do in a nice relaxed way.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Kia ora Lynda C,

Thank you for your recent feedback of our property.
Whilst all our apartments feature an upstairs living area with a huge window, we do have thick curtains for increased privacy. We regret that you feel we could have offered more privacy. We are naturally very thrilled to hear that you enjoyed Lake Tekapo so much.

With thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We were very unhappy to find that the room they put us in was so tiny we couldn't even fit our suitcases in! They call it a standard room they said - and because it was booked online they also said.
VERY disappointing - I would never use this hotel again and would not recommend it. The receptionist blatantly lied and said we had partial lake views which was absolutely untrue!

Room Tip: Make sore you know exactly what you are booking as it was a really bad room
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
1 Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amay_acharya, Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Kia Ora Diana M ,

Thank you for your feedback. We do advertise the size of the standard hotel rooms and promote them as a low cost "sleep and go" option. We do have other room types which offer both , space and great views of Lake Tekapo.

Kind Regards
Amay Acharya
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Our room was small as expected but what we didn't expect was a claustrophobic room with one tiny window and a constant vibrating sound emitting from an unknown source. We travelled New Zealand on a budget and stayed at some wonderful motels but chose to go a little more up,market for our last couple of nights. Very disappointed. We rang on the first night and were told there was nothing that could be done and our complaint would be handed tom the manager in the morning. She did offer us an upgrade for a reduced rate of $50 more. We declined the offer. This place is probably wonderful if money is no object but definitely felt like second class citizens on our lower budget

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Kia ora Janet Q,

Thank you for such a great review of our property, and we really value your continued support!
I'm very please to hear that our staff were able to accommodate your requests, and ensure your stay was as comfortable as possible.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Best wishes,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#11 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Property: Peppers Bluewater Resort
Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking out to the breathtaking Lake Tekapo between Christchurch and Queenstown in New Zealand's South Island, Peppers Bluewater Resort offers architectural design reflective of the surrounding Mackenzie Basin landscape combined with exceptional facilities and services. Accommodation includes stylish studios, one, two and three bedroom luxury villas where the outdoors is portrayed indoors through a refreshing colour palette of turquoise-blue, red and beige. Each room features STD/ISD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, air conditioning and complimentary grooming items. Simply unwind and breathe in the serene atmosphere of Peppers Bluewater Resort. Relax amongst the cosy sofa at Rakinui Lounge while enjoying a warming drink or light snack and for breakfast and dinner Rakinui Restaurant serves a diverse selection of international standard cuisine and favoured local delights accompanied with a breathtaking view across Lake Tekapo. Lake Tekapo provides excellent kayaking and rainbow and brown trout fishing, while the old village is steeped in mythology and rich High Country history. Tekapo is Maori for night sleeping place, and the lake itself boasts the clearest, darkest and most spectacular night sky in Aotearoa, ideal for a tramp up Mount John followed by a romantic twilight picnic. Thrill seekers are sure to cover more terrain by mountain biking or horse riding before revitalising body and soul in the nearby Alpine Springs Health Spa and Hot Pool. The Round Hill Ski Field and Winter Park are also a short drive from Peppers Bluewater Resort offering skiing, ice hockey, ice skating, even curling! Peppers Bluewater Resort is the perfect destination for relaxed weekend escapes or as a relished retreat after a hectic day of exploration. Additional Information: Unfortunately we are unable to allow pets onsite at Peppers Bluewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing