We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tiny room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We were very unhappy to find that the room they put us in was so tiny we couldn't even fit our suitcases in! They call it a standard room they said - and because it was booked online they also said.
VERY disappointing - I would never use this hotel again and would not recommend it. The receptionist blatantly lied and said we had partial lake views which was absolutely untrue!

Room Tip: Make sore you know exactly what you are booking as it was a really bad room
Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
1  Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amay_acharya, Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Kia Ora Diana M ,

Thank you for your feedback. We do advertise the size of the standard hotel rooms and promote them as a low cost "sleep and go" option. We do have other room types which offer both , space and great views of Lake Tekapo.

Kind Regards
Amay Acharya
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,930)
There are newer reviews for Peppers Bluewater Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,108 - 2,114 of 2,931 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

Our room was small as expected but what we didn't expect was a claustrophobic room with one tiny window and a constant vibrating sound emitting from an unknown source. We travelled New Zealand on a budget and stayed at some wonderful motels but chose to go a little more up,market for our last couple of nights. Very disappointed. We rang on the first night and were told there was nothing that could be done and our complaint would be handed tom the manager in the morning. She did offer us an upgrade for a reduced rate of $50 more. We declined the offer. This place is probably wonderful if money is no object but definitely felt like second class citizens on our lower budget

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Kia ora Janet Q,

Thank you for such a great review of our property, and we really value your continued support!
I'm very please to hear that our staff were able to accommodate your requests, and ensure your stay was as comfortable as possible.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Best wishes,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The views and location of this resort is lovely, but the room we had was absolutely tiny (when they say the room is small, they mean extra tiny), and there was noise from the air-conditioners throughout the night. The small room was ok for us as we only stayed one night, but it was unbelievably small.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the air conditioning units on the outside of the building and don't get the...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boilingfrogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Kia ora boilingfrogger,

Thank you for your comments.
We certainly understand and try our best to highlight the size of our standard hotel rooms.
They are advertised as a 'sleep & go' facility that will not serve everyone's needs. Having said that, they are functional should you be looking for a low cost option.
If you are looking for something more spacious, we do have a large range of other available options.

Best wishes,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

A week before we stayed here we drove past to check this hotel out. We and were shown 2 x rooms, one small with no view, one large and with a beautiful view. ( top floor ) As it was to be our last night in NZ we decided to book the larger, much more expensive one. We understood this to be the room ( or very similar) that we would stay in. The room we were actually given was at the extreme opposite end of the property, not a particularly good view of the lake, right on the road and lots of people walking right in front of our patio doors !
There are no privacy curtains or treated windows so you are in a goldfish bowl, and we had to pay the same price as the really nice room.
Dinner was nice, but slow service as there was only one waitress despite 2 x men in the reception office watching her trying to cope.
The final straw, and sadly the final memory of what could have been a nice memory, was to be charged 2 % for using a credit card, this had not been pointed out to us when we walked in, or when we checked in, although there was a tiny notice at the reception, we felt it could have been pointed out. The biggest disappointment was the extreme difference in view and location of the expensive rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greengame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Kia ora greengame,

Thank you for your comments.
I sincerely apologise that we did not better highlight our 2% surcharge on credit card transactions, and I also regret that you did not receive the room you had hoped for.
I will certainly take the opportunity to speak with our front office team to understand how we could have better catered for your needs in this instance. We regret that your experience was not in-keeping with your expectations.
Please accept our humble apologies.

Many thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This hotel is located perfectly. across the street with beautiful views of the lake and the mountains, and right across from shops and cafes, short drive to Mt John and Lake Pukaki. And it is easily the nicest hotel in the area, also the priciest. The reason i didn't rate it as excellent, is because it was very pricey and there were areas where maybe it wasnt warranted. It feels like maybe at one time it was a 5 star rated resort. and now they are just resting on their laurels? there was a lot of stuff that isn't kept up. For example, the reception was a bit aloof and standoffish. Here is your key, restaurant is all booked for the night, drive your car here, etc. It wasn't very warm. Then when we arrive at the suite, which was a two bedroom suite, everything looked beautiful at first glance, the views of the lake, the really nice bathrooms. but then you notice that the fixtures need replacing. the faucet came off in my hand. the shower head was not working properly. there was gunk on the bathroom walls behind sink, hair in the tub, mildew in the grouting. breakfast in the morning was a bit chaotic, the tables didn't get cleaned or cleared like you would have expected. The suite was also set up weird, it was two separate rooms really, one tiny hot closet, and one spacious pretty suite with living area. it seemed like they should have been more inclusive.
Again, we were only there briefly, and the location was great, and maybe we just got a bad room. it's just you expect a certain kind of service and meticulousness when you pay that much. I will say the breakfast itself was delicious, and with a few touches and some upkeep, this place would deserve the excellent rating, and be worth the price.

Room Tip: no worth it if you don't get a lakeview
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRISBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Kia ora PRISBOS,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.
We thank you and appreciate a number of kind comments about our resort, and we are glad you generally enjoyed your time in our care. We do note a couple of areas you have highlighted for improvement, and we will certainly take those on board.
Nonetheless, we are grateful for such a positive review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were upgraded for our single night stay and were quite astonished by the relative luxury of the assigned accommodation; essentially a two storey apartment, which was, sadly, rather wasted on an overnight stay - you could live there indefinitely. The apartment is located at the front of the complex which, were it not for some trees across the fairly busy road, afforded an excellent view of the whole lake, rather than just part of it. We didn't eat at the hotel or have a drink there, so can't comment on its catering. The resort does cater for coach parties, but we had no difficulties or delays at reception.

Recommended, but it is quite expensive and we have no idea whether the extra cost is justified by the other amenities. The two storey apartment is, though, excellent for a longer stay of a few days.

Room Tip: Room 82 B was our upgrade.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry Lynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Kia ora Barry Lynch,

Many thanks to you for your recent review of our property.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects, including the size of your apartment.
We hope that perhaps you can stay a little longer next time, and make use of all that extra room.

Warmest regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This my third visit to Peppers Blue water Resort and while the place was fully booked found the staff very accomadating in having our unit ready early as requested .The unit was great with a huge lounge dining area with fantastic views of the lake and the sun streaming in .Bedrooms aren't large but with a great super king size comfortable bed and wonderview view it was fine . Loved the heated tiles in the bathroom great for getting up at night

Room Tip: Rooms with Lake views are closer to main road with road noise not really a problem Hotel rooms and...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amay_acharya, Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Kia Ora Janet Q ,

Thank you for your great review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us once again and we hope to see you again in near future.

Many thanks
Amay Acharya
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
673 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: $107 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking out to the breathtaking Lake Tekapo between Christchurch and Queenstown in New Zealand's South Island, Peppers Bluewater Resort offers stylish studios, one, two and three bedroom luxury villas. Relax amongst the cosy sofa at Rakinui Lounge while enjoying a warming drink or light snack and for breakfast and dinner Rakinui Restaurant serves a diverse selection of international standard cuisine and favoured local delights accompanied with a breathtaking view across Lake Tekapo. Lake Tekapo provides excellent kayaking and fishing, while the old village is steeped in mythology and rich High Country history. Tekapo is Maori for night sleeping place, and the lake itself boasts the clearest, darkest and most spectacular night sky in Aotearoa. Thrill seekers are sure to cover more terrain by mountain biking or horse riding before revitalising body and soul in the nearby Alpine Springs Health Spa and Hot Pool. Additional Information: Unfortunately we are unable to allow pets onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing