We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view Great exprience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This my third visit to Peppers Blue water Resort and while the place was fully booked found the staff very accomadating in having our unit ready early as requested .The unit was great with a huge lounge dining area with fantastic views of the lake and the sun streaming in .Bedrooms aren't large but with a great super king size comfortable bed and wonderview view it was fine . Loved the heated tiles in the bathroom great for getting up at night

Room Tip: Rooms with Lake views are closer to main road with road noise not really a problem Hotel rooms and...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amay_acharya, Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Kia Ora Janet Q ,

Thank you for your great review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us once again and we hope to see you again in near future.

Many thanks
Amay Acharya
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,928)
There are newer reviews for Peppers Bluewater Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,114 - 2,120 of 2,931 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

This was probably one of the most expensive hotels book for this trip, it is in a great location but unfortunately the initial hotel room appointed was very small with no view. Only by paying an additional fee for a room upgrade was a decent size room obtained. This was close to the road so some road hence some traffic noise.
Beware there are additional charges applied if you chose to pay your bill by debit card, this seemed unnecessary as was the 14 day notice period for cancelations or modifications or a full fee is payable.

Room Tip: Pay for the room upgrade if staying for more than a night.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Narrowboats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amay_acharya, Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Kia Ora Narrowboats,

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that the standard room type you had booked was not to your liking. We are however glad that we were able to offer you an upgrade to our deluxe hotel room type.

We have also taken note of your feedback regarding the surcharge and the cancellation policy.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards
Amay Acharya
Operations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Was so looking forward to staying here but what a let down. We stayed for 2 nights from 15 Feb as part of 27 day coach trip to NZ. The accommodation was ok, though decor was tired and furnishing torn and windows grimy. Lake Tekapo itself is beautiful and there is not much
alternative accommodation. Worst of all at Blue Water was lack of seating in communal areas, with only about 20 seats in lounge and external areas! There were 40 odd of us on the trip, with another coach trip and other guests, nowhere to sit in bar and lounge areas. Breakfast was very chaotic and not a pleasant experience. The dining room was small and it seemed to take a very long time to forage for all the items you needed from the buffet. Staff were doing there best but Iit was organised chaos at breakfast time. Of the 17 hotels we stayed in on this trip, this was the only disappointing one.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank macvonsunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amay_acharya, Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Kia Ora macvonsunderland ,

We regret to hear a number of aspects of your stay were not in-keeping with our typical Peppers standards. Your feedback has been raised with our management team, and I assure you that we have certainly acted strongly to ensure these matters are addressed asap. I regret that you did not have a more enjoyable time in our care.

Once again please accept my sincere apologise for the inconvenience caused to you.

Kind regards
Amay Acharya
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had booked a deluxe room - we were given a room on the ground floor one block back it did have a view of the water but there was a car park in front of us. Unfortunately for us it appears that this is the car park where the coaches park so on both days we sat outside we ended up with a view of the coaches which was very disappointing. I think this should have been pointed out to us that this was a possibility that this could happen.

Room Tip: Better chance of getting a view on the first floor as opposed to the ground floor unless you are in...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 79Bon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amay_acharya, Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Kia Ora 79Bon ,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologise that the room that you booked, was not suitable for your needs.We do offer other room types with views of the lake and and always encourage those wanting the lake views to book such rooms in advance.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards
Amay Acharya
Operations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed in a two-bedroom lake view villa for one night, and the stay was pleasant.
The resort looks very modern but still fits the natural scene of Tekapo very well. And it's very huge, too huge that our villa was far from the reception, we have to drag our luggages to our room after checked-out. I hope they can provide transport services in the future.
But you can your car into the resort and a lot of parking spaces are provided, very convenient for guests with cars.
The two-bedroom villa was good. It's actually a standard room combines a one one-bedroom villa. The standard room was pretty small and no view, but bedding was very good. The other bedroom was larger and has a balcony, it also has a larger bathroom with a very nice tub. The living area was on upstairs, very modern and can enjoy a nice view of the lake. The kitchen facilities were famous brand, so were the washing machine. The whole villa was clean and comfortable, I think the three-room villas might even be better.
Staff we met were very friendly and helpful.
Location is very good, just a five minutes walking distance to the town center.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClintLiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amay_acharya, Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Kia Ora ClintLiu,

Thank you for such a great feedback. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found your apartment to be comfortable and spacious. We are also very glad to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we sincerely hope to see you again on your next visit to Lake Tekapo.

Many thanks
Amay Acharya
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had a standard room, very small ground floor motel style with no view. It was clean and adequate for a one night stay. Brekky was good and plentiful. We must have beaten the rush. Friendly staff. Note to staff. Check electric blankets. Mine had been left on low (waste of power) since ?? Made for a warm night, I blamed the small room until I found the controls the next morning !!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amay_acharya, Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Kia Ora Jane M,

Thank you for your feedback. We are certainly disappointed to hear that your room was not to your liking. The standard rooms are on the smaller side, and I would certainly recommend upgrading to a deluxe room, or indeed an apartment as suits your needs.

We are howerever glad to hear that you otherwise found the room to be clean and adequate and enjoyed our breakfast offering.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Amay Acharya
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Well, it was my birthday & having stayed at a peppers in Australia, we thought we would splurge out on some top quality accommodation. What a disappointment behold us. We booked a single room and although it had all the trimmings & nice ensuite the room was so small that for 2 people we found that we couldn't even find a place for the second suit case. No Wifi, what! We payed $80 less in other places & got free wifi?. The room was so small that the shower set of the fire alarm in the morning & night & sorry if you get the side of the bed with out a light & bedside table, you can use the floor for your glass etc. I'm sure the double rooms are better, well they looked better. We adjoined a double room so we felt that we were entruding on there stay.
You'll need two people to hold the doors open as well.
My tip.
You can do heaps better for your money elsewhere. Lake takapo is a great place.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amay_acharya, Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Kia Ora Eric V,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologise that the Standard Hotel Room that you booked, was not suitable for your needs.We do offer other spacious room types and always encourage people requiring more space to look at our larger apartment-style options, as the Standard Rooms can be very size restrictive.

Once again please accept my sincere apologise for the inconvenience caused to you.

Kind regards
Amay Acharya
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
673 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: $107 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking out to the breathtaking Lake Tekapo between Christchurch and Queenstown in New Zealand's South Island, Peppers Bluewater Resort offers stylish studios, one, two and three bedroom luxury villas. Relax amongst the cosy sofa at Rakinui Lounge while enjoying a warming drink or light snack and for breakfast and dinner Rakinui Restaurant serves a diverse selection of international standard cuisine and favoured local delights accompanied with a breathtaking view across Lake Tekapo. Lake Tekapo provides excellent kayaking and fishing, while the old village is steeped in mythology and rich High Country history. Tekapo is Maori for night sleeping place, and the lake itself boasts the clearest, darkest and most spectacular night sky in Aotearoa. Thrill seekers are sure to cover more terrain by mountain biking or horse riding before revitalising body and soul in the nearby Alpine Springs Health Spa and Hot Pool. Additional Information: Unfortunately we are unable to allow pets onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing