We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Dear! what a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Oh Dear! what a disappointment”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Was so looking forward to staying here but what a let down. We stayed for 2 nights from 15 Feb as part of 27 day coach trip to NZ. The accommodation was ok, though decor was tired and furnishing torn and windows grimy. Lake Tekapo itself is beautiful and there is not much
alternative accommodation. Worst of all at Blue Water was lack of seating in communal areas, with only about 20 seats in lounge and external areas! There were 40 odd of us on the trip, with another coach trip and other guests, nowhere to sit in bar and lounge areas. Breakfast was very chaotic and not a pleasant experience. The dining room was small and it seemed to take a very long time to forage for all the items you needed from the buffet. Staff were doing there best but Iit was organised chaos at breakfast time. Of the 17 hotels we stayed in on this trip, this was the only disappointing one.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank macvonsunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amay_acharya, Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Kia Ora macvonsunderland ,

We regret to hear a number of aspects of your stay were not in-keeping with our typical Peppers standards. Your feedback has been raised with our management team, and I assure you that we have certainly acted strongly to ensure these matters are addressed asap. I regret that you did not have a more enjoyable time in our care.

Once again please accept my sincere apologise for the inconvenience caused to you.

Kind regards
Amay Acharya
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    851
    561
    312
    226
See reviews for
655
1,531
90
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had booked a deluxe room - we were given a room on the ground floor one block back it did have a view of the water but there was a car park in front of us. Unfortunately for us it appears that this is the car park where the coaches park so on both days we sat outside we ended up with a view of the coaches which was very disappointing. I think this should have been pointed out to us that this was a possibility that this could happen.

Room Tip: Better chance of getting a view on the first floor as opposed to the ground floor unless you are in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 79Bon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amay_acharya, Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Kia Ora 79Bon ,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologise that the room that you booked, was not suitable for your needs.We do offer other room types with views of the lake and and always encourage those wanting the lake views to book such rooms in advance.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards
Amay Acharya
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed in a two-bedroom lake view villa for one night, and the stay was pleasant.
The resort looks very modern but still fits the natural scene of Tekapo very well. And it's very huge, too huge that our villa was far from the reception, we have to drag our luggages to our room after checked-out. I hope they can provide transport services in the future.
But you can your car into the resort and a lot of parking spaces are provided, very convenient for guests with cars.
The two-bedroom villa was good. It's actually a standard room combines a one one-bedroom villa. The standard room was pretty small and no view, but bedding was very good. The other bedroom was larger and has a balcony, it also has a larger bathroom with a very nice tub. The living area was on upstairs, very modern and can enjoy a nice view of the lake. The kitchen facilities were famous brand, so were the washing machine. The whole villa was clean and comfortable, I think the three-room villas might even be better.
Staff we met were very friendly and helpful.
Location is very good, just a five minutes walking distance to the town center.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClintLiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amay_acharya, Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Kia Ora ClintLiu,

Thank you for such a great feedback. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found your apartment to be comfortable and spacious. We are also very glad to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we sincerely hope to see you again on your next visit to Lake Tekapo.

Many thanks
Amay Acharya
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had a standard room, very small ground floor motel style with no view. It was clean and adequate for a one night stay. Brekky was good and plentiful. We must have beaten the rush. Friendly staff. Note to staff. Check electric blankets. Mine had been left on low (waste of power) since ?? Made for a warm night, I blamed the small room until I found the controls the next morning !!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amay_acharya, Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Kia Ora Jane M,

Thank you for your feedback. We are certainly disappointed to hear that your room was not to your liking. The standard rooms are on the smaller side, and I would certainly recommend upgrading to a deluxe room, or indeed an apartment as suits your needs.

We are howerever glad to hear that you otherwise found the room to be clean and adequate and enjoyed our breakfast offering.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Amay Acharya
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Well, it was my birthday & having stayed at a peppers in Australia, we thought we would splurge out on some top quality accommodation. What a disappointment behold us. We booked a single room and although it had all the trimmings & nice ensuite the room was so small that for 2 people we found that we couldn't even find a place for the second suit case. No Wifi, what! We payed $80 less in other places & got free wifi?. The room was so small that the shower set of the fire alarm in the morning & night & sorry if you get the side of the bed with out a light & bedside table, you can use the floor for your glass etc. I'm sure the double rooms are better, well they looked better. We adjoined a double room so we felt that we were entruding on there stay.
You'll need two people to hold the doors open as well.
My tip.
You can do heaps better for your money elsewhere. Lake takapo is a great place.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amay_acharya, Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Kia Ora Eric V,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologise that the Standard Hotel Room that you booked, was not suitable for your needs.We do offer other spacious room types and always encourage people requiring more space to look at our larger apartment-style options, as the Standard Rooms can be very size restrictive.

Once again please accept my sincere apologise for the inconvenience caused to you.

Kind regards
Amay Acharya
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Tekapo hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Beware of this resorts "Hotel standard room". Very disappointing-Same space as a Police cell, no room for table or chair or to sit your suitcase. 3mx 3m standing only room- paid $167/night online direct + $20 internet (24 hr) and for a small window outlook to the car park. Make sure you Check if your room has a chair as this will give a good indication if the room you are booking is big enough. We complained to the desk and were advised they could upgrade us to a 'Deluxe Hotel room' for extra $100;, which we checked online was going for $157 that night. Desk was not helpful at all, this spoilt our night worst of the holiday. Went down the road to local Hotel for free WIFI and tea. Breakfast was greasy and Yuk. We had planned to stay a second night if we had a good room but didn't. Will be staying at the back packers next trip if we visit to Lake Tekapo NZ.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Kia ora Kelly L,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at Peppers Bluewater Resort.

I sincerely apologise for not proving the accommodation experience you were deserving of.
Whilst I can appreciate that the standard hotel room was not appropriate for your needs, we could certainly have been more flexible in finding a solution for you to stay on with us. I would be thankful if you could be so kind as to give us another opportunity, where I can personally ensure your needs are best catered for;- andrew.freak@peppers.co.nz

Sincere thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We paid $285 for a loft, one bed and a sofa, plus kitchen. We were promised views of the lake and were given the impression that the hotel was on the lake side of the road, which its not. Views were impaired by road and buildings but our view was probably one of the best offered by the hotel.

The restaurant was lovely and the waiters were very obliging with aiding us in controlling our two year old, food was good as well but expensive.

Last but not least, the room smelt of burnt something, and there is no pool...

Room Tip: There are three rooms with an interrupted view as they are at the front of the resort, good choice f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denwah69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amay_acharya, Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Kia Ora Denwah69,

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that the view from your room was to your liking.We are not directly on the lake front itself which we do advertise, but sit higher than the majority of accommodation options on the highway. There are several low lying buildings on the other side of the highway, but I would not say that they detract from the view available of Lake Tekapo itself.

We are glad that you enjoyed the dinner service , and note your comments regarding our menu options. We do feel that we have appropriate choices for all budget needs, and regret that you feel our prices were too high in this instance.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards
Amay Acharya
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
663 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
364 reviews
1.0 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#11 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tekapo Heights
Tekapo Heights
#3 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#12 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Property: Peppers Bluewater Resort
Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking out to the breathtaking Lake Tekapo between Christchurch and Queenstown in New Zealand's South Island, Peppers Bluewater Resort offers architectural design reflective of the surrounding Mackenzie Basin landscape combined with exceptional facilities and services. Accommodation includes stylish studios, one, two and three bedroom luxury villas where the outdoors is portrayed indoors through a refreshing colour palette of turquoise-blue, red and beige. Each room features STD/ISD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, air conditioning and complimentary grooming items. Simply unwind and breathe in the serene atmosphere of Peppers Bluewater Resort. Relax amongst the cosy sofa at Rakinui Lounge while enjoying a warming drink or light snack and for breakfast and dinner Rakinui Restaurant serves a diverse selection of international standard cuisine and favoured local delights accompanied with a breathtaking view across Lake Tekapo. Lake Tekapo provides excellent kayaking and rainbow and brown trout fishing, while the old village is steeped in mythology and rich High Country history. Tekapo is Maori for night sleeping place, and the lake itself boasts the clearest, darkest and most spectacular night sky in Aotearoa, ideal for a tramp up Mount John followed by a romantic twilight picnic. Thrill seekers are sure to cover more terrain by mountain biking or horse riding before revitalising body and soul in the nearby Alpine Springs Health Spa and Hot Pool. The Round Hill Ski Field and Winter Park are also a short drive from Peppers Bluewater Resort offering skiing, ice hockey, ice skating, even curling! Peppers Bluewater Resort is the perfect destination for relaxed weekend escapes or as a relished retreat after a hectic day of exploration. Additional Information: Unfortunately we are unable to allow pets onsite at Peppers Bluewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing