We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place and an excellent resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A beautiful place and an excellent resort”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My comments mirror richo21282's review exactly,

"One night stay in One Bedroom Suite Mountain View. No problems with check in whatsoever which seems to have been raised as an issue in recent times. We loved everything about our suite and had no complaints whatsoever. We only stayed the one night on our self drive around the South Island but Lake Tekapo is such a beautiful spot"

The guy at check in was in fact one of the most helpful staff we encountered on our trip, quick friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We will definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Livestats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amay_acharya, Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Kia Ora Livestats,

Thank you for such a great review. We are very glad that our team members were helpful and were able to make your stay a memorable one.

Many thanks,

Amay Acharya
Operations manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    881
    584
    323
    230
See reviews for
690
1,579
94
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Winmalee
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

One night stay in One Bedroom Suite Mountain View. No problems with check in whatsoever which seems to have been raised as an issue in recent times. We loved everything about our suite and had no complaints whatsoever. We only stayed the one night on our self drive around the South Island but Lake Tekapo is such a beautiful spot could quite easily have stayed a night or two longer. We didn't eat at all in the resort choosing to eat in town so can't comment on quality of dinner or breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richo21282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Kia ora richo21282,

Thanks for your honest review. We are glad you had such a great time here as part of your South Island road trip.
We would certainly welcome the chance to have you stay again, and stay that little longer.

Warm regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Lovely apartments with all of the trimmings. Down to heated bathroom floors and nice soaps. The staff we very polite and helpful. Great understanding and catering for Gluten Free foods. I would thoroughly recommend staying there.

Room Tip: Lake views are nice but not necessary. All rooms looked equally accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skiwiscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Kia ora Skiwiscott,

Awesome review, thank you! We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know.

We are chuffed to hear that you found our apartments so lovely, and I am glad our team were able to assist you with your dietary needs.

We can't wait to have you back again!

Take care & thanks again,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor, Johor, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The overall of this resort is good. My room was facing the lake side so I could get a glimpse of Lake Tekapo. But the check-in process of the hotel is very troublesome. I arrived at 5pm and the room isn't ready yet. The food in the resort is good. The salmon dish is a must try.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenjaminHon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Kia ora anonymous0210,

Thank you for your lovely review, and comments about our spectacular view.

We are particular glad that you loved our salmon dish. We are very blessed to have such incredible salmon in this region, and it certainly makes our job far easier.

Many thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikanae, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed for three nights in two rooms in Peppers Bluewater Resort in Tekapo. The view over the landscape is indeed overwhelming (if ignoring a large and ugly kind of shed between the hotel and the lake). However, the fantastic view is not limited just to this hotel/motel at Lake Tekapo. The rooms were clean and relatively large, with an open space kitchen, small but nice bathroom and a small balcony. Lounge and bedroom were equipped each with a flat screen TV. Overall the interior was OK, a bit old-fashioned and not particularly appealing. In my view the rooms were overpriced, considering also the hefty extra cost for breakfast. Dinner in the restaurant was pricey but tasty and nicely presented by friendly staff, incl. one vegetarian dish. We paid for a dinner for four about $365 for a 3 course meal incl. one decent bottle of red wine, plus about $750 for three bottles of Moet. Next time I will choose a location closer to the lake.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juergen41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Kia ora Juergen41,

Thank you letting us know about your experience with us.
We are glad that you enjoyed the landscape and many aspects of your apartment.

There are certainly some apartments that better capture the view than others, and we would always encourage those desiring an unbroken view to upgrade to ensure they get the view they seek. We are not directly on the lake front itself which we do advertise, but sit higher than the majority of accommodation options on the highway. There are several low lying buildings on the other side of the highway, but I would not say that they detract from the view available of Lake Tekapo itself.

We do appreciate your feedback, and note your comments regarding our menu options. We do feel that we have appropriate choices for all budget needs, and regret that you feel our prices were too high in this instance.

Kind regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed one night in a two bedroom apartment. The room was well appointed modern and clean The only complaint I would have is the noise of the outside air conditioner it sounded like a plane engine on take off and would vibrate the ranchslider doors There must have been an issue with this unit as I am sure they would not all be like this room 404. Had dinner in the restaurant the food was good somewhat luke warm but tasty A nice ambience surrounds this complex and in fact the whole town, would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmannz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Kia ora jmannz,

Many thanks to you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your apartment, and found a nice ambience throughout our complex.
I also appreciate you raising a couple of items for our attention, and giving us the chance to act on them. We apologise for any inconvenience caused in those regards.

Warm regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is the second stay i have had at peppers bluwater and cannot wait to return, firstly the staff are so warm and vibrant, the service is A1 they cannot help you enough which is just fantastic, it makes the decision to return every year so much easier :) i would really like to show my appreciation to the staff and there hard work and recommend peppers to anyone thinking of staying there.

Dan

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_Martin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Kia ora Dan_Martin2013,

Thanks for a fantastic review, and I cannot thank you enough for your warm comments toward our staff. I certainly agree that they are warm and vibrant, and eager to help at every opportunity. We are very proud of our property and team, and strive to give every guest an A1 experience with us.
We very much appreciated your continued support, and look forward to having you back at the next opportunity.

Best wishes,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
667 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
367 reviews
1.0 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#11 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tekapo Heights
Tekapo Heights
#3 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#12 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Property: Peppers Bluewater Resort
Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking out to the breathtaking Lake Tekapo between Christchurch and Queenstown in New Zealand's South Island, Peppers Bluewater Resort offers architectural design reflective of the surrounding Mackenzie Basin landscape combined with exceptional facilities and services. Accommodation includes stylish studios, one, two and three bedroom luxury villas where the outdoors is portrayed indoors through a refreshing colour palette of turquoise-blue, red and beige. Each room features STD/ISD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, air conditioning and complimentary grooming items. Simply unwind and breathe in the serene atmosphere of Peppers Bluewater Resort. Relax amongst the cosy sofa at Rakinui Lounge while enjoying a warming drink or light snack and for breakfast and dinner Rakinui Restaurant serves a diverse selection of international standard cuisine and favoured local delights accompanied with a breathtaking view across Lake Tekapo. Lake Tekapo provides excellent kayaking and rainbow and brown trout fishing, while the old village is steeped in mythology and rich High Country history. Tekapo is Maori for night sleeping place, and the lake itself boasts the clearest, darkest and most spectacular night sky in Aotearoa, ideal for a tramp up Mount John followed by a romantic twilight picnic. Thrill seekers are sure to cover more terrain by mountain biking or horse riding before revitalising body and soul in the nearby Alpine Springs Health Spa and Hot Pool. The Round Hill Ski Field and Winter Park are also a short drive from Peppers Bluewater Resort offering skiing, ice hockey, ice skating, even curling! Peppers Bluewater Resort is the perfect destination for relaxed weekend escapes or as a relished retreat after a hectic day of exploration. Additional Information: Unfortunately we are unable to allow pets onsite at Peppers Bluewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing