We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very small double rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very small double rooms”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent a night here while driving from Queenstown to Christchurch. While our room had all the usual facilities, it was REALLY small! And I'm talking Paris and London small. We certainly expected a better room for the price we had paid. Surprisingly, this was probably the only room we stayed in the south island that had an air conditioner.

I'd recommend skipping this place and staying elsewhere closer to the lake. It certainly won't be difficult to find better value for money in this little town.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lifofifo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Kia ora lifofifo,

Thank you for reviewing your time with us at Peppers Bluewater Resort.
We regret that you did not find the standard hotel room that you had booked to your liking. They are indeed quite small which we do our utmost to highlight to travel agents and guests alike. If you are looking for a more spacious room next time, we would certainly recommend looking at our deluxe lake view rooms, or indeed one of our larger apartments.
All rooms feature heat pumps, which provide reverse cycle heating and cooling. This is a great feature as the summer months can be very dry and warm, and of course winter brings snow and quite a chill.

Many thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    779
    513
    289
    211
See reviews for
571
1,407
85
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We did not book direct with the hotel but online through booking firm. We expected a standard room but both us and the friends we travelled with did not expecta small room with a small window looking out to a bank. All four of us plus another couple presented ourselves at Reception. The staff who tried their best had their hands tied by a management who could not(or would not) see us.
Eventually they said they would upgrade us to a suite for additional money. When we arrived one bedroom was facing the lake the other a room even smaller than to first offered. Upstairswas an enormous lounge.The small bedroom had about 3feet each side of the bed and less at the base. The window was about 15 inches. The balcony was unusable as the bird mess wason all the furniture. Not a good 3 nights

Room Tip: Check very carefully which rooms you are having.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyv545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Kia ora jennyv545,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experiences with us.
Certainly I am disappointed that your experience was not a more positive one.
We do advertise that our standard hotel rooms are quite compact and do not feature a lake view. I'm glad that our front office team were able to assist you in regards to an upgrade, which unfortunately it seems you were not 100% satisfied with. The apartments are compact in nature on the lower level, designed to maximise upstairs living space and showcase the view available of the lake.
Our team are more than happy to escalate concerns where appropriate and we do always have a Duty Manager available in that regard.

With thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Tekapo hotels

Wellington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a classy resort that have most of facilities. great location that are located near the spa and hot pool. The only complain will be tourist who stay nextdoor. They are noisy at night and they smokes. the smoke actually came in to our place. But overall this is a great place, nice view. Comment will be make a thicker wall or seperate the rooms from the tour groups and the individuals.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canus86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Kia ora Canus86,

Thank you for such a nice review of Peppers Bluewater Resort.
We are proud to hear such lovely comments from you, particularly in saying "A place like heaven". We are very fortunate to have such an incredible and unique location, which really makes our job a lot easier.
We appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor, and we would hope to see you again in the near future.

Thanks again,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We arrived late afternoon and found the hotel busy. Althought we had only booked the cheapest double room the hotel very kindly upgraded us to a two-floor two-balcony luxury apartment which we thoroughly enjoyed. We paid for internet use but found the cost reasonable. The restaurant at the hotel looked reasonable but we actually ate along the road at a Chinese restaurant. Note that the lake is opposite. You are not immediately on the lake - there is just a road to cross and then you are there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Kia ora Shailer,

Thank you for your warm, honest comments.
We are really happy to hear that you found our resort to be 'luxury' and we hope you had a luxurious time in our care.
I'm very pleased to hear that the team gave you a complimentary upgrade, and it's even better to hear that you enjoyed it so much!!

Many thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed one night in lakeside villa. Great location, lovely rooms but the bed was awful. It was a zip together and you could feel every spring!
Have stayed there before and don't remember it being so bad.
Also kitchen had plaster peeling on the ceiling! This is supposed to be a premium resort..... Will try Mantra next time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwifiHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Kia ora KiwifiHM,

Many thanks to you for your recent feedback. There are aspects of your experience which are both disappointing and regretful. All of our beds are King Zip, which can be a little unusual if you have not experienced one before. We apologise that you found the bed itself to be too soft and we hope it did not impact on you having a restful sleep.
Our maintenance department had since fixed the small patch of plast peeling, which had just come to our attention during your staty.

We are of course glad to hear that you found the location to be to your liking.

Best regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here on 4th/5th March 2013. Most enjoyable view of the lake from our room. The room was comfortable, clean but not huge by any standards. The room was based on the ground floor and it did not have net curtains, a few people did walk past our room; not much privacy.
The air conditioning did not work and could not be adjusted to any temperature.
We went for very long walks and have successfully climbed the top of the local mountain where they have a University Observatory. The walk to the top and back took about 1 and half hours at least. The scenery was out of this world, and the view of the lake Tekapo from the top of St John's mountain/hill was absolutely spectacular.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Kia ora Miro P,

Thank you for your kind review of Peppers Bluewater Resort.
We are definitely blessed with a stunning view of Lake Tekapo itself, and we are glad that you were able to enjoy its full splendour.

With thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our travel agent booked us into this place on the basis we were staying in a hotel. When we arrived we were advised we were in the hotel and went to our room. It was 12 ft square - I measured it! There was a large double bed, no chairs and only one bedside table and lamp. If you consider the room also contained a fridge and clothes closset it does not take much imagination as to the space we had. The "wardrobe" could not take a jacket, it was neither wide nor long enough.
We were only staying one night so suffered - we have told our travel agent who has said thanks for the information and that hotel is now off their list.
If you intend to stay here check the size of room before booking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Kia ora Bev C,

We appreciate your sentiments about your recent stay with us. We do have a number of differing room types, ranging right up to very luxurious 3 bedroom lake view villas. We certainly do our utmost to ensure all travel agents are aware of the dimensions of our standard hotel rooms and ensure you get the right room as a valued guest of the resort. We apologies that in your instance this did not happen, and we will certainly have dialogue with your agent to avoid this in the future.

We apologise for any inconvenience caused to you - I understand this does not undo your experience, but we would certainly have left a vastly different impression with a larger apartment-style rooms.

Regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#11 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Property: Peppers Bluewater Resort
Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking out to the breathtaking Lake Tekapo between Christchurch and Queenstown in New Zealand's South Island, Peppers Bluewater Resort offers architectural design reflective of the surrounding Mackenzie Basin landscape combined with exceptional facilities and services. Accommodation includes stylish studios, one, two and three bedroom luxury villas where the outdoors is portrayed indoors through a refreshing colour palette of turquoise-blue, red and beige. Each room features STD/ISD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, air conditioning and complimentary grooming items. Simply unwind and breathe in the serene atmosphere of Peppers Bluewater Resort. Relax amongst the cosy sofa at Rakinui Lounge while enjoying a warming drink or light snack and for breakfast and dinner Rakinui Restaurant serves a diverse selection of international standard cuisine and favoured local delights accompanied with a breathtaking view across Lake Tekapo. Lake Tekapo provides excellent kayaking and rainbow and brown trout fishing, while the old village is steeped in mythology and rich High Country history. Tekapo is Maori for night sleeping place, and the lake itself boasts the clearest, darkest and most spectacular night sky in Aotearoa, ideal for a tramp up Mount John followed by a romantic twilight picnic. Thrill seekers are sure to cover more terrain by mountain biking or horse riding before revitalising body and soul in the nearby Alpine Springs Health Spa and Hot Pool. The Round Hill Ski Field and Winter Park are also a short drive from Peppers Bluewater Resort offering skiing, ice hockey, ice skating, even curling! Peppers Bluewater Resort is the perfect destination for relaxed weekend escapes or as a relished retreat after a hectic day of exploration. Additional Information: Unfortunately we are unable to allow pets onsite at Peppers Bluewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing