We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too noisy to sleep!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here one night in a deluxe room costing $232. This was supposed to be a half-way rest for us on our trip. The facilities are generally good but room certainly not deluxe other than a lake view partially obscured by buildings and a large sign advertising thermal pools.
The king bed was very uncomfortable wobbling about with every movement and the room has no sound proofing at all. Our neighbours upstairs were incredibly noisy until 2am!! You can hear conversations and every movement of furniture, doors etc. And every time a truck went down the road it was like it was coming into the unit, no noise-proofing at all.
Others on tripadvisor have made similar complaints about noise and we note that the manager replies but NOTHING has changed. We'd have got more sleep sleeping on the side of the road in our car. We are not tourists so we will make sure we tell people not to stay here!
On checkout, reception didn't even bother to ask us how our stay was? We would've told them if they'd asked but instead will just write it on here.
We often review great things on here so believe us when we say this was not a pleasant experience at all.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wanaka_kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Kia ora wanaka_kiwi,

Many thanks for commenting on your recent stay with us.

We regret that noise was a factor during your stay and apologise for the inconvenience caused to you. Unfortunately, the rooms are grouped together and rely upon guests' having consideration for those around them. I'm not sure whether you contacted reception at the time, but certainly I would like to think our reception team would have called the adjacent guests and resolved the issue for you.
We humbly apologise for the inconvenience caused, and regret that you did not find your stay here more enjoyable.

Regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,018)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,394 - 2,400 of 3,018 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

I would prefer the resort over my own house! Very clean, beautiful rooms! Fantastic modern bathrooms with heated floors! Many bedrooms and modern furniture and awesome balcony! Great kitchen and dining table. Awesome couch and view and TV! Paradise!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jcmt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Kia ora Jcmt T,

Awesome review! Thank you so much. We are overwhelmed with joy to hear such amazing comments about your time with us. It's really pleasing to hear that you found everything to your liking, and I know my team will be overjoyed to read your fantastic comments!
Thank you so much, a really wonderful review, which we are super proud to read!!

Warmest regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

it is a lovely resort, looks cool, sharp and young. Quite convenience to restaurants and the popular church. I'd been arranged to Room 505A & B - 2 bedroom villa for two couples. Everything was fine but the showerhead and the bed in room 505A. In the 1st night i found out that the showerhead was broken therefore i asked they to fix it in the 2nd morning. But when i came back in the afternoon, nothing changed even after i talked with the cleaner face to face. i understand that it take time to order a new one but just make our experience inperfect;The King bed constructed by two single bed. One of the single bed is a bit tired, my hip feel like laid on a hole.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxxangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Kia ora foxxangie,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you found the resort to be lovely and convenient. We do regret that some aspects of your stay were below par, and appreciate you bringing these to our attention. We're certainly disappointed that this impacted on your overall experience, but trust that you still had an enjoyable time at Peppers in Lake Tekapo.

Many thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Fantastic venue, great rooms! Pamper package is totally overpriced and lacking the pamper factor! Chocolates left in room - best before date sept 2012 (it's jan 2013) he said someone else must have put them there as it wasn't the hotel???!!! What???? We forgot tooth brush/ tooth paste! Asked same guy if we could buy one or they could supply us?? he said "everyone goes to the garage for one" we have been there and it is shut! Pretty basic stuff when we paid $480 for 1 night!!! With pamper extras! Couldn't even help us out with a tooth brush!! And we apparently get out of date chocolates from someone else mysteriously sneaking in our room when we are out!!!!!!! Not feeling very pampered!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimiscoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Kia ora Mimiscoco,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us.
It's disappointing that some aspects of your stay were not better handled, and we will certainly be reflecting upon this as a team. We do apologise for any inconvenience caused, and regret some of these aspects were not handled better. We do have a very young and passionate team, and they will be eager to reflect on how we could have provided better service to you during your stay.

Thank you for the opportunity to do so.

With thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Checked in expecting a small studio but to our surprise, we had been upgraded to a lakeside one bedroom apartment! The apartment was amazing - good quality construction, lots of room to move around and great heating.

Only complaint is that after suffering an accident in the room, a call to emergency services was delayed as the 'emergency' button on the phone did nothing. A fairly serious miscoming.

They were very busy during the period we stayed and even still, did a good job of assisting us.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micknz001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Kia ora micknz001,

Sincere thanks for your recent review of our property, Peppers Bluewater Resort.
We are really wrapped to hear how much you enjoyed your one bedroom apartment, and glad you were toasty warm during your time here!

We appreciate your feedback about the phone, and cannot thank you enough for bringing this to our attention. This has now been rectified with your kind help.

Best wishes, and thanks again!

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We booked an early bird deal as we were staying just before NYE. I was surprised to find we had a two storey townhouse style acccommodation - really lovely and new, well equipped with great kitchen dining and lounge downstairs plus bedroom and bathroom on the first floor - both floors had balconies as well with a view of the lake. We even had two TVs - free tea,coffee and milk plus bathroom goodies were included. It is an easy 3 minute walk into Lake Tekapo with a choice of restaurants/bars/ coffee shops etc so you dont need to drive. There is a restaurant on site if required as well. Parking in some areas was limited but, it is paved so no hardship to roll your suitcase across a few feet to your room!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HayesfromHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Kia ora HayesfromHove,

Thank you for such a great review! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed so much about our resort!! We are particularly pleased to hear that you found the apartment to be to your liking.
We can certainly appreciate that the parking is not perfect, but we are glad you found no inconvenience in this.

We cannot thank you enough for your kind comments.

Many thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is the worst place I have ever stayed in, and I've stayed in some places. We arrived at 3.15 as check in is any time after 3. The room was not ready. We were advised to go off and come back later. On returning we were given directions to our room - well when I say directions, we were told to go round there and look for it, while they pointed generally at a map. When we got to the room it was a twin, we had booked a double. Back to reception where several people were trying to sort out rooms. We finally got a key to a double room. It's a nice room if you don't mind not having any natural light, no room to swing a cat and only one bed side cabinet and bedside lamp. It was clean though. We were shattered and decided to just walk out and find something to eat as we were booked on the night star gazing tour and couldn't be bothered to try and battle to change the room for one with at least a window on the lake. BIG MISTAKE!

We were kept awake for most of the night by the room up above, sounded like a giant with hob nailed boots on who would come through the ceiling at any moment. Not to mention their blaring TV. We finally got to sleep about 1am only to be woken at 6.45 by their air conditioning unit starting up - the fan is on the outside wall right by our bed head. Then the giant family in their hob nailed boots all came down the stairs slamming out the joint door at about 7.30 good morning in Lake Tekapo!

I decided to take a stroll to the reception to mention that the air conditioning unit must be faulty due to the racket it was making. I was told by reception that this is in fact how they operate and is due to the architect who built the place. No apology just a simple tough luck. When I mentioned the noise from the upstairs room that also went with the air conditioning again I was told its due to the architect and nothing they can do but ask people to be quiet and turn off their air con! I mentioned that I was not happy with the room as had expected a lake view. Again it was a case of thought luck - this is what I'd booked. I mentioned that I'd not booked a twin room, but had been given one on arrival, they had no response to that other than to speak to my travel agent. We'd stopped at their other hotel in Christchurch on e same room basis and this had been 6 times bigger than this hell hole.

The staff are just not bothered about anything. We are here for another night unfortunately and so far at 3.40pm our room has not been tidied up and replacement milk provided. We also book a tour through them, which was cancelled. Luckily we bumped into the tour guy in the village who let us know that he'd phoned Peppers for them to let me know the tour could not go ahead - they so far have not bothered to tell us! Good job we bumped into him.

In short a horrible place in a lovely part of the world. Do come to Lake Tekepo, it is awesome, just don't stay here.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, choose somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Squiggypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Kia ora Squiggypig,

We are disappointed that you found so many negative aspects during your time with us, however we are appreciative that you have given us a chance to review these aspects and improve our overall service delivery.

Sincere thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
675 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
181 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: $99 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking out to the breathtaking Lake Tekapo between Christchurch and Queenstown in New Zealand's South Island, Peppers Bluewater Resort offers stylish studios, one, two and three bedroom luxury villas. Relax amongst the cosy sofa at Rakinui Lounge while enjoying a warming drink or light snack and for breakfast and dinner Rakinui Restaurant serves a diverse selection of international standard cuisine and favoured local delights accompanied with a breathtaking view across Lake Tekapo. Lake Tekapo provides excellent kayaking and fishing, while the old village is steeped in mythology and rich High Country history. Tekapo is Maori for night sleeping place, and the lake itself boasts the clearest, darkest and most spectacular night sky in Aotearoa. Thrill seekers are sure to cover more terrain by mountain biking or horse riding before revitalising body and soul in the nearby Alpine Springs Health Spa and Hot Pool. Additional Information: Unfortunately we are unable to allow pets onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing