We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peppers was a awful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The service was very poor. We have been in New Zealand for 7 days, Peppers was the only place that we could not use internet. The staff was very rude. It took around half hour to check us in. Instead of greeting us, the staff was very rudely to tell us that we should leave the kitchen alone and should not make it mess. When we complaint to the manager, we did not receive any apology. The toilet tries were laid with empty boxes. The door of the toilet was broken and we could not close it properly. With such a dear price, it is such a disappointment. We would never recommend our friends to stay in such a place and of course we would never return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jun c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Kia ora jun c,

Thank you for your recent comments regarding Peppers Bluewater Resort. We are disappointed that there were aspects of your stay that should have been much better. There was a significant power outage across the region, which damaged our internet modem and needed to be replaced. We regret the temporary loss of this service, but assure you this was an unusual circumstance. We will certainly be reflecting on your comments, to improve our overall guest service performance.

Regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,928)
There are newer reviews for Peppers Bluewater Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,337 - 2,343 of 2,931 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

I came from Australia. My review of this hotal: Very nice totel! Of course you pay a dear price! BUT you will disappoint it once you walk into a reception room 1). you need a chair to sit and wait because the service is so veeeeeery slow check in; 2). if ask hoese keeping for assistance they abuce you; 3). You are tired and want to have a nice hot shower then no hot water left for you, no shower cap (3 out of 4 empty boxes in your shower room); 4). Dish washer not fully functioning ( you need to manual stop to stop the noice so you can get sleep); 4). No Internet access at all so you need to use you higher rate of phone roaming to contact your home....

Stayed: November 2012
Thank Helenche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Kia ora Helenche,

Many thanks for providing comments about your recent stay with us.
It is disappointed to hear a number of issues with your experience here. There are some matters here which are a little concerning, and I would welcome the chance to clarify with you. If you would be so kind as to contact the resort, I would appreciate the chance to discuss these further.

Kind regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The room was perfectly adequate if not spacious - it was not too small but only suitable for short stays. Others had large apartments which did look very spacious. We have two main complaints.
1. Lack of privacy - large windows fronted public areas but no net curtain for privacy. Had to keep curtains shut.
2. Soundproofing was terrible - could hear next door clearly, including plugging in gadgets, using washing machine, doors shutting etc.
It describes itself as a resort but only had a restaurant and bar-lounge. It is more of a pricey motel than a resort and ad such much better deals can be found elsewhere.

Room Tip: Look around for better deals - even the backpackers lodge looked as good.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wal4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Kia ora wal4d,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We are disappointed you did not have a more enjoybale experience at our resort. We will certainly have a look at the items you have raised above.

With thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The lake is beautiful and we loved the view of the beautiful blue water. Peppers was a complete disappointment. The room was small and cramped. The service was poor. We asked for an adaptor and never got it because they ran out. Everything we asked for like Internet was chargeable. I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Kia ora Delara L,

Thank you for your honest comments. Whilst it is disappointing to hear, we appreciate your concerns and your taking the time to let us know about them. We will certainly have a look at some of the matters you have raised, in our endeavours to improve our overall service levels.

Warm regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We based ourselves at Peppers for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time at this resort. We had a two bedroom apartment with a big kitchen and dining/lounge area. We had a great view of the Southern Alps over Lake Tekapo. The living and bedroom spaces all had airconditioning (the one and only hotel during our stay in NZ that had air-conditioning), which was great given we had temperatures in the mid-20s during our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Kia ora Tracey M,

Thank you for such a lovely review of our property. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your apartment, and the amazing views. We would certainly welcome the chance to have you return and stay with us again in the future!

Thank you so much,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Just as others have written their hotelroom is just good for to sleep. There is even no place for one chair! Other rooms in this resort are just enormeous big and do have a Greta view on the lake. Thus be warned: Book never their hotelroom!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Over-en-Naar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Kia ora Overijsenaar,

Thanks for your honest comments - we do have standard hotel rooms, they are quite compact, but functional depending on your needs. Our deluxe hotel rooms are considerably more spacious, then of course we also feature 1,2 & 3 bedroom apartments. We think that we have a nice range of rooms, that can best suit every discernable need possible. We love to have you back again, to experience another aspect of our property.

With thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

No heating at all on the ground floor of 2 storey apartment. Heaters were broken!!! Walls were so thin that i was woken up every time the air-conditioner started spinning up. Air-conditioners are mounted on the walls outside of the bedrooms. No lake views at all, picture in advertisement is of a tiny man made pond in the middle of the buildings. Only positive thing about this place was that it's really clean.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dukem2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Kia ora Dukem2010,

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay at Peppers Bluewater Resort.
We're disappointed there was an issue with your heating during your stay, and apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused. We are pleased to hear you found the resort to be so clean, we certainly pride ourselves on this.

Thanks again,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
673 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: $107 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking out to the breathtaking Lake Tekapo between Christchurch and Queenstown in New Zealand's South Island, Peppers Bluewater Resort offers stylish studios, one, two and three bedroom luxury villas. Relax amongst the cosy sofa at Rakinui Lounge while enjoying a warming drink or light snack and for breakfast and dinner Rakinui Restaurant serves a diverse selection of international standard cuisine and favoured local delights accompanied with a breathtaking view across Lake Tekapo. Lake Tekapo provides excellent kayaking and fishing, while the old village is steeped in mythology and rich High Country history. Tekapo is Maori for night sleeping place, and the lake itself boasts the clearest, darkest and most spectacular night sky in Aotearoa. Thrill seekers are sure to cover more terrain by mountain biking or horse riding before revitalising body and soul in the nearby Alpine Springs Health Spa and Hot Pool. Additional Information: Unfortunately we are unable to allow pets onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing