We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy but average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in the least expensive room available ($+100 per night) which was a squeeze even for two people. Someone left rubbish in the bin and on the table space when we arrived and there was still tea in the pot. Those things made us a bit annoyed, but comfort-wise it was good. The bed was comfy, the shower and bathroom were top notch and the view from the dining area/balcony was amazing but I wouldn't recommend staying in the cheap rooms unless you're on a budget...in which case you probably shouldn't stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,942)
There are newer reviews for Peppers Bluewater Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,362 - 2,368 of 2,942 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent one night at the conveniently located hotel. The lake-facing rooms have actually quite a good view but the main street lies in between unfortunately. The room fittings are lean and contemporary designed (do not expect chalet atmosphere). Given that there was another room on top of us there was some noise (isolation is not great).

The only (but a big one) disappointment was the cleanliness of the room: The carpet was heavily stained with mud and we also found nail clippings and contact lenses in the carpet. We complained at the reception desk and they send the cleaning staff over to our room. To our surprise the room was as untidy as when we walked first into the room.

Breakfast was ok but nothing special (only filter coffee, limited selection etc).

Looking back we would have preferred to stay in one of the numerous B&B's given the fairly high price of Peppers'.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre_Corinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Kia ora Pierre_Corinna,

Thank you for your feedback about our resort. It is unfortunate to hear of the cleaning issues you suffered, which we have promptly addressed with our very new housekeeping manager. We certainly appreciate you raising this for our immediate attention. This is certainly not in-keeping with the level of guest service we are accustomed for at Peppers Bluewater Resort.

With thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly adequate for a short stay in lake tekapo but don't expect to have a luxury peppers experience. I had bags of clean linen at my door left there overnight and staff driving around in their mini vans all over the place with little regard for guests. The rooms are okay but the attention to detail is lacking, lamps with bulbs that werent working, the smallest cheapest flat screen tv in the room. Bathrooms with nice toiletries and shower pressure is to die for. It's good for tekapo but not peppers standard.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sosuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Kia ora Sosuma,

We really appreciate your feedback about our resort. Certainly there are elements that we are disappointed to hear about, but we thank you for the opportunity to address these matters further.

Regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resrt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Not very impressed with the Standard room, no views, very small but it had a large bathroom?.
We upgraded to a lake view room which was much better at a discounted rate of 30$ pn after a few complaints. The walls are very thin & you can hear far too much!!!!. They also charge 20$ for 24 hrs internet access which way over the top.
On the good side the lake view room was very clean & spacious with a very nice balcony. They also provided free use of their washing machines.
Sorry will not be back!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Kia ora Ian P,

Thank you for your recent review of our property.
We are glad you were able to enjoy the facilities of our upgraded room type, spacious with a balcony to enjoy that amazing landscape.

Many thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at Peppers Bluewater on our way from CHC to QT (like most visitors I'd assume!). We were in a 2 bedroom villa that had an (obstructed) view of the lake. The villa itself was spacious and would have been great for an extended stay. It's a bit pricey, but that's it's only downfall, really. It was very clean and modern. Breakfast was average, but I think that's b/c the eggs were cold. The view from the dining area was superb and the beds comfy. I'd definitely recommend staying there and would stay there again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank ArohaWezner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Kia ora ArohaWezner,

We cannot thank you enough for your review of Peppers Bluewater Resort.
It's great to hear that your really enjoyed the spacious room and the spectacular views across Lake Tekapo. We are certainly fortunate to have such a unique and amazing setting for all to enjoy.

Warmest regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at the Pepper’s Bluewater Resort for one night on 3rd October en route to Queenstown. When we arrived the hotel was extremely busy, however the young lady on reception was great and our check-in was very smooth and efficient. I am sorry I have forgotten her name, as she was excellent and deserved credit!
There are a lot of reviews on this site that complain about the compact size of the Standard rooms. Well, we had one, and although our Standard room was quite small, the fixtures were top quality, and the beds (two singles) were extremely comfortable.. The bathroom facilities were lovely and absolutely spotless too..
We did not dine at the hotel that night, as we visited the Tekapo Springs for some relaxation. However we had breakfast at the hotel in the morning, and the food was of good standard and choice. The restaurant setting is very nice too.
It was a shame that we only had limited time in Lake Tekapo, but we only had 12 days on South Island, so we had to move on.. We enjoyed our short stay at Pepper’s Bluewater Resort.. I think some of the complaints that people make are quite unjustified. Pepper’s is the only really large hotel in Lake Tekapo and has to deal with a huge amount of large parties and through traffic! In a perfect world, we would have preferred a bigger double room, but ours was comfortable, of a good quality and met our needs for our one night stay... And you get a lovely view of Lake Tekapo!

Room Tip: If you are unsure about size of rooms etc, and your requirements, check the hotel website before you...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Kia ora Rick64,

Thanks for such an honest review. We appreciate your enjoyment of the room and resort facilities, and we're glad you had such a fond experience at Lake Tekapo. We'd love to see you back again, perhaps for a little longer!

Kind regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here as an in between point from Queenstown and Christchurch. We did arrive before check in and was told that we couldnt chrck in and to come back at 2 which was ok but the person was surly when telling us. When we returned at 2.15 the room still wasnt ready and we were asked to come back after another 30 minutes. They were very apologetic and the new person at reception was a lot more helpful than the first. Apparently, they had a full hotel and so were under the pump.

When we finally got our room on the second floor walking up stairs with a heavy bag the room was nice. A couple of furniture items were marked and a bit tired and for some reason no wherre to put your hand towel in the bathroom. Just a small thing but annoying.

One side of the elctric blanket didnt work and nor did the bedside clock. I think for the price of the hotel these things shouldnt ever be a problem.

We went to the restaurant and we have to say the food and service was excellent. So it was an ok hotel, we expected more from the room, maybe we expected too much.

Stayed: November 2012
Thank EmmCeeAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Kia ora EmmCeeAustralia,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. We are really thrilled to hear you had such an enjoyable experience in our Rakinui restaurant!

Warm regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
673 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: $108 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking out to the breathtaking Lake Tekapo between Christchurch and Queenstown in New Zealand's South Island, Peppers Bluewater Resort offers stylish studios, one, two and three bedroom luxury villas. Relax amongst the cosy sofa at Rakinui Lounge while enjoying a warming drink or light snack and for breakfast and dinner Rakinui Restaurant serves a diverse selection of international standard cuisine and favoured local delights accompanied with a breathtaking view across Lake Tekapo. Lake Tekapo provides excellent kayaking and fishing, while the old village is steeped in mythology and rich High Country history. Tekapo is Maori for night sleeping place, and the lake itself boasts the clearest, darkest and most spectacular night sky in Aotearoa. Thrill seekers are sure to cover more terrain by mountain biking or horse riding before revitalising body and soul in the nearby Alpine Springs Health Spa and Hot Pool. Additional Information: Unfortunately we are unable to allow pets onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing