We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful location and Villa!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Bluewater Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Bluewater Resort to your Saves list
Peppers Bluewater Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Berkshire
Level Contributor
126 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and Villa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Part of Thomas Cook Tour - Room 824 - beautiful villa with kitchen, lounge, en-suite wet room and bath. Balcony overlooking the lake. Excellent views and location geared for family stay - another home from home. Would liked to have stayed another night. Small tour nearby with a few restaurants. Ideal place for relaxation. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sleekpeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    481
    330
    166
    130
See reviews for
314
852
48
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

My partner and I recently stayed at Peppers Bluewater Resort. Out of all of the places we stayed whilst we were in the South Island, this would have to be the worst place for a sleep in. This was the most expensive accommodation that we had booked during our holiday in the South Island, so we had very high expectations. We stayed in one of the hotel rooms, and both of us got woken up every 5 minutes, from neighbours opening and closing doors. You'll be amazed how much noise comes out of these doors when situated right next to your room. There is absolutely no sound proofing in the place, so we could hear everything our neighbours were saying. And to be awoken at 5am from neighbours talking right outside your doorway was clearly not on. To make things worse we had the cleaners in straight after the neighbours had checked out at stupid o'clock, whom seemed like they were at a footy match yelling out across the other side of the field. At this point I had enough so I had to get out in my pjs and nicely ask them to tone it down. Trust me it's not a nice sight to see when I've been awoken. We clearly had a sign on our door that said "shh". Over all my partner and I generally don't complain or let things get to us, but this was one of the most unsettling places we stayed at. The rooms are tiny, however very modern. The shower, location and the cleaniliness was probably the only things we'd have to compliment. If you are planning on staying here, quickly change your plans, and pack a tent and stay at a campsite as you'll probaly get more of a quiet night sleep. Ok that's harsh, I advise you to take some ear plugs, trust me you'll be thankful with this advice.

Room Tip: take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mezzab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Tekapo hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I stayed at this hotel on 17 Nov 2011.

The lower advertised prices get you into the smallest room in the property. Each apartment is split into an "A" and "B" section. The "A" section has an ensuite bedroom and living room, while the "B" has an ensuite bedroom only - not even space for a chair!

On arrival I was encouraged to pay almost double the original price for the larger "A" section room. The reception staff were lovely, but it appeared a well worn 'up-sell' routine to offer me an inspection of the larger space.

Fortunately, I was travelling solo and just needed a place to rest for one night - but I think these "B" rooms would be unsuitable for a couple or for a longer stay.

The room itself was very clean and the bathroom has heated floors - so it was not uncomfortable - just tiny.

While in Lake Tekapo, make sure you eat at Kohan Restaurant (amazing Japanese) and visit the observatory on their Earth & Sky night tour.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sterling481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

The size of the room 108 and ensuite are great and the view is good. Check-in staff were also very helpful. Unfortunately the carpet was wet and the room smelled like vomit. I phoned to ask if the carpet could be dried out while we were at dinner but had no action. Next morning I completed the review sheet and left it in the room for the house-keeper to see but the carpet was still wet on our return from a day trip and the room still smelled bad. The room was also not well cleaned, the so-called king bed was uncomfortable (2 singles put together), the pillows thin, the washbasin faulty (husband fixed it) and a request for service ignored or forgotten until my second call an hour later. We paid top dollar for this experience and it was the worst in our 15 days in NZ,

Room Tip: 108 is a good sized-room but make-sure its clean. A far better choice would be to stay lakeside in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gail d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
195 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed in a lake view villa which was a studio apartment with the bedroom and bath upstairs. Downstairs was a fully-equipped kitchen and living area with large TV, sofa, chairs, desk, and patio. The best view was from upstairs where we could see the beautiful lake. We had everything we could ever need and I loved having a TV upstairs in the bedroom and one downstairs in the living area -- hubby and I don't like the same things. The breakfast buffet in the restaurant was awesome! We would definitely recommend Peppers Bluewater.

Room Tip: You could easily stay long-term in the villa. I didn't see a regular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charleytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

One night stay 27/11/11. Friendly fast check-in, room, furnishings and bathroom/ shower first class in a magical location.
Had to wait a little while at breakfast while a tour group occupied the restaurant, but the apologetic waitress soon found us a spot.

Had a good laugh when another customer after us burst into tears and refused to move until a table was cleared for her......wow she must live a sheltered life if she thinks waiting five minutes for a table is a major issue.

But..the squeeky wheel was oiled and she managed to jump the queue in front of us ..hope she enjoyed her bacon and eggs.

Would highly recommend the Bluewater Resort.

Room Tip: Rooms 800+ face the beautiful lake and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bocko50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

On this trip to Peppers Bluewater we hired 4 three bedroom units for a family gathering of 30 of us. The fantastic thing was we all had comfortable rooms and sleeping and the upstairs living areas are really large and we could happily gather all in one unit for our socialising. They were well equipped with wine glasses etc so a great time was had by all.
The resort offers great views, luxurious bathrooms and high level of comfort and fittings. It hasn't got extras as in gym, pool and spa but the lovely alpine spa resort is so worth going to just down by the lake front. Not to be missed.
As a return visitor and booking 4 of the most expensive rooms and booking the restaurant for 30 I think they could have done us a better deal on the price offered and managed to get our rooms together. They did get two rooms side by side for us but considering I booked 3-4 months ahead I wouldnt have thought in a venue this size that it would have been impossible to have our rooms side by side. Would have made a big difference to those of us with younger children. This was our 6th stay here and around $6000 was spent there over the weekend - in my mind I think walking the extra mile through being accomodating with side by side rooms would have been a good gesture to value a regular customer.
However it is a lovely place and would recommend to others to enjoy. A great treat.

Room Tip: Get a Lake view unit . Really is worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MagFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Tekapo
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 542 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#8 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Property: Peppers Bluewater Resort
Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking out to the breathtaking Lake Tekapo between Christchurch and Queenstown in New Zealand's South Island, Peppers Bluewater Resort offers architectural design reflective of the surrounding Mackenzie Basin landscape combined with exceptional facilities and services. Accommodation includes stylish studios, one, two and three bedroom luxury villas where the outdoors is portrayed indoors through a refreshing colour palette of turquoise-blue, red and beige. Each room features STD/ISD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, air conditioning and complimentary grooming items. Simply unwind and breathe in the serene atmosphere of Peppers Bluewater Resort. Relax amongst the cosy sofa at Rakinui Lounge while enjoying a warming drink or light snack and for breakfast and dinner Rakinui Restaurant serves a diverse selection of international standard cuisine and favoured local delights accompanied with a breathtaking view across Lake Tekapo. Lake Tekapo provides excellent kayaking and rainbow and brown trout fishing, while the old village is steeped in mythology and rich High Country history. Tekapo is Maori for night sleeping place, and the lake itself boasts the clearest, darkest and most spectacular night sky in Aotearoa, ideal for a tramp up Mount John followed by a romantic twilight picnic. Thrill seekers are sure to cover more terrain by mountain biking or horse riding before revitalising body and soul in the nearby Alpine Springs Health Spa and Hot Pool. The Round Hill Ski Field and Winter Park are also a short drive from Peppers Bluewater Resort offering skiing, ice hockey, ice skating, even curling! Peppers Bluewater Resort is the perfect destination for relaxed weekend escapes or as a relished retreat after a hectic day of exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing