We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location - very helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Lake Tekapo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Location - very helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in a 3 bed roomed residence (family of four, third bedroom was locked).

Residence was spotlessly clean - good quality linen and towels however we had to ask for teaspooons as none in the drawers. Frying pan was very old - the stairs to the upstairs was very uneven, it felt as if it would give way at times. We could have used an umbrella over the outdoor furniture as we ate outside but had to come in as the sun was too strong with no shade. Overall, the Mantra was very good value for money and the staff were very friendly and helpful. On check in we were told if we needed anything extra for the Residence to just ask. Good location also, a few minutes walk to the Lake. Would recommend

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ennis41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Kia ora Ennis41,

Thank you for your kind comments. We also appreciate some aspects raised that we can address, and improve upon. We really value that opportunity, and hope to see you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    94
    39
    12
    14
See reviews for
178
50
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed in a 3 bed apartment in December and were so impressed. Just driving into the complex the first thing we said was 'wow' but it got better when we actually got into the apartment. The place was stunning. The 3 double bedrooms were spacious, 2 had balconies and the ensuite in the other room was impressive, in fact both bathrooms were. The downstairs was also great with a big tv, a well equipped kitchen and a large lounge/diner area. It was only a few minutes walk to the lake or the main shopping area. The only downside was that we were only staying one night. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pcuff1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Kia ora pcuff1980,

Thank you for a great review of Mantra Lake Tekapo.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of our property.
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know, and giving us confidence in what we strive to do everyday.

Best wishes,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Excellent stay, cosy, warm and inviting. The location was close to town and the surroundings were absolutely beautiful. Thanks for a very warm welcome and great service throughout our stay. The fresh bread on arrival is a very special touch.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Kia ora Brian E,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our property!
It always makes us smile when we know our guests have had such a comfortable time, with the sense of homeliness that we always strive to provide.

Kind regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We really couldn't fault this accommodation! As a pair of couples (family) staying for two nights in October 2013, we found the Mantra apartment/house to have everything we needed: a well-equipped kitchen, a laundry, lots of heating and plenty of space. The staff on duty were able to quickly convert a twin bedroom to a double (with en-suite), and the location was superb - only a seconds walk to the lake!

It's fair to say that the Mantra isn't the cheapest accommodation in Tekapo, but it certainly deserves the positive reviews it gets - the facilities are of a consistently high quality and we all really enjoyed our time there. It's always a good sign when you want to spend more time somewhere just because you're enjoying the accommodation so much!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Brit_Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Kia ora Happy_Brit_Hiker,

Wow! What a wonderful review! Thank you so much. We could really not be happier or more proud to hear your lovely comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Lake Tekapo in the near future.

Many thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night during our 2 week stay around the South Island and was very happy with this accomodation. It was well appointed, cosy and had all requirements you would need. The location was within walking distance to the Lake and the surrounds of the hotel were beautiful. The staff member upon our arrival was also very friendly and professional and advised us that she had turned our gas fire on so that our apartment was nice and warm for our arrival - a lovely touch! In the morning whilst we were getting ready to leave I opened the bathroom window and was greeted with blue skies and a row of snow capped mountains, very nice stay here indeed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidS255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Kia ora DavidS255060,

Many thanks to you for such a wonderful review!
It's very rewarding to know that you had such a fabulous time with us, and we cannot wait to see you again in the future.

Best wishes,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at Mantra on our drive down to Queenstown, I chose it because of the reviews on Trip Advisor and a number of other sites. We normally stay at another location in Lake Tekapo which is more expensive. We were pleasantly surprised by the standard of the unit, it was well furnished and they had turned on the fire before our arrival so it felt warm and inviting. There were a couple of bits of equipment missing from the unit but they were delivered to our unit very quickly when requested and extra tea and coffee was provided also. The bathrooms were well decorated with underfloor heating which was nice. Housekeeping was reasonable but a little more attention would make this an even better place to stay. Perhaps giving the housekeepers a check list would ensure that the unit has all the equipment and supplies that are meant to be provided. We enjoyed our stay enough to cancel our return booking with another accommodation provider and booked to stay with Mantra on the way back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuluDol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Kia ora LuluDol.

Thank you for such kind comments, and we are chuffed to hear that you had such an amazing time in our care. We note (and greatly appreciate!) some aspects you have raised for our attention, which I can assure you have been promptly addressed.
We are proud to hear that you otherwise had so many positive elements in your stay with us.
We really appreciate you giving us the chance, and are glad that you were not left disappointed.

Naturally, we hope to see you again very soon.

Many thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed a night here to enjoy the scenery around Lake Tekapo.

The apartment has a garage for our rental car and we can offload our luggage to the unit through a door connected to the garage. This is of great convenience especially so during winter.

The apartment has a big living room with electric fire place, an adequately equipped kitchen and a six-seater dining table. Located upstairs, a double-bed room, a twin-bed room and even a storeroom. Bathroom has a bathtub and a standing shower room. Underfloor heating and heater ventilation fan makes the bathroom a great place to relax and unwind!

The whole place is very nicely decorated with flower pots and paintings. However, I feel that the carpet and the kitchen utensils need to be more thoroughly cleaned.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Speckypilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Kia ora Speckypilot,

Thanks for such a great review!

We are really pleased to hear such positive experiences from your time with us.
We do note some comments for our immediate attention, and we thank you for raising them to us.
Otherwise, we are glad to find that you found our property so suitable for your needs.

Warm regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.7 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#10 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Lake Tekapo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Lake Tekapo

Property: Mantra Lake Tekapo
Address: 1 Beauchamp Place, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Lake Tekapo 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the rugged alpine heart of the South Island's Mackenzie Country, just a stone's throw from the shores of a shimmering turquoise lake, nestled amid snow capped mountains, Mantra Lake Tekapo offers the perfect haven for a weekend away or and extended stay. Mantra Lake Tekapo offers 28 spacious apartments each featuring three large bedrooms, two luxury bathrooms with heated floors, a spacious open plan living and dining area with a gas fireplace and French doors opening to a private courtyard. Cook up a meal in the fully appointed kitchen featuring granite bench tops and quality appliances. Stay warm and dry with you own private garage with internal access and full laundry. At Mantra Lake Tekapo you can choose to relax by the pool, spa and a paved BBQ relaxation area with an outdoor fireplace or enjoy a bottle of one of New Zealand's award-winning local wines on your apartment's private terrace. With world-class trout fishing, horse riding, scenic flights and two local ski fields all within easy reach there is plenty to see and do. Mantra Lake Tekapo is a perfect base from which to explore the unspoiled beauty of Lake Tekapo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Mantra Lake Tekapo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing