We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely apartment”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mantra Lake Tekapo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night during our 2 week stay around the South Island and was very happy with this accomodation. It was well appointed, cosy and had all requirements you would need. The location was within walking distance to the Lake and the surrounds of the hotel were beautiful. The staff member upon our arrival was also very friendly and professional and advised us that she had turned our gas fire on so that our apartment was nice and warm for our arrival - a lovely touch! In the morning whilst we were getting ready to leave I opened the bathroom window and was greeted with blue skies and a row of snow capped mountains, very nice stay here indeed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidS255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Kia ora DavidS255060,

Many thanks to you for such a wonderful review!
It's very rewarding to know that you had such a fabulous time with us, and we cannot wait to see you again in the future.

Best wishes,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    97
    39
    12
    15
See reviews for
183
51
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at Mantra on our drive down to Queenstown, I chose it because of the reviews on Trip Advisor and a number of other sites. We normally stay at another location in Lake Tekapo which is more expensive. We were pleasantly surprised by the standard of the unit, it was well furnished and they had turned on the fire before our arrival so it felt warm and inviting. There were a couple of bits of equipment missing from the unit but they were delivered to our unit very quickly when requested and extra tea and coffee was provided also. The bathrooms were well decorated with underfloor heating which was nice. Housekeeping was reasonable but a little more attention would make this an even better place to stay. Perhaps giving the housekeepers a check list would ensure that the unit has all the equipment and supplies that are meant to be provided. We enjoyed our stay enough to cancel our return booking with another accommodation provider and booked to stay with Mantra on the way back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuluDol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Kia ora LuluDol.

Thank you for such kind comments, and we are chuffed to hear that you had such an amazing time in our care. We note (and greatly appreciate!) some aspects you have raised for our attention, which I can assure you have been promptly addressed.
We are proud to hear that you otherwise had so many positive elements in your stay with us.
We really appreciate you giving us the chance, and are glad that you were not left disappointed.

Naturally, we hope to see you again very soon.

Many thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed a night here to enjoy the scenery around Lake Tekapo.

The apartment has a garage for our rental car and we can offload our luggage to the unit through a door connected to the garage. This is of great convenience especially so during winter.

The apartment has a big living room with electric fire place, an adequately equipped kitchen and a six-seater dining table. Located upstairs, a double-bed room, a twin-bed room and even a storeroom. Bathroom has a bathtub and a standing shower room. Underfloor heating and heater ventilation fan makes the bathroom a great place to relax and unwind!

The whole place is very nicely decorated with flower pots and paintings. However, I feel that the carpet and the kitchen utensils need to be more thoroughly cleaned.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Speckypilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Kia ora Speckypilot,

Thanks for such a great review!

We are really pleased to hear such positive experiences from your time with us.
We do note some comments for our immediate attention, and we thank you for raising them to us.
Otherwise, we are glad to find that you found our property so suitable for your needs.

Warm regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have stayed at Mantra on several occasions at short notice and we have always enjoyed our stay until now. This time we noticed a decline in the level of cleaning and maintenance done on the property. The downstairs toilet had splatter marks on the wals, the light switch was filthy and the toilet roll hadn't been replaced. There were large and obvious stains on the carpet which hadn't even been attempted to clean up and there were cup ring marks on the fire hearth. There was only 1 wine glass in the apartment and the frying pan was completely burnt out. Dishes were chipped in the cupboard.
We returned to our apartment on day 2 and found the rubbish bag hadn't been replaced and the dishcloth had been removed and not replaced.
Individually each of these things are small, however we feel that for 5 star accommodation there really should be more attention paid to the detail.
We will think twice before returning to the Mantra.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jomac66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Kia ora Jomac66,

Thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding your recent stay.

It disappoints me greatly to hear of a number of shortcomings in our housekeeping service, and we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you. I can assure you, that you feedback has prompted dramatic action and that a number of basic operational procedures have been reviewed to ensure this does not occur again. We hope that you are willing to give us another opportunity, so we can show you the true value of our hospitality at Mantra Lake Tekapo.

With thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful week in Tekapo. It is the second time we have stayed at Mantra Lake Tekapo, and we like it because our family and their families can each have their own stylish condominium in a semi enclosed environment. Our toddler grandchildren can potter between each unit - and did.
This year we were well looked after by Abhijeet who, with other staff, were very willing, helpful and pleasant to have around.
We have our bookings for next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SolwayH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Kia ora SolwayH,

Thank you so much for your continued loyalty!
We are really happy to hear that our property suits your needs so well.
It is a nice secure environment, were kids and families can comfortable relax without any fears.
I've very glad to hear that Abhijeet was so helpful, and I know he would really appreciate your comments in that regard - so thanks!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Lake Tekapo next year!

Best Wishes,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We visited Tekapo for 3 nights for skiing and fishing with family. The room wasn't ready on arrival so they moved my brother to another room so he could shower. When we arrived with our kids we thought the room wasn't suitable as it was right next to the laundry and had no grass area for the kids. The on duty manager happily moved us no problem and was very accommodating. The room was very comfortable for us all and nice and warm. The beds were very comfortable and great bathrooms with underfloor heating. Good kitchen, dining and lounge facilities. Not enough cutlery and pots though. However we asked at reception and they brought us another pot no problem. They property has a pool and a spa pool. As it's the end of winter we used the spa pool and the staff got us towels to use in this. At check out they were happy to give us a noon check out so our baby could have a sleep. I would stay here again for sure. The staff were so friendly, nothing was a problem for them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nawqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Kia ora nawqt,

Thanks for a lovely review.
We regret that there were a couple of little hiccups during your stay, but I am proud to hear that our staff were able to resolve these matters so quickly. We are very pleased to hear you say so many positive things about your experience with us.
We hope you can come up again from Queenstown, and enjoy the splendour of Lake Tekapo again.

With thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed with the family of the elderly.
Equipment works great.
+ Clean room and look modern (
+ spacious
+ Works great with full kitchen facilities.
+ Worth the price.

-Room unseen lake
-reception closes early (if arriving after hours. Pick up the keys to the hotel is about 2 km).

Room Tip: reception closes early (if arriving after hours. Pick up the keys to the hotel is about 2 km)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pong1640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Kia ora pong1640,

Thanks for proving a review of your recent stay with us.
We are glad that you enjoyed the amenities on offer, and that you considered our property to be good value for money.

Warm regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.7 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#11 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Lake Tekapo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Lake Tekapo

Property: Mantra Lake Tekapo
Address: 1 Beauchamp Place, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Lake Tekapo 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the rugged alpine heart of the South Island's Mackenzie Country, just a stone's throw from the shores of a shimmering turquoise lake, nestled amid snow capped mountains, Mantra Lake Tekapo offers the perfect haven for a weekend away or and extended stay. Mantra Lake Tekapo offers 28 spacious apartments each featuring three large bedrooms, two luxury bathrooms with heated floors, a spacious open plan living and dining area with a gas fireplace and French doors opening to a private courtyard. Cook up a meal in the fully appointed kitchen featuring granite bench tops and quality appliances. Stay warm and dry with you own private garage with internal access and full laundry. At Mantra Lake Tekapo you can choose to relax by the pool, spa and a paved BBQ relaxation area with an outdoor fireplace or enjoy a bottle of one of New Zealand's award-winning local wines on your apartment's private terrace. With world-class trout fishing, horse riding, scenic flights and two local ski fields all within easy reach there is plenty to see and do. Mantra Lake Tekapo is a perfect base from which to explore the unspoiled beauty of Lake Tekapo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Lake Tekapo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing