We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Average stay"”
Review of Mantra Lake Tekapo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2013

On Friday the 14th of June we arrived at Mantra Lake Tekapo just after 5pm in the rain and cold to find that they don't have a reception open and that we would have to dive up to peppers to collect our keys which is a little inconvenient.
When we finally got to the 3br apartment which we had booked we found that the door to the 3rd bedroom was locked..another inconvenience. So as there is nobody on reception on our way out to dinner we called back into peppers where the person on the counter was a little unhelpful so after being referred to his manager we than had to follow him back to the mantra for some reason so he could unlock the door.
The sink in the master bedrooms bathroom leaked and filled up the cupboard wetting the spare toilet paper and hair dryer along with both shower heads in both bathrooms being split with little water pressure..sticky marks all around the fire place and a little untidy in general worst Mantra i have ever stayed at. number 13 needs a sever clean up and maintenance to fix all the broken bits and pieces.
After all the good reviews from others maybe it was just number 13 that was disapointing

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahj-c-89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Kia ora sarahj-c-89,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We sincerely apologise for a number of aspects that are well below the standards we typically maintain for this property. We do appreciate you taking the time to let us know, and these matters will be rectified with great urgency. We appreciate the patience and understanding you showed during your time with is.
Of course, we would love to see you again and allow you to experience the true nature of our hospitality.

Warm regards

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 395 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous! Comfortable, spacious, modern townhouse with modern furnishings, exceptionally clean, warm, views of snowcapped mountains, secured complex. We stayed an extra night we were that impressed. The rooms all have heaters, heated towel rails & floors & gorgeous fireplace. If you don't have a car it is a little bit of a walk but if you have a car it is perfect. I found the best place for a view of the lake was the backpackers which was situated right on the lake! Nice backpackers place too. But for luxury, warmth and a totally relaxing break you don't need to look any further. We got a great price on www.wotif.com.au which was 50% off the rate, so value was exceptional also.
As we didn't drive down the West Coast (as we didn't want to spend our whole time driving!) we decided to visit Lake Tekapo & then drove to Mt Cook for a day trip to do a helicopter scenic flight over the fox & franz glaciers with a snow landing. The place is on the right as u are driving along the road to Mt Cook. It was cheaper from Mt Cook. They gave 10% discount & charged us in Australian dollars. It was $880 for 2 adults & a child. (It is also worth driving into the beautiful town of Mt Cook to the lodge for lunch. It has historical old photos & mountain hiking gear & interesting facts). It made our trip more relaxing being able to do this by not having to drive all that extra distance along the West Coast. It also gave us the extra night at this gorgeous place.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nhooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Kia ora Nhooper,

Awesome review! We cannot express how glad we are that you had such a memorable time in our care.

Thanks so much for stopping by, and for being kind enough to leave a briliant review.

Sincere thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were wowed, with how nice this apartment was and the extra bedroom as we thought it was only a 2 bed, but had a 3 bedroom apartment. Lovely and clean, warm upstairs with individual heaters, and underfloor heating in the 2 bathrooms. Lovely bathrooms. Lovely bedrooms (beds a little soft and would like a few pillow options - if I was to be really picky) but again really clean and good furnishings. Downstairs lounge, and kitchen had all I needed to make a lovely meal and good kitchen plates, bowls etc. Lovely private back courtyard and sun streaming in the windows. Again to be picky - wish floor downstairs was heated and as only heating option is gas fire in morning it was chilly downstairs, as you couldn't leave it going all night. Also updating tv and even tv in bedroom would add extra luxury. Extra toilet downstairs great and garage and laundry. The Reception was excellent as we may of needed to stay another night due to heavy snow and when I called 3 times and left messages, reception called me back 3 times each time to reassure me that a room would be available should I need it. Thank you! With 2 children this put my mind at ease. Sure I'd love a place with a view but this was a fabulous place to stay and would stay again, good value for money. Didn't use pool or spa.

Room Tip: All apartments would be great, we asked for one away from road and our request was met. thank you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifetolive1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Kia ora mindel,

Thank you for such a lovely review of Mantra Lake Tekapo. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, and found the property so suitable for your family. We also really value and appreciate your excellent suggestions.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Many thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Our second mantra stay in NZ and it definitely did not disappoint. It is located slightly further ahead from town but not too far away. They will provide a double storey house all to yourself with fully equip kitchens, washer dryer, a fireplace, great satellite tv and a garage for your car.

At night, you can just go to the balcony or sit in the garden and just look at the beautiful lake tekapo sky!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Kia ora jeremy0,

Wonderful review! Thank you so much. We are over-the-moon to hear that you had such a great time. I'm very pleased to hear you took the time to sit back and enjoy the amazing Dark Sky Reserve above Lake Tekapo!
We hope to see you again soon.

With thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had two nights in a two bedroom apartment on our way home - what a great way to finish the holiday it was a well equiped kitchen lovely bedrooms and bathrooms. Great gas fire for warmth. The only issue was the dish washer had dishes that had not been washed and the odour was not pleasant easily fixed washed them. Also a few chipped plates and wine glasses mising. We passed these comments on to reception she was appreciative we had advised her so they could address the problem. Great place very relaxing and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenSorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Kia ora KarenSorby,

Thanks for such wonderful comments! We are overjoyed to hear that you had a 'perfect' stay with us. We do apologise for some of the minor issues you mentioned, and we'll ensure these do not happen again. Otherwise, we cannot thank you enough and look forward to having you back again some time soon.

Many thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed only one night on our way home from Queenstown as we love the Tekapo Pools, but wish we had stayed longer. Wonderful place. Lady on reception was warm and inviting, rooms very clean and modern. Very relaxing. Given a late checkout as it was mothers day which was great and meant we didn't need to rush. Lovely little area outside meant the boys (5 and 2) could kick a ball around and garage for the car was wonderful since it can get so cold!
We are trying to do a trip down every year and will be sure to book again. Have also recommended to my mum whose looking for somewhere to go on a long weekend.
Only thing to note if you have small ones are the stairs. They are quite steep and tight. Maybe child barriers available for families with young ones would be handy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Kia ora Anna C,

Many thanks to you for such a lovely review of our property. We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable time with us. We also really appreciate your excellent suggestion regarding the child barriers.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,
Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The apartment we stayed in was modern and stylish. Most importantly it was warm! Very happy with it. Plenty of room with a big lounge/dining/kitchen. The adjoining garage was useful. Well suited for families and would stay again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank droyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Kia ora droyad,

Thank you for your lovely comments about Mantra Lake Tekapo.
Nothing makes us happier than to hear people really enjoying everything our property has to offer!
We are especially pleased you so many aspects of the apartment to your liking.

Best wishes,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.7 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3,018 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
265 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Lake Tekapo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Lake Tekapo

Address: 1 Beauchamp Place, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: $195 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Lake Tekapo 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the rugged alpine heart of the South Island's Mackenzie Country, just a stone's throw from the shores of a shimmering turquoise lake, nestled amid snow capped mountains, Mantra Lake Tekapo offers 28 spacious apartments each featuring three large bedrooms, two luxury bathrooms with heated floors, a spacious open plan living and dining area with a gas fireplace and French doors opening to a private courtyard. Cook up a meal in the fully appointed kitchen featuring granite bench tops and quality appliances. At Mantra Lake Tekapo you can choose to relax by the pool, spa and a paved BBQ relaxation area with an outdoor fireplace or enjoy a bottle of one of New Zealand's award-winning local wines on your apartment's private terrace. With world-class trout fishing, horse riding, scenic flights and two local ski fields all within easy reach there is plenty to see and do. Additional Information: Unfortunately we are unable to allow pets onsite at Mantra Lake Tekapo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Lake Tekapo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing