We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another awesome property from mantra” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Lake Tekapo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mantra Lake Tekapo
ipoh
Level Contributor
133 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Another awesome property from mantra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Our second mantra stay in NZ and it definitely did not disappoint. It is located slightly further ahead from town but not too far away. They will provide a double storey house all to yourself with fully equip kitchens, washer dryer, a fireplace, great satellite tv and a garage for your car.

At night, you can just go to the balcony or sit in the garden and just look at the beautiful lake tekapo sky!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Kia ora jeremy0,

Wonderful review! Thank you so much. We are over-the-moon to hear that you had such a great time. I'm very pleased to hear you took the time to sit back and enjoy the amazing Dark Sky Reserve above Lake Tekapo!
We hope to see you again soon.

With thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    94
    39
    12
    14
See reviews for
178
50
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had two nights in a two bedroom apartment on our way home - what a great way to finish the holiday it was a well equiped kitchen lovely bedrooms and bathrooms. Great gas fire for warmth. The only issue was the dish washer had dishes that had not been washed and the odour was not pleasant easily fixed washed them. Also a few chipped plates and wine glasses mising. We passed these comments on to reception she was appreciative we had advised her so they could address the problem. Great place very relaxing and highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenSorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Kia ora KarenSorby,

Thanks for such wonderful comments! We are overjoyed to hear that you had a 'perfect' stay with us. We do apologise for some of the minor issues you mentioned, and we'll ensure these do not happen again. Otherwise, we cannot thank you enough and look forward to having you back again some time soon.

Many thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed only one night on our way home from Queenstown as we love the Tekapo Pools, but wish we had stayed longer. Wonderful place. Lady on reception was warm and inviting, rooms very clean and modern. Very relaxing. Given a late checkout as it was mothers day which was great and meant we didn't need to rush. Lovely little area outside meant the boys (5 and 2) could kick a ball around and garage for the car was wonderful since it can get so cold!
We are trying to do a trip down every year and will be sure to book again. Have also recommended to my mum whose looking for somewhere to go on a long weekend.
Only thing to note if you have small ones are the stairs. They are quite steep and tight. Maybe child barriers available for families with young ones would be handy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Kia ora Anna C,

Many thanks to you for such a lovely review of our property. We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable time with us. We also really appreciate your excellent suggestion regarding the child barriers.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,
Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The apartment we stayed in was modern and stylish. Most importantly it was warm! Very happy with it. Plenty of room with a big lounge/dining/kitchen. The adjoining garage was useful. Well suited for families and would stay again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank droyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Kia ora droyad,

Thank you for your lovely comments about Mantra Lake Tekapo.
Nothing makes us happier than to hear people really enjoying everything our property has to offer!
We are especially pleased you so many aspects of the apartment to your liking.

Best wishes,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Well this was an awesome place to stay.. Spacious 2 storey town house. 2 bedroom with possible 3rd bedroom. pool right outside the patio.(too bad you had to walk right round to the other side to get thru the safety gate to get in the pool). spa as well. Like the title says....it was home away from home. i loved that we had a garage with internal access.I really have no complaints, except a wall or two could do with a paint, and the water on the bathroom floor (from the shower and leaked under the shower door.. One other downfall was that when we arrived we had to drive down to Peppers Hotel to get keys. We would've liked to be told that we would've had to do this even after we told them on the phone that we probraly be there about 830-900pm. .
Late checkout was good as well
i would love to go here again , and recommend it to everyone to stay here..tekapo has some lovely lil resturants as well for dinner and breakfasts. 9.5 out of 10

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aconfused1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Kia ora aconfused1,

Wow! What a wonderful review!
Thank you so much for your incredibly kind words.
We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyble stay with us, and very much look forward to seeing you again.
I also appreciate some aspects for our improvement, which we will certainly take on board.

Many thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at the Mantra for a couple of nights in December. The setting is a little gated community of quality townhouses with a central swimming pool and spa. Our townhouse was very spacious and comfortable, and was well set up for a long stay (although a clothes horse would’ve been helpful). The outdoor entertaining space isn’t private and given it’s on the main highway there is a constant murmur of traffic. But the pool and (more so) spa were very inviting. The service was very helpful and the location is walking distance to the town centre. Would I stay here again? I’d prefer to stay in something off the beaten track but it’s worth consideration.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunj74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Kia ora Sunj74,

Thank you for your recent review of Mantra Lake Tekapo.
We are thrilled that you found your apartment to be so spacious and comfortable.
I'm glad the team were able to provide helpful service to you during your time with us.

Kind regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Awesome is basically all I can say!! We were in a 2 bedroom apartment overlooking the pool. It would have to be the best accommodation that I have stayed in with the spacious rooms and quality chattels. Only 2 complaints and they are the walls on the stairs were quite dirty with hand marks/scuffs and the tea and coffee etc sachets were not very exciting or plentiful. Putting this aside I would definitely look forward to staying there again. I loved the garage!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catgirl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Kia ora Catgirl44,

Wow! Wonderful to hear - thank you immensely for providing such a great review! It is fantastic to hear that you had such a great weekend, and we are really pleased to have been able to be a part of that.
Thanks for bringing a couple of details to our attention, which we will certainly get right on to.

Hopefully we will see you again sometime soon!

Warm regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.7 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#10 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Lake Tekapo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Lake Tekapo

Property: Mantra Lake Tekapo
Address: 1 Beauchamp Place, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Lake Tekapo 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the rugged alpine heart of the South Island's Mackenzie Country, just a stone's throw from the shores of a shimmering turquoise lake, nestled amid snow capped mountains, Mantra Lake Tekapo offers the perfect haven for a weekend away or and extended stay. Mantra Lake Tekapo offers 28 spacious apartments each featuring three large bedrooms, two luxury bathrooms with heated floors, a spacious open plan living and dining area with a gas fireplace and French doors opening to a private courtyard. Cook up a meal in the fully appointed kitchen featuring granite bench tops and quality appliances. Stay warm and dry with you own private garage with internal access and full laundry. At Mantra Lake Tekapo you can choose to relax by the pool, spa and a paved BBQ relaxation area with an outdoor fireplace or enjoy a bottle of one of New Zealand's award-winning local wines on your apartment's private terrace. With world-class trout fishing, horse riding, scenic flights and two local ski fields all within easy reach there is plenty to see and do. Mantra Lake Tekapo is a perfect base from which to explore the unspoiled beauty of Lake Tekapo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Mantra Lake Tekapo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing