We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad room plan, or plain unlucky?”
Review of Mantra Lake Tekapo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bad room plan, or plain unlucky?”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We reached Lake Tekapo on a brilliant day in December. Clear day - 22 degrees.

The location of the hotel is awesome, and lake tekapo is a must see!! The unit in Mantra was great, and the manager was also quite accommodating and helped fit in our child in the best manner possible, without raising a fuss.

however, as in the whole of the South Island, there is no aircon (or fan) in the units. The windows in the bedroom and the living areas were in the direct path of the sun, and it became extremely hot and unpleasant in the unit.

Couldn't really sleep till about 2am, when it eventually became bearable in the rooms! Not ideal if you're on a long trip and have to head out early the next morning!!

Per the manager, this apparently happens on 10 days in the year at Lake Tekapo, and we just managed to be there on one of those days!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Kia ora harshah,

Thank you for your rrecent eview of Mantra Lake Tekapo.
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your time with us.
We certainly apologise that you found the room to be so warm, and we apologise for the inconvenience this caused during your stay with us. I'll be honest in saying that this was not a potential issue that I was aware of, so this will certainly be looked further into.
Please accept our humble apologies, and we appreciate you taking the effort to let us know about this.

Sincere thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    111
    44
    12
    15
See reviews for
212
58
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaikoura
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Could not fault it in any way. The rooms had great views. The kitchen was well equipped with microwave, fan forced oven and dishwasher. Very comfortable beds and laundry as well. The carport was bigger than some of the hotel rooms we have stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djbland61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Kia ora djbland61,

Thank you for such a lovely review. We are thrilled to bits that you found Mantra Lake Tekapo to fit your needs! We would welcome the chance to have you back again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Fantastic 3 bedroom fully equipped apartment. beautifully furnished, cosy and clean. Nice 'fireplace'. Heated bathrooms floors were a real bonus. Kids were upset it was only for one night. Lovely walk to the church of Good Sheperd and only a stone throw away from the shops.

Room Tip: 15 minutes walk to the shops
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2adults4kidsKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Kia ora 2adults4kidsKL,

Thank you for such a wonderful review of our newest property, Mantra Lake Tekapo.
We are overjoyed to hear that you had such a wonderful time, and that you found the property to suit your needs.
We would love to have you come and stay with us again in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and was very comfortable.Handy to everything.Well appointed units and when we requested a late checkout there was no problems getting one.Would stay again.
Hopefully this will now be 200 characters.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 44NZTraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Kia ora 44NZTraveller44,

Many thanks for your lovely comments about our property.

You will be interested to know that The Residence will become 'Mantra Lake Tekapo' from November 1st and we are thrilled to launch an exciting new offering, with new branding and a fresh excitement. It's certainly a wonderful product which we are very proud of, and we hope that you will continue to enjoy it under a new monniker.

Sincere thanks, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for one night recently in a 2 bedroom unit and were very surprised at how luxurious everthing was. The rooms were beautifully decorated with quality chattels. Our boys were so pleased that they didnt even want to leave the apartment. Would love to stay there in the summer to take advantage of the outdoor pool and BBQ area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familytripper846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Kia ora Familytripper846,

Thank you for a wonderful review of The Residence (soon to become Mantra Lake Tekapo).
We are thrilled to hear that you found the apartments to be so lovely, and luxurious.
It would be great to see you back again once the weather warms up, and we'll do our best to help you get the boys outside next time!

Many thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
The Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I went to The Residence at Lake Tekapo in December with my family. The 2 bedroom apartment was absolutely breath taking. It was luxurious, specious and comfortable. I was surprised by the furniture and decoration. Lake Tekapo is the place to go if you want to go to NZ

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aph1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak2, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Kia ora aph1985,

Thank you so much for a wonderful review of our property, The Residence.

We're absolutely ecstatic that you enjoyed the property so much, and we'd be thrilled to hopefully welcome you back again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
The Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Phoned a few days beforehand to make a booking for a 2-bedroom apartment and was pleasantly surprised with a complimentary upgrade to the 3-bedroom one for the same price.
Beautiful place with bedrooms and 2 bathrooms upstairs, kitchen, dining and living plus bathroom downstairs.
Handy location, nice walk to tourist attraction and short drive to the Thermal pools etc.
Place is nice and warm with underfloor heating in bathrooms, panel heaters in bedrooms and gas fire in the lounge.
Will definatelty be coming back here in summer to enjoy the pool, spa and BBQ area.
Rates are very reasonable compared to other properties in Lake Tekapo.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Swiss_Kiwi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak2, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Kia ora Swiss_Kiwi1,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a very kind review of our property.

We're extremely pleased to hear that the comfort and convenience you required was catered for. It's a beautiful location, and you'd really enjoy the warm Spring sunshine that's now upon.

We hope to see you back enjoying the pool in the near future!

Kind regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
The Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.7 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,841 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#11 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tekapo Heights
Tekapo Heights
#3 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
116 reviews
0.7 mi away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#12 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Lake Tekapo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Lake Tekapo

Property: Mantra Lake Tekapo
Address: 1 Beauchamp Place, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Lake Tekapo 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the rugged alpine heart of the South Island's Mackenzie Country, just a stone's throw from the shores of a shimmering turquoise lake, nestled amid snow capped mountains, Mantra Lake Tekapo offers the perfect haven for a weekend away or and extended stay. Mantra Lake Tekapo offers 28 spacious apartments each featuring three large bedrooms, two luxury bathrooms with heated floors, a spacious open plan living and dining area with a gas fireplace and French doors opening to a private courtyard. Cook up a meal in the fully appointed kitchen featuring granite bench tops and quality appliances. Stay warm and dry with you own private garage with internal access and full laundry. At Mantra Lake Tekapo you can choose to relax by the pool, spa and a paved BBQ relaxation area with an outdoor fireplace or enjoy a bottle of one of New Zealand's award-winning local wines on your apartment's private terrace. With world-class trout fishing, horse riding, scenic flights and two local ski fields all within easy reach there is plenty to see and do. Mantra Lake Tekapo is a perfect base from which to explore the unspoiled beauty of Lake Tekapo. Additional Information: Unfortunately we are unable to allow pets onsite at Mantra Lake Tekapo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Lake Tekapo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing