We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Mantra Lake Tekapo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for one night recently in a 2 bedroom unit and were very surprised at how luxurious everthing was. The rooms were beautifully decorated with quality chattels. Our boys were so pleased that they didnt even want to leave the apartment. Would love to stay there in the summer to take advantage of the outdoor pool and BBQ area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familytripper846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Kia ora Familytripper846,

Thank you for a wonderful review of The Residence (soon to become Mantra Lake Tekapo).
We are thrilled to hear that you found the apartments to be so lovely, and luxurious.
It would be great to see you back again once the weather warms up, and we'll do our best to help you get the boys outside next time!

Many thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
The Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
There are newer reviews for Mantra Lake Tekapo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 383 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

I went to The Residence at Lake Tekapo in December with my family. The 2 bedroom apartment was absolutely breath taking. It was luxurious, specious and comfortable. I was surprised by the furniture and decoration. Lake Tekapo is the place to go if you want to go to NZ

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aph1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak2, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Kia ora aph1985,

Thank you so much for a wonderful review of our property, The Residence.

We're absolutely ecstatic that you enjoyed the property so much, and we'd be thrilled to hopefully welcome you back again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
The Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Phoned a few days beforehand to make a booking for a 2-bedroom apartment and was pleasantly surprised with a complimentary upgrade to the 3-bedroom one for the same price.
Beautiful place with bedrooms and 2 bathrooms upstairs, kitchen, dining and living plus bathroom downstairs.
Handy location, nice walk to tourist attraction and short drive to the Thermal pools etc.
Place is nice and warm with underfloor heating in bathrooms, panel heaters in bedrooms and gas fire in the lounge.
Will definatelty be coming back here in summer to enjoy the pool, spa and BBQ area.
Rates are very reasonable compared to other properties in Lake Tekapo.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Swiss_Kiwi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak2, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Kia ora Swiss_Kiwi1,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a very kind review of our property.

We're extremely pleased to hear that the comfort and convenience you required was catered for. It's a beautiful location, and you'd really enjoy the warm Spring sunshine that's now upon.

We hope to see you back enjoying the pool in the near future!

Kind regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
The Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Very confotable and spacious luxury apartment close to the township. With plenty of eating establishments nearby it good for a short stay in warmer months or a longer stay in colder times. We were told that the snow could be as deep a one meter surrounding the motel and at times it could be inaccessible due to the conditions in the passes. How awful. We intend to return for a few days and are excited to experience the tranquility of the winter settings in such a well appointed establishment taking advantage if the heated rooms and of course the fireplace.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank densmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak2, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Kia ora densmi,

We really appreciate you leaving such a lovely review of our property.

We hope you enjoyed the warm room and we hope it helped you combat the winter chill!

We hope to see you again, perhaps to enjoy the warmer weather and clear blue skies.

Many thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
The Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We could not agree more about the administration problems at this place.

We booked online four months in advance for a one night special occasion. We
were required to pre-pay. We received an acknowledgement email, no detail in the message, just a "we have received your booking" email. We should have taken that as a warning I guess. Before we took off for our trip we checked in with them by email just to ensure.....

They sent us a reply the following morning to say that we had supposedly not
turned up for our booking on X date - they gave a random September date which was completely unrelated to the date we had actually booked - for a January birthday.

They refused to acknowledge their error and kept our money! This is not a cheap place, it's at the high end, and we can ill afford to lose money like this. They stuck to the line that we had not turned up back in September. They were rude and dismissive. My partner who had booked this as a surprise for me was devastated.

Other travellers need to know that the managers are total amateurs, do not know how to manage website bookings and do not know how to be gracious hosts. They are an embarrassment to the New Zealand tourism industry.

Avoid this place - but go to Tekapo, it's beautiful - one of my favourite places.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
6  Thank Yzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak2, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Kia ora Yzzie,

Thank you so much for your feedback about The Residence, Lake Tekapo. You'll be thrilled to hear that your wishes have come true...

The Residence, Lake Tekapo is under new management!

It's such a wonderful property with so much potential, and we're in the process of sharpening the pencil and ensuring The Residence is everything it should be as an elite accommodation provider in Lake Tekapo.

By all means, please familiarise yourself with our new published rates on the internet and we'd love to welcome you back so you can feel the difference. We'd certainly welcome your feedback about the property, so we can ensure we're delivering everyone that people want when coming to this beautiful part of South Canterbury.

Warm regards,
Andrew M Freak
General Manager
The Residence, Lake Tekapo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Found The Residence by accident and as a last minute booking, we where stunned to be able to stay in one of the most luxurious apartments in NZ. We were pleasantly surprised by the helpfulness of the managers and the assistance in advising of facilities and local atttractions.
With all its splendour the only downside was lack of views avaialble, but the apartment more then compensated.

Room Tip: any room looked as good as an other
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Tekapo is a great destination, just avoid the Residence. We booked by email one month in advance, received confirmation normally. Upon arrival after dark on a Friday evening during school holidays, we were told that our booking was cancelled. The receptionist's attitude could not have been more dismissive and uncaring. Their administrative error was made 100% our problem. Quite unbelievable. Luckily for us, we got a room at nearby Peppers. We would not, under any circumstances, recommend the Residence to anyone. Avoid.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak2, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Kia ora AnnandBrian,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about The Residence, Lake Tekapo.

You will be thrilled to hear that there has been a recent management change at The Residence, and we are really excited by what the future holds for this fantastic property.

We're certainly people that care about how we can deliver a superior stay for everyone that comes to this fabulous part of the world. The Residence is a gorgeous property, with spacious and cosy rooms that really suit a relaxing family retreat. We regret that your previous experience was not a good one, but we can assure you that thing's are certainly very different now!

We'd welcome you back to come and see the difference!

Many thanks,
Andrew M Freak
General Manager
The Residence, Lake Tekapo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.7 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,942 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
262 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Lake Tekapo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Lake Tekapo

Address: 1 Beauchamp Place, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: $216 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Lake Tekapo 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the rugged alpine heart of the South Island's Mackenzie Country, just a stone's throw from the shores of a shimmering turquoise lake, nestled amid snow capped mountains, Mantra Lake Tekapo offers 28 spacious apartments each featuring three large bedrooms, two luxury bathrooms with heated floors, a spacious open plan living and dining area with a gas fireplace and French doors opening to a private courtyard. Cook up a meal in the fully appointed kitchen featuring granite bench tops and quality appliances. At Mantra Lake Tekapo you can choose to relax by the pool, spa and a paved BBQ relaxation area with an outdoor fireplace or enjoy a bottle of one of New Zealand's award-winning local wines on your apartment's private terrace. With world-class trout fishing, horse riding, scenic flights and two local ski fields all within easy reach there is plenty to see and do. Additional Information: Unfortunately we are unable to allow pets onsite at Mantra Lake Tekapo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Lake Tekapo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing