We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Apartments as stunning as Lake Tekapo”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mantra Lake Tekapo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Apartments as stunning as Lake Tekapo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

Found The Residence by accident and as a last minute booking, we where stunned to be able to stay in one of the most luxurious apartments in NZ. We were pleasantly surprised by the helpfulness of the managers and the assistance in advising of facilities and local atttractions.
With all its splendour the only downside was lack of views avaialble, but the apartment more then compensated.

Room Tip: any room looked as good as an other
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    97
    39
    12
    15
See reviews for
183
51
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Tekapo is a great destination, just avoid the Residence. We booked by email one month in advance, received confirmation normally. Upon arrival after dark on a Friday evening during school holidays, we were told that our booking was cancelled. The receptionist's attitude could not have been more dismissive and uncaring. Their administrative error was made 100% our problem. Quite unbelievable. Luckily for us, we got a room at nearby Peppers. We would not, under any circumstances, recommend the Residence to anyone. Avoid.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak2, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Kia ora AnnandBrian,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about The Residence, Lake Tekapo.

You will be thrilled to hear that there has been a recent management change at The Residence, and we are really excited by what the future holds for this fantastic property.

We're certainly people that care about how we can deliver a superior stay for everyone that comes to this fabulous part of the world. The Residence is a gorgeous property, with spacious and cosy rooms that really suit a relaxing family retreat. We regret that your previous experience was not a good one, but we can assure you that thing's are certainly very different now!

We'd welcome you back to come and see the difference!

Many thanks,
Andrew M Freak
General Manager
The Residence, Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

The second time we have stayed in one of the three-bedroom houses on this five-star development, and we loved it. Because our stay was not high season, the rate was well below the listed price and the luxurious facilities make it superb value for money.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnnandBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

Looks great but ask for towels for all family members staying , ask for more wash detergent for dishes and dish washer( had rung and checked such things in rooms before coming) - or kitchen utensils that don't fall apart very reluctant to provide.
Get offended if told alarm clock not working.
Need to learn skills with people as Managers not good with people- very poor attitude and aggressive if questioned.
Rooms look great and are warm.
They did give new towels and face clothes but not enough for every one staying
Leather lounge suite hard to sit on as very slippery- kids thought that was fun.
To be honest nice place ruined by the managers and poor hospitality attitude.
Note car parking suites small cars-
Would not recommend unless under different management

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DebsGore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak2, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Kia ora DebsGore,

There's been significant changes at The Residence, Lake Tekapo: - Namely, the management!

We're saddened to hear that your previous experience here was not a positive one and certainly it sounds like thing's could have been far better.

We appreciate your provide your feedback so we can use it to ensure this product is everything it should be. It would be fantastic to see you back in the future so you can see and feel the difference, I'm sure you can appreciate that it is a gorgeous product and with the right love and care, it's an accommodation experience to remember for all the right reasons!

Thanks again for your feedback, we're thrilled to fill you in on the recent news and we'd really enjoy seeing you back at The Residence, Lake Tekapo in the near future.

Regards,
Andrew M Freak
General Manager
The Residence, Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2010

We stayed here for two nights and the accommodation is top notch, the trade off is that there are no views of the lake at all but it is only a short walk to the lake front. Unfortunately our view from the rear was looking on to a a vacant block of ground that is being used to store old pieces of farm equipment and refuse.

The pool area is lovely and extra towels were provided for use at the pool.

Be sure to bring some fly spray with you as if you leave the windows open come nightfall you will be invaded by mosquitoes. We quickly purchased a can at the local supermarket. This is not just a problem at this accommodation but is common to all the accommodation we stayed at whilst we were in NZ.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulKarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2010

Once you open the door, you quickly forget that you're at a holiday apartment as it feels like a normal home. The kitchen is nicely setup, the beds are comfy and the whole place very clean and modern. The only negitive is that there are no views of the lake on the other hand if it did have lake views then expect to pay 3 times as much.
Will definatly be staying here again

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norbham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2009

A visit to South Island New Zealand is a holiday to set the heart beating faster, such is the beauty of this outstandingly picturesque Island. We flew to Christchurch and after an overnight stop, commenced our tour with a drive to Lake Tekapo and the Residence complex situated in beautiful countryside, a 3 minute walk from the Lake itself. As we entered the security gated drive I knew that this was going to be something special, however nothing could have prepared us for the stunning luxury that was to be our home. The property was a delight to see from the outside, however once inside, the front door, the impact of sheer elegance and luxury was simply overwhelming. Having stayed in many 5 star hotels all over the world countless times, I can state with total confidence that the selection of the Residence for our stay at Lake Tekapo was inspirational. The great pity was that it was only for 1 night since the accommodation standards were 5 star and more. The lounge with its log effect gas fire and 2 leather settees introduced us to the high standard to be enjoyed throughout the property, and the views from the panoramic patio doors across the rear of the lounge were equal to anything Austria could offer. The fully fitted kitchen allowed even the most complicated menu to be prepared, and the adjacent dining room ensured a cosy atmosphere whilst meals were being prepared. The upstairs area offered 3 bedrooms and a bathroom with Spa to die for. The fluffy towels and quality cosmetics added to the opulence and ensured that bathing became an event to look forward to, rather than simply a routine. The house was fitted with an integral garage with electric up and over door, offering secure garaging for the vehicle, and a washing machine and tumble drier fitted in the rear of the garage space provided on-site laundry facilities for fresh clothes to be prepared. This was exceptional by any standards, and offered a real home away from home, and we quickly settled down into our newly found luxurious surroundings, eager to explore the local area, including the village, which was within a 10 minute walk. The convenience offered by this location is absolutely ideal for exploring the wider region, and we would certainly recommend a stay of at least a week in order to maximise the pleasure and enjoyment. Margaret and Alan are the ideal hosts and worked hard to make us welcome on arrival. It is not often that you can discover such a superb standard of accommodation, and it is a testament to the success of this location that early bookings are advisable to ensure availability for your chosen dates. You will not be disappointed for a moment, and like us, you will want to return again and stay longer. This is the best find of 2009 without a doubt and I urge you to look at the web site for further details of this truly outstanding complex.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LANDOFSMILES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.7 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#11 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Lake Tekapo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Lake Tekapo

Property: Mantra Lake Tekapo
Address: 1 Beauchamp Place, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Lake Tekapo 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the rugged alpine heart of the South Island's Mackenzie Country, just a stone's throw from the shores of a shimmering turquoise lake, nestled amid snow capped mountains, Mantra Lake Tekapo offers the perfect haven for a weekend away or and extended stay. Mantra Lake Tekapo offers 28 spacious apartments each featuring three large bedrooms, two luxury bathrooms with heated floors, a spacious open plan living and dining area with a gas fireplace and French doors opening to a private courtyard. Cook up a meal in the fully appointed kitchen featuring granite bench tops and quality appliances. Stay warm and dry with you own private garage with internal access and full laundry. At Mantra Lake Tekapo you can choose to relax by the pool, spa and a paved BBQ relaxation area with an outdoor fireplace or enjoy a bottle of one of New Zealand's award-winning local wines on your apartment's private terrace. With world-class trout fishing, horse riding, scenic flights and two local ski fields all within easy reach there is plenty to see and do. Mantra Lake Tekapo is a perfect base from which to explore the unspoiled beauty of Lake Tekapo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Lake Tekapo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing