We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean room with unblocked view of Lake Tekapo”
Review of Three Rivers Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Three Rivers Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Lake Tekapo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Clean room with unblocked view of Lake Tekapo”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

My wife and I traveled to Lake Tekapo in Nov 2011. Stayed there for a night. Lake Tekapo is a small community of about 300 people (as I understand from Dennis). It has about two main points of attraction namely a small church plus the Mount John Observatory center (which is about <10km drive away from the town center). We spent about two weeks in the whole of South Island covering Kaikoura, driving through Hanmer Springs, the west coast, Queenstown and then here. I must say the lake view ranks right up there as among the nicest. If one is lucky you might be able to see the southern lights during winter period too.

Overall, we've had an enjoyable stay. Joanne and Dennis are also very hospitable people and shared with us quite a bit during breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YHTEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    31
    6
    7
    2
See reviews for
41
179
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Our third visit to Three Rivers Lodge, the first with new owners Joanne and Dennis. They have done a great job upgrading all the rooms. Coffee and Tea is now available. A comfy bed and spotlessly clean room , what more can you ask for. They didn't need to upgrade the Lake and mountain views as they remain fantastic. We unfortunately arrived during a heavy snow sorm (in October ?) Our car was soon snowed in, Dennis said not to worry we will dig it ot in the morning. He kindly drove me into town to get take away.In the morning we were dug out and after a great cooked breakfast by Joanne, ably assisted by snoopy (their dog) we were on our way again. A great B&B and great hosts. WE will definitely be back but not for the snow. Thanks again Dennis.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala lumpur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We absolutely love this place, tasteful deco with friendly owner. Stayed at the 2 bedroom apartment ( more like a house ) , wish we have stayed longer and will definitely stay here on our next visit:)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zway118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2011

You couldn't ask for anything better. It started with great service when booking our 3 nights in the 2 bedroom apartment and then the great service continued when we stayed. A lovely welcome from Joanne and immaculately presented accommodation. Well equipped and amazing views from the living area of the apartment. Lake Tekapo is a slice of heaven and three rivers lodge certainly doesn't disappoint.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2011

It is not easy to describe the whole emotions, feelings and images that a place like Lake Tekapo can inspire into you...on top of that, a night at this wonderful lodge can make you feel even more connected to the place and while lingering on the amazing lake's sun sets, you might be lucky enough to exchange a few tips on you trip or share life experiences with its wonderful hosts, Dennis and Joanne!
Thanks guys! we had an amazing time!
Alessandra

Room Tip: Go for the Lake view B&B room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scupi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Three Rivers Lodge, beautiful location, fantastic views across the lake and snow capped mountains, bed very comfortable, the hot cooked breakfast included in price was yummy. Owners were very friendly, helpful and informative. This was the last stay on our trip to NZ and what a way to end our holiday, a nice bit of luxury, felt thoroughly spoilt. To top of our experience, there was light fall of snow to greet us when we woke the next morning. This was the first time I had see snow fall, a big thank you for sending the snow for me. Would love to stay there again. Highly recommend

Room Tip: all rooms have the same fantastic view across the lake and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaUndecided
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2011

If you want a great place to stay and visit, go to Tekapo in NZ and stay at Three Rivers Lodge with Joanne and Dennis Bradley. The accomodation and the welcome is great. So central to Tekapo and great views accross the Lake to the Southern Alps. No hesitation in recomending Three Rivers Lodge

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaggard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
1.0 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,492 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#11 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Rivers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Rivers Lodge

Property: Three Rivers Lodge
Address: 2 Lochinver Ave, Lake Tekapo 7999, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Rivers Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Rivers Lodge is modern, purpose built accommodation located 1.5km or a 2 minute drive from Tekapo village. Floor-to-ceiling windows provide picturesque views of the lake and surrounding mountains with no interruptions as the land between the Lodge and the lake is all reserve land. Guest rooms offer comfortable beds and en-suite bathrooms. All rooms are modern with heat pumps (air conditioning hot and cold), heated floors, LCD flat screen TVs, Sky TV including sports channels and free wireless internet. A BBQ is available for your use in summer. B&B rooms have magnificent uninterrupted views and either a super king, king or king single beds available. Continental or full cooked breakfast for 2 is included. The 2 bedroom self-contained apartment, including a washing machine and DVD player has partial views of the lake and surrounding mountains from the open plan living and kitchen area. Discounts are available if you stay more than 1 night. Your hosts Dennis and Joanne Bradley look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Three Rivers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Hotel Lake Tekapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing