We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, great hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Three Rivers Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Three Rivers Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Lake Tekapo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place, great hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

We stayed at Three Rivers about 3 weeks after the new owners took it over. Great bed and breakfast; very new, modern, well thought out design and craftsmanship. Extremely comfortable. Based on the old reviews I read, the new owners have added amonities like the ability to make coffee and tea in the room. Nice spread for breakfast in the AM.I think the house and out building are no more than three years old.
Very generous and considerate hosts, I think they are trying to rebuild the business and making a big effort to make up for the ex owner's lack of hospitality.
I give it 4.9 stars

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank douglockyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    31
    6
    7
    2
See reviews for
41
179
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at Three Rivers Lodge and really enjoyed it. Hosts are very welcoming, helpful and accomodating as well as discreet so you have your privacy. Location is great with fantastic views on the lake, rooms are spotless and very comfy and the breakfast is delicious with homemade bread and cinamon pastries. Will recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodriguette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

This was undoubtedly the best place that we stayed in our entire NZ trip! Very comfortable accommodation with stunning views of Lake Tekapo. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Wish, we could have spent a day more here.. Highly recommended to travelers going to Lake Tekapo

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suhas_kashyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castricum, The Netherlands
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

We arrived late the first evening and got us a warm welcome from the host.
The rooms are modern, spotless and comfortable!
The owner, who just started this year wants to do anything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Breakfast is overwhelming and price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights and expected a larger venue with facilities. The cost was double what it should have been - we were given a bottle of wine to compensate for our disappointment in the room which was little than an unsuite bedroom - not even glasses to drink wine in. We were told that this was a B&B but breakfast was extra $20.00 for a continental breakfast - I don't think so!! and $30.00 for cooked. We paid $210.00 per night with-out facilities and right out of town - there was no pool/spa/cooking facilities. We were allowed to use the owners BBQ but the area needed some attention - no table and chairs etc - very unattractive area.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TamMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThreeRiversLodge, Owner at Three Rivers Lodge, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
This review relates to the previous owners. I am sorry for the experience you had at the time. The bed and breakfast rooms are still rooms with no cooking facilities although they do have a small fridge and tea and coffeee making facilities. There are always wine glasses in the room. The rates were also reviewed and since we purcased the rates have been reduced and are quoted including either a cooked or continetal breakfast for 2. The breakfast is not extra for the bed and breakfast rooms. The venue is the same and does not offer pools or spas etc, we are a small bouteque lodge offering either B&B or we do have an option for fully self contained apartment. We have updated all advertising since purchasing and certainly attempt to ensure we are honest in this advertising so that the accomodation will suit those who it appeals to on the website. Again I am sorry for your experience with the previous owners. Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2010

This is basically a series of ensuite bedrooms built around the owner's residence. All very new, decorated in ultra modern style and spotlessly clean. The shower was the best we found in NZ. However, no sign of the tea and coffee making facilities, except for a stylish kettle. I guess we could have asked if we were really bothered about it as the owner was friendly and helpful. We looked the location up on Google Earth beforehand, so realised that the location was part of a rather bare housing estate, but we were seduced by the prospect of a direct lake view which we did get, unlike the folks staying in the rooms behind us. A comfortable, pleasant short stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welltravelled63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2009

We stayed at the Three Rivers Lodge, a modern Bed and Breakfast at Lake Tekapo. Car parking was close to the room and a side door enabled easy loading and unloading. This door also provided private access to our room without entering the main residence making our room very private which is my preference.

The host was very knowledgeable about local activities and told me about some nice tracks to explore and the best place to buy a coffee (on top of Mt St.John with an amazing view) and get a nice pizza for dinner. It is a short stroll into the township and there are plenty of walks and mountain bike rides nearby. There are some mountain bike tracks in the forest to the right of my photo and plenty of rabbits to view as well!

Our room was the Tekapo Room which was a large room with ensuite bathroom complete with bath and shower facilities. I liked the skylight in the tiled bathroom enabling me to look at the night sky while in the bath. The shower was nice and powerful, and was of the adjustable removable type. The room had a large king bed and was very comfortable.

The room opened via double French doors onto a sunny terrace with beautiful lake views. We enjoyed sitting on the terrace outside the room looking at the view and in the evening at the amazing night sky. Lake Tekapo has several observatories on nearby Mt St.John and night tours are available. A large screen LCD TV was provided in the room and was connected via satellite for a good selection of channels and reception was very clear.

There was a generous desk for using the computer and broadband internet was provided at no extra charge which was great. A good selection of local tourist info was provided plus an AA guide for the South Island. Tea and coffee making facilities were also provided. We had a nice breakfast with the hosts who were very friendly.

Everything was clean and well maintained and we had an excellent stay. While in Tekapo we enjoyed a lake swim, mountain biking, star gazing and a dip in the hot pools. I would highly recommend the Three Rivers Lodge to friends and others.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachbuoynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
1.0 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#11 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Rivers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Rivers Lodge

Property: Three Rivers Lodge
Address: 2 Lochinver Ave, Lake Tekapo 7999, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Rivers Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Rivers Lodge is modern, purpose built accommodation located 1.5km or a 2 minute drive from Tekapo village. Floor-to-ceiling windows provide picturesque views of the lake and surrounding mountains with no interruptions as the land between the Lodge and the lake is all reserve land. Guest rooms offer comfortable beds and en-suite bathrooms. All rooms are modern with heat pumps (air conditioning hot and cold), heated floors, LCD flat screen TVs, Sky TV including sports channels and free wireless internet. A BBQ is available for your use in summer. B&B rooms have magnificent uninterrupted views and either a super king, king or king single beds available. Continental or full cooked breakfast for 2 is included. The 2 bedroom self-contained apartment, including a washing machine and DVD player has partial views of the lake and surrounding mountains from the open plan living and kitchen area. Discounts are available if you stay more than 1 night. Your hosts Dennis and Joanne Bradley look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Three Rivers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Hotel Lake Tekapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing