We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good meal”
Review of Kohan Restaurant

Kohan Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Akaroa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“good meal”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

great meal and good value for money, presented well and tasted good. food arrived quickly and the service was good. would book for dinner as it was busy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laurice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    307
    61
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
142 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Simply brilliant food and service.”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

What a treasure if a place. Very accommodating on New Year's Eve when we had no booking and the place was full. Our meal took no time at all to arrive but we didnt feel rushed at all. overall the food was delicious

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 23KSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Kohan was recommended to us by the manager of the cottage we stayed at and even though a Japanese restaurant wouldn't usually be our first choice I'm so glad we came here.

We arrived about 8pm two days after Christmas and it was very busy. However the hard working waiting staff found us a table, as they did for everyone else who came in, and we were soon trying to decide what to order. The menu had a great selection of sushi and hot food. Our waitress was very friendly and speedy, although the side dishes were delivered to our table a good 5 minutes before the mains which was a little annoying. When the rest of the food arrived it made up for it as it was absolutely delicious and we didn't leave a scrap! We ordered dessert as well and it was amazing. We both had the banana fritters which came with your choice of home made ice cream, a huge pile of candy floss and spun sugar. It could have come straight from masterchef and it tasted as good as it looked.

We hadnt paid much attention to the prices when ordering and we were pleasantly surprised when the bill only came to 80NZD. It is unlikely we will be in this area again to return to Kohan but I cannot recommend it enough if you are looking for dinner near Lake Tekapo.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fast service”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had dessert here. It was well presented and the service was friendly and fast. Will end here again next time we are in Lake Tekapo.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SamJohns J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Jap food in NZ”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The food in this place is super fresh and very "japanese". The food and setting matches with the beautiful surrounding of Lake Tekapo very much, peaceful, and charming. The restaurant has a wonderful view of the lake so try to get a seat next to the window. Good and friendly service. Pity that it is closed on Sunday evening or else I will pay a visit to enjoy the dinner there!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aliceyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kohan Restaurant also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Kohan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing