We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in the little town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kohan Restaurant

Kohan Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best food in the little town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Top quality japanese food at affordable prices. We had bento sets. Fresh sashimi from Mt Cook salmon farm.
Great service by the 100% japanese team.
Make a reservation to avoid disappointment.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JonandJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    303
    60
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

The staff here were amazing!! They were very attentive and able to create some food that wasn't on the menu for my children. They also assisted cleaning up after my son was sick, which they didn't not need to do. We went at night time, so weren't able to enjoy the view, which I'm sure would the place amazing. The food was really good and well priced. Definitely would love to go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissBooTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyttelton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
107 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“AMAZING FOOD AT VERY AFFORDABLE PRICES”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Dined at Kohan last evening, Monday 3rd September 2012. My partner and I started with a platter of salmon served five ways - truly delicious and beautifully presented and only $27. We then went on to share three other dishes: chicken, blue cod and rare beef, all cooked differently and perfectly. The service is five star and one feels that the staff really do enjoy looking after you. A few desserts on the menu too and with BYO wine only $5 a bottle for corkage, this place is just perfect. I've been to a few 'high end' hugely expensive Japanese restaurants in Christchurch in the last few months and Kohan beats them all hands down. Poor weather stopped us doing the star gazing tour at the observatory so we shall return to Lake Tekapo very soon, ensuring that we don't include a Monday as Kohan is closed then. This place is very very good and I can't speak highly enough of it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrizBee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“as good as it is”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

was quite cynical when everyone rated this restaurant as the best in l. tekapo ( if not in nz) but it was truly the freshest sashimi and the yummiest dessert. even the rice in the sushi roll is tasty ( and we eat rice alot). The most surprising bit was the cotton candy dressed beautifully and elegantly with creme brulle and the fig ice cream - a must try! during our 10 day trip to nz, this is the best and most memorable dining experience

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lil_peach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
107 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Yummmm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Truly delicious food for a great price. We went with our kids and between us had salmon teriyaki don, sushi, salmon 5 different ways, a salad and the obligatory miso soup. It was all fabulous and amazing value. We'd have paid double in the UK. Couldn't fault it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenzas73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kohan Restaurant also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Kohan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing