We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Preying on the Unaware” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jade Palace

Jade Palace
Ranked #12 of 14 Restaurants in Lake Tekapo
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Preying on the Unaware”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Like many people, I too did not read the reviews on TripAdvisor before going there. The food was absolutely horrendous - very salty and bland. Most of the dishes just contained excessive vegetables. The soup (can't remember the name), which costed around 20 dollars, contained a few pieces of carrots with minimal meat. Also, the quantity is inadequate. Twelve of us dined that day but the prawn dish only contained 8 prawns which they expected us to share. All in all, it was probably the worst Chinese food I've ever had and it was way overpriced.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    13
    20
    19
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't Go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Very strange place, don't be fooled by the exterior like we were. We too are sorry we didn't check reviews first. Our first red flag should have been the lack of service by the only 3 male staff working here. Didn't even ask if we wanted drinks. We almost walked out we waited so long, we should have. Huge restaurant virtually empty, no music, silent, should have been tip #2. Food seemed ok although one of the children spent the next day vomiting! Do not go to this restaurant.

Helpful?
2 Thank OpalGirl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
“good, if you know what to order and how to deal with the waiters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

I read the reviews before going to this restaurant although it's ranked last on TripAdvisor because only recent reviews were all bad, mostly about the services. We went in a little after 6 pm, no one greeted us, and we just approached the counter to ask to be seated. The waiter wanted to seat us next to another table of 5 although there were plenty other choices. So we just asked to be seated farther from the other table and the waiter was OK with it. We ordered four dishes: "Ma Po Tofu", "Lamb Stew", "Water Boiling Beef", and "Fish Fillet with Vegetables". They were very tasty with good portions that five of us could not finish. The leftover we took away was enough to be our lunch tomorrow. If you were willing to overlook the service including their manners and attitude and courageous enough to try their chef's specialties, you would be satisfied and certainly get your money's worth!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LHWU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst Chinese food I've ever had :(”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately I didn't check trip advisor before dining here. Service was very poor, although I can usually let that slide due to cultural differences. Granted we weren't adventurous with our takeaway choices (chicken w veges, sweet n sour pork) but they were bland as bland can be. I would have actually liked some MSG in there for some flavor haha! On the upside, the chicken dish was nice bland finger food for our toddler.... :( Don't waste your money here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CorinaHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dirty!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

What a disgusting lazy place. Food every where tables uncleared. Service was terrible. Lots of things sold out. If you want asian dining then go to kohan.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank podgebuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jade Palace also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Jade Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing