We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moonlight Guest House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
The Godley Hotel(Lake Tekapo)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aorangi Motel(Fairlie)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveler rating
65
22
5
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
22
5
3
1
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 96 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at Moonlight for three nights while snowboarding Mount Dobson and Roundhill. The owners were out of town and Sue who was looking after the business while they were away was fantastic and made us feel at home and left us to our own devices yet she was very attentive when we required anything be it knowledge of the local area or milk for tea and coffee making. The stay was pleasant and I would definitely stay again. We also met one of the dogs shown in the photos when it visited the property's backyard in the morning and it was very placid and friendly.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Luna room and it was great with the added lounge.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MitchClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyLakeTekapo, Manager at Moonlight Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thanks Mitchel - we aim to please!! You were as quiet as churchmice - but I'm so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. Best regards, Sue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Really nice B & B. We arrived and noticed that we booked for the wrong night. The owners were out of town, but Sue (their friend) was really accommodating and we were able to stay anyhow. She made us feel so at home, despite the 3 meters of snow on the ground. We thoroughly enjoyed the accommodations, and Sue's dogs. The breakfast was outstanding especially the home cooked bread. Sue made us some sandwiches to take with us too! The B&B is only minutes to the lake and really quite.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wineman1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyLakeTekapo, Manager at Moonlight Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Hi there! Thanks for the review - you managed to arrive in Tekapo during the biggest snowfall in about 70 years! Glad you enjoyed your stay despite the snowy conditions, it was a pleasure to meet you and the dogs always love our dog friendly guests! All the best, Sue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The owners were away and Sue was the one who received me and my family. She was a great host and brought us out for a walk with the dogs in the morning.

Moonlight B&B is a great place to stay in Lake Tekapo, being only minutes away from the lake itself. The breakfast served was awesome, especially the croissants and yoghurt. A plus if u love dogs! (Louis, Minnie & Dante)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTekapoTracey, Manager at Moonlight Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thanks so much Simon. It was great to meet you, Sarah, Claire and Sam and the dogs enjoyed their walk with you all. Glad you enjoyed your stay at Moonlight. Cheers Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I wish i could have stayed longer.. but everytime i go to Tekapo, with its goregous lake, beautiful church, and fabulous air, i only stay a night.. but it was a great one.

Friendly host and remember we had a great discussion about Zumba and fitness which is a great thing to do in Lake Tekapo.. I was thinking about investing there too and was just a great conversation..

Had a comfy room, with great breakfast in the morning and just great hospitality, which of course is common in New Zealand. I promised to write a review and can't believe i waited till now.. but just awesome again.. Will come back when i visit! And i will because i love the ski/snowboard areas nearby!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYC973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTekapoTracey, Owner at Moonlight Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thanks for the great review and yes, I remember our conversation about Zumba lol! Hope to see you again in Lake Tekapo! All the best, Tracey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

As 2 couples we booked the Luna & Stella Combo rooms at the Moonlight B&B as a stopover between Christchurch & Queenstown and also for the return journey.
We were greeted by Tracey on arrival who showed us to our fantastic accommodation. The toilet and bathroom were clean and bright. The other side of a glass sliding door were two bedrooms, both lockable. We had the pleasure of staying in both rooms. The first was the bigger of the two rooms, a huge comfy bed and plenty of storage. The second was smaller, with a double bed and some storage.
The lounge area between the rooms had a dinner table, sofa, drink making facilities, breakfast facilities, an iPod dock and patio doors onto the pretty and well-kept garden.
We opted for the breakfast and it was great. Warm bread, croissants, fruit salad, yogurt, tea/coffee, fresh fruit juice & a boiled egg.
We weren’t rushed to leave at 10:00am (official check-out time) and in fact spent time talking with Tracey before continuing our journey.
The Moonlight B&B has already been recommended to our friends as the place to stay in Tekapo. Value for money, a pleasant host and only a short (5min) stroll to the lake. We will be back to Tekapo in the future and we will be booking the Moonlight B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinA_KateW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyLakeTekapo, Owner at Moonlight Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Wow, thanks for the awesome review! It was great to meet you all - I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, such lovely guests! All the best, Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews