We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moonlight the best b+b I have stayed at in a long time”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moonlight Guest House
Ranked #6 of 10 Lake Tekapo B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Moonlight the best b+b I have stayed at in a long time”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

When we arrived at Moonlight we were warmly greeted by Tracy who was very helpful and advised us of good places to visit nearby and which places were good to eat at, it was quiet and the beds were very comfortable and the rooms were very clean, breakfast was very good with a good range of choice. Will definitely be going back to Moonlight again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lollie-24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyLakeTekapo, Owner at Moonlight Guest House, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hi guys, it was great to meet you, look forward to seeing you again! Thanks for the fantastic review :o) Cheers, Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    22
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
62
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great B&B for visiting Lake Tekapo - it's light blue colour is amazing!. Spacious super kingsize bedded room ('Sol'), large bathroom and breakfast bar with fridge. Tea/coffee facilities including ground coffee. External terrace. Positioned in quiet residential area, a short walk down pathway to village. Spent 2 nights on tour of South Island. Met by delightful Tracey who explained all there was to know in and about Lake Tekapo, including recommendations for dinners - 'Mackenzies' & 'Reflections' chosen and enjoyed by ourselves. Make sure you book and try to get tables, in latter, overlooking lake - spectacular in evening light. Extensive continental breakfast delivered to room, at time to suit us, by Tracey, who even early on a morning, was always full of energy - a great start to our day. If feeling energetic after breakfast, take the walk/climb up Mount John (50 mins up, 35 mins down). 360 degree view of mountain ranges around. Well worth the effort but you might need a cuppa from Observatory Cafe at top though!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTekapoTracey, Owner at Moonlight Guest House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hi Keith, thank you for a great review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope you had a fantastic time in NZ, see you again sometime! Cheers, Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Travelled around New zealand for 10 days and this was the best accomodation that we have stayed in. Not only is it spacious and clean, the room also feels very cosy. The breakfast was good too with warm bread and crossiants together with fruits and yogurt :)

In addition, we really appreciate the heaters in the bathroom especially at night when it gets chilly!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lowpyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTekapoTracey, Owner at Moonlight Guest House, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Hi,
Thanks so much for the review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, even though the weather was a bit cold! Cheers, Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at Moonlight for 2 wonderful nights! The rooms are large and comfortable and Tracey offered lots of advice of where to eat and visit. We had a wonderful stay dispite the weather being a bit horrid. Cannot wait to go stay again!
Thanks Tracey!! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessieMarie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyLakeTekapo, Owner at Moonlight Guest House, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hi Jesse & Boze
It was great to have you stay with us, look forward to seeing you again! Thank you for the lovely review, you were lovely guests! :o) Best, Tracey & Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I've stayed at Moonlight B&B several times now, both for business and pleasure in the area and every time I have been given the same excellent reception by Tracey & Wolfgang, who are super hosts.
The rooms are spacious, always clean, have all you need and easily heated or cooled, depending on the time of year. And as for the breakfast...YUMMO...I love staying for this alone!
Thank you again for your fantastic welcome, service and accommodation.
Also great knowledge about local activities - so a very informative B&B too.

Room Tip: I have stayed in the Sol, Luna and Stella rooms, all of which served the purpose I was there for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honest2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Moonlight B&B on our first night in New Zealand. Having travelled from Sydney via Christchurch we received a very hearty welcome given by Tracey. We ventured off to the village and explored the lake front nearby. The night sky was amazing, but as the local tour operators do not wish to have children under 8, we missed out on the real night sky around midnight on Mnt John. However, there are many spots around the lake offering wonderful views. Our first night in the B&B was wonderful, and the breakfast superb. A great place to start our holiday.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTekapoTracey, Owner at Moonlight Guest House, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thanks, it was a pleasure having you to stay. All the best for a great holiday! Tracey & Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Lake Tekapo is a beautiful midway stop between Christchurch & Queenstown. The first thing that strikes you is the colour of the lake...it keeps changing almost everyday! The day we arrived it was a stunning teal...absolutely beautiful.

Lake Tekapo is a small town with a lot of character. And character is what we found at Moonlight B&B. Tracey is such a warm person and she put us at ease instantly. The SOL room we stayed was very comfortable and cosy, though it didn't have a lake view. Wifi worked well too.

The best part was the breakfast...it was heavenly. Freshly baked bread & croissants with yummy fruit preserves, fresh muesli and coffee...great way to start the day.

Thanks for a lovely stay, Tracey. We whole-heartedly recommend Moonlight B&B.

Room Tip: We loved the SOL room...it was spacious, clean and had an independent entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nirmesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTekapoTracey, Owner at Moonlight Guest House, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hi Guys, thank you for your review! You were both good fun and a pleasure to host! Hope the holiday went well! Cheers Tracey & Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.5 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,836 reviews
0.6 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tekapo Heights
Tekapo Heights
#3 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
115 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marie Therese Bed & Breakfast
Marie Therese Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonlight Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Guest House

Property: Moonlight Guest House
Address: 25 Murray Place, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonlight Guest Accommodation is a holiday retreat offering guests a relaxed atmosphere in a peaceful setting just a few minutes stroll to stunning Lake Tekapo and cafes, shops and restaurants. Our guest rooms are located in separate areas of the house, offering total privacy from your hosts and other guests. Two spacious kingsize rooms have en suite/private bathrooms and guest lounges. We offer FREE parking and WIFI. Tea and coffee are provided in the rooms. Please note we do not offer breakast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing