We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accomodation for our stay in New Zealand”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moonlight Guest House
Ranked #7 of 10 Lake Tekapo B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Travelled around New zealand for 10 days and this was the best accomodation that we have stayed in. Not only is it spacious and clean, the room also feels very cosy. The breakfast was good too with warm bread and crossiants together with fruits and yogurt :)

In addition, we really appreciate the heaters in the bathroom especially at night when it gets chilly!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lowpyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTekapoTracey, Owner at Moonlight Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Hi,
Thanks so much for the review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, even though the weather was a bit cold! Cheers, Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 96 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at Moonlight for 2 wonderful nights! The rooms are large and comfortable and Tracey offered lots of advice of where to eat and visit. We had a wonderful stay dispite the weather being a bit horrid. Cannot wait to go stay again!
Thanks Tracey!! :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessieMarie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceyLakeTekapo, Owner at Moonlight Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Hi Jesse & Boze
It was great to have you stay with us, look forward to seeing you again! Thank you for the lovely review, you were lovely guests! :o) Best, Tracey & Wolfgang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I've stayed at Moonlight B&B several times now, both for business and pleasure in the area and every time I have been given the same excellent reception by Tracey & Wolfgang, who are super hosts.
The rooms are spacious, always clean, have all you need and easily heated or cooled, depending on the time of year. And as for the breakfast...YUMMO...I love staying for this alone!
Thank you again for your fantastic welcome, service and accommodation.
Also great knowledge about local activities - so a very informative B&B too.

Room Tip: I have stayed in the Sol, Luna and Stella rooms, all of which served the purpose I was there for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honest2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at the Moonlight B&B on our first night in New Zealand. Having travelled from Sydney via Christchurch we received a very hearty welcome given by Tracey. We ventured off to the village and explored the lake front nearby. The night sky was amazing, but as the local tour operators do not wish to have children under 8, we missed out on the real night sky around midnight on Mnt John. However, there are many spots around the lake offering wonderful views. Our first night in the B&B was wonderful, and the breakfast superb. A great place to start our holiday.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Chard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTekapoTracey, Owner at Moonlight Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thanks, it was a pleasure having you to stay. All the best for a great holiday! Tracey & Wolfgang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Lake Tekapo is a beautiful midway stop between Christchurch & Queenstown. The first thing that strikes you is the colour of the lake...it keeps changing almost everyday! The day we arrived it was a stunning teal...absolutely beautiful.

Lake Tekapo is a small town with a lot of character. And character is what we found at Moonlight B&B. Tracey is such a warm person and she put us at ease instantly. The SOL room we stayed was very comfortable and cosy, though it didn't have a lake view. Wifi worked well too.

The best part was the breakfast...it was heavenly. Freshly baked bread & croissants with yummy fruit preserves, fresh muesli and coffee...great way to start the day.

Thanks for a lovely stay, Tracey. We whole-heartedly recommend Moonlight B&B.

Room Tip: We loved the SOL room...it was spacious, clean and had an independent entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nirmesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTekapoTracey, Owner at Moonlight Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Hi Guys, thank you for your review! You were both good fun and a pleasure to host! Hope the holiday went well! Cheers Tracey & Wolfgang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Arrived in Lake Tekapo late in the afternoon, just in time to head out for dinner and a visit to the hot springs. As the weather had been fairly inclement for the majority of our travels through the South Island, we decided to take off early in the morning to take advantage of the sunshine with some walks to take in the magnificent scenery.

Unfortunately we didn't get to spend much time in our room, but it was clean, spacious and well equipped with everything we needed. Tracey was extremely friendly and helpful in our brief conversation, providing recommendations of where to (and where not to!) eat in town.

Highly recommend.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Sammy70Six
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeTekapoTracey, Owner at Moonlight Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Moonlight and thanks for a great review! All the best, Tracey & Wolfgang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed on two occasions in Oct & Nov 2012 - a total of 4 nights in the Sol Room.
Tracey (and Wolfgang) were great hosts. The room was lovely, the breakfasts were delicious and filling, the chats we had and playing with the dogs on the grass was wonderful.
It was a great base for exploring Tekapo and the Mackenzie Region, and I went to Mt Cook for a week in between.
It was easy just to stroll down to the townsite of Tekapo for dinner.
I will definitely return when in NZ again in 12 months.

Room Tip: The Sol Room was exactly as pictured on the website - very spacious, warm, and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.6 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3,314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
710 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 18 in Lake Tekapo
441 reviews
0.6 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tekapo Heights
Tekapo Heights
#3 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonlight Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Guest House

Address: 25 Murray Place, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: $130 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonlight Guest Accommodation is a holiday retreat offering guests a relaxed atmosphere in a peaceful setting just a few minutes stroll to stunning Lake Tekapo and cafes, shops and restaurants. Our guest rooms are located in separate areas of the house, offering total privacy from your hosts and other guests. Two spacious kingsize rooms have en suite/private bathrooms and guest lounges. We offer FREE parking and WIFI. Tea and coffee are provided in the rooms. Please note we do not offer breakast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing