We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get the units with the unblocked views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Get the units with the unblocked views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2009

I stayed here on my way from Christchurch (approximately 2.5 hour drive) to Queenstown (approximately 3 hour drive) and because Lake Tekapo is reputed to have wonderful star-filled night skies.
This motel is well located in town (actually, it is a very small town) just behind a row of buildings with cafes, restaurants and a convenience store. It also has an unblocked view of the lake. The only thing between the lake and the motel is a field.
Unfortunatately many units face the car park squarely, the one we were allocated being one of them. Thus, although one does have a view of the lake sideways, sitting on the balcony while cars and people went through the parking area was not extremely pleasant. It was fortunate that we had chosen a 2nd floor unit as it would have been worse on the ground floor with the car park right at one's window level. If possible, one should try to get the corner room with the unblocked lake view and much more privacy.
The unit itself was spotlessly clean. We had one master bedroom and there was another room which the children shared that had pull out beds and their own television set. They were happy with that.
There is a dining table and a small kitchenette with the usual amenities where we cooked our pasta dinner.
From the motel it is a 10 minute drive up to Mt John where one can visit the Observatory. There is a small cafe and souvenior shop and views of the surrounding mountain ranges including Mt Cook as well as the town itself.
We played golf at the Mackenzie Golf Club. Although it had very nice views it is not well maintained as it is looked after by volunteers.
The advantage of staying at this motel is that we could hop down to the Church of the Good Shepherd and lake front later in the evening avoiding the hordes of visitors.
Unfortunately despite staying up late and popping out to look for stars almost every hour, I didn't see any that night.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank See-to-believe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    251
    55
    6
    8
See reviews for
209
319
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2009

Expecting the beauty that would await us at Lake Tekapo, our group of 6 booked 2 rooms with excellent views of the lake and we were not disappointed. This resort is sited right in the middle of the town centre and a stone's throw away from the lake. The rooms were cosy and well maintained. Though the furnishing was not very modern, we would go back because of the good location and views.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo_and_Jem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2009

Stayed here for two nights at the upper floor, gorgeous view!!Facing the lake tekapo.
Plenty of activities to do, stargazing & drinking coffee at mt john, trekking at mt cook etc. Resort has all the utilities you need except kitchenette. supermarket is just 2mins walk away, same for tourist shops,small eateries, stargazing (earth and sky) office. 5mins walk to church of the good shepherd. Would love to come back again next year :)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancingkueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2009

Lake Tekapo is not a hotbed of activity-- and that's Good! The resort is located in the middle of town and is a bit hard to find-- the entry is between two buildings, so you have to thread your way there. Once you are there, though, you find a lovely inn facing the lake! Not every room has a super view (the hotel is shaped like an L), but most look out over one of the bluest lakes I've ever seen. We were in the downstairs Executive Family Spa unit (downstairs on the end of the building) and had a 180 degree view of the entire lake. It was crystal clear the first day we were there, but cloudy on the second, but could have sat there and watched the lake for hours.
On the down side-- there isn't much to do after dark in Tekapo-- it's a quiet town, no night clubs, although the restaurants are good. We did drive up to The Hermitage at Mt. Cook National Park, a very elegant and expensive hotel, as a side trip, but that was the highlight of the evening! Would I go there again? YES!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnHMapleValley_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2009

Just a one night stopover en route to Christchurch. Family apartment was spacious, clean and well equipped. Parking was a bit tight and the outside of the motel looked ready for some renovation.
A simple motel but provided everything we needed and would recommend.
A company called Air Safaris are based nearby and do an excellent glacier flight, well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aus
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

Stayed here in September 2009, was amazing. Beautiful outlook onto lake, so convienent, takes seconds to get to shops/restaurants. Even with all of this, very quiet and relaxed. Would definatly recommend staying here, and will be back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank looAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

If you get a room on the upper floor facing the lake then you are in luck - the view is stunning. The rooms are a little dated but seriously you shouldn't be spending the time indoors.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qld-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.2 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.7 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#11 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tekapo Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Village Motel

Property: Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Address: State Highway 8 | Village Centre, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand (Formerly Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tekapo Village Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lake Tekapo Village Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Scenic Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Lake Tekapo Scenic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing