We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect honeymoon place!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“perfect honeymoon place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

i had gone to NZ for my honeymoon in feb 2014. lake tekapo was one of my destined place. we had stayed in this hotel. what a beautiful place this was! perfect location. we had taken a room facing the lake on the 1st floor. the rooms were clean and nice. it had a balcony which was a perfect place to sleep at night gazing the dark sky full of stars. day view was perfect with magnificent turquoise blue waters and night view was brightly star lighted sky! the staff just had a couple looking after the hotel but they were friendly. they guided us as to where to go and what to do.

Room Tip: choose a room with the lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vidhita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    251
    55
    6
    8
See reviews for
209
319
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

This place had great service giving us an amazing recommendation to lunch at the Mt Bruce cafe-a place we would have never visited otherwise and a highlight of our South Island trip. The room was very clean, good water pressure and a comfortable bed. The views from room are absolutely stunning and the motel is situated right in the heart of Tekapo. Would love to stay here again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrewgifkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
288 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

If you get a room facing the lake on the first floor you will have a stunning view of the lake. The rooms were compact and very clean. The bed was a little uncomfortable and we were in a room by the stairs at the end of the lodge which meant it was quite noisy when people went up and down the stairs. However we really enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Avoid being by the stairs as they can be noisy at times
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exigeken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Very nice first floor room with fabulour view. Only disadvantage was had to carry suitcases up stairs but it was worth it. Comfy bed and lovely and quiet so slept well. Ground floor appartments had bath as well as shower and slightly bigger room as accessed through patio doors. Balcony was fantastic and could leave window open all night to enjoy clear air and peaceful surrounds.

Room Tip: Lake view on first floor gives security
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RossR696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

This accommodation is way overpriced for the units offered....the view is spectacular, and that is what you are paying for.

Is it a motel? Is it a hotel? We thought it was a motel but our unit had no sink. There was a plastic bucket so we can only assume you are meant to fill the bucket from the bathroom, take it out to the bench and do your dishes there. Or maybe you should do your dishes in the bathroom? There was a microwave but no hob. No chairs - you had to sit on the bed. No table, other than a coffee table.

As another reviewer has said the owners aren't worried because the place is always full.

Way overpriced for the quality of the accommodation, you really are paying for the view.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiWanderlust1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don Y, Owner at Lake Tekapo Village Motel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Lake Tekapo.
I regret that your studio unit was not what you expected. The description on our website states tea-making facilities and refrigerator, and the images show the unit’s facilities and furnishings. We will review our description to assist with room selection, as we also have family units with kitchenettes. We would be happy to consider any suggestions you may have to improve this. As most of our guests stay for one night only and our staff wash dishes during a room service for the occasional 2 night stay, most guests find our facilities satisfactory. I hope you enjoyed the excellent restaurant and café options which our central location gives us easy walking access to.
The cost of our rooms is very competitive in Lake Tekapo, and other very busy tourist locations with high guest turnover, and our rates are clearly shown or stated during the booking process. I am always concerned if guests are not happy with their stay, and regard dis-satisfaction as a personal failure on my part. We will try to describe our facilities more clearly.
I hope you otherwise enjoyed your visit to Lake Tekapo, and hope we can host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Just returned from Scenic Resort and found the accommodation to be more than i expected. We stayed in Apartment 4 and the view was stunning. (if you look at the professional picture advertising the resort it is bottom corner apartment.) There is free guest parking available right outside the room and the apartment had everything that we needed for our stay. Kitchen area (with fridge, hob, microwave, utensils etc), bathroom and two bedrooms - with very comfy beds. (A bit strange to find the TV in the 2 single bedroom - it would have been better in the living area!! But this didn't bother us as we were too busy looking at the stunning views!) Very helpful staff, and apartments within walking distance of numerous restaurants. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Apartment 4 - best views of the lake, mountains and church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJonesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIngapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

The room is small and very basic but the view made up for it all!!! And the price is very reasonable too. We stayed in winter, so the balcony is always wet and it has to be closed all the time and we could not get out sit on the balcony as much because it is too cold, but at other times I imagine it would be great. It is still great though, just the balcony not too usable in winter. The host is friendly. We have utensils in our room so we can use that. There are many restaurants and shops just behind the resort. It is that convenient. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.2 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,433 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.7 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#11 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tekapo Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Village Motel

Property: Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Address: State Highway 8 | Village Centre, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand (Formerly Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tekapo Village Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lake Tekapo Village Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Scenic Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Lake Tekapo Scenic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing