We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accommodation - Great Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Accommodation - Great Views”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Only had one night here, but had a lovely room with balcony offering extensive views along the Lake from Mount John to the Church of the Good Shepherd. Friendly check-in and beautifully clean. All the restaurants, shops, etc, are within 5/10 minutes walk. The only thing I found a little misleading was the name: "Scenic Resort", which conjured up pictures of a more isolated location - this accommodation is conveniently situated in the middle of the town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_n_Fair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    256
    56
    6
    8
See reviews for
213
327
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night in the deluxe room facing the lake. Reception lady is very friendly and helpful. The room is clean and the balcony has sitting area for us to enjoy. The only disappointment is poor sound proof room we have. Internet is restricted to 50 mb complimentary. It is centrally located.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chiachiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

The resort is located by the Tekapo lake and many shops are surrounded..The serenity of the lake captured us.The room is clean and the kitchen is well equipped with utensils and cutlery..The highlight of the resort is the beautiful Tekapo lake.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mavispanglily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

First of all, the kitchens were filthy. They were only cleaned once a day and it shows. I would have to wash other people's dirty dishes to be able to cook. Reception was not the friendliest. At 10am you must check out and leave the facilities. You cannot sit in the lounge and wait for your bus or even use the toilet. There is no free internet and the internet they offer is extremely expensive for just a few MB. Although it is only a 1 minute walk from the intercity bus stop, most of the hostels are as well. I was eating breakfast at 10:05 in the lounge and was literally kicked out of the hostel. I had checked out but I had my bags with me. I have never been treated so badly as a paying customer. I wasn't even asked if I enjoyed my stay. Worst hostel experience in NZ and I've been traveling for 10 months.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CookieMonster567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolllongong
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Had been to Tekapo before and knew to stay somewhere Lake front - this resort is ideal as it is small and comfortable right on the lake front. Very quiet and a perfect stay if, as we were, you are driving down from Christchurch toward Wanaka/Queenstown. Right beside all the shops/garage etc for a stop over and would highly recommend staying

Room Tip: Second (top) floor facing the lake is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevWolllongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on our way to Queenstown. Check in was good, friendly and really quick. Booked an upstairs unit with balcony. The view is just amazing, it's sooo beautiful.
The location is right in the middle of everything, near from the bakery and restaurants for just 3 minutes walk.
The room itself was not new but it nicely refurbished and of course immaculately clean. Everything is just perfect. The bed was comfortable and warm. There's also microwave and plate and so on so it just great if you want to make easy food.
Needless to say this place is just amazing and definitely would come back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Upstairs room so you get the best lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gimmiegimmies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed for 1 night in an upstairs unit with balcony. Check-in was friendly and efficient and when I stepped into my room the fantastic lake view struck me with awe. True luxury in my opinion. The room was not new but nicely refurbished. Everything was spotlessly clean and the bed comfortable. The location very convinient at the lake although Lake Tekapo is a small place. Many cafes and restaurants within a few minutes walk and a supermarket too. Despite this the room was quiet at night. 50 MB Wi-Fi was included, but I bought an additional 100 MB for $2. At check-out the lady in the reception wanted $5 for 250 MB and didn't seem to believe me when I tried to explain I hadn't bought that much. An honest mistake, I'm sure, but it marred an otherwise pleasant stay. Nevertheless, I can certainly recommend this place and would probably choose it myself for another stay if I'm lucky enough to have the chance to visit NZ again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJSA73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.2 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,841 reviews
0.8 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#12 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tekapo Heights
Tekapo Heights
#3 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
YHA Lake Tekapo
YHA Lake Tekapo
#4 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tekapo Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Village Motel

Property: Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Address: State Highway 8 | Village Centre, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand (Formerly Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tekapo Village Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Lake Tekapo Village Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Scenic Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Lake Tekapo Scenic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing