We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent View, Superb Location, Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magnificent View, Superb Location, Great Value”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I stayed here with my husband and our two young children, a 3 years old and a 7 months old in an Upstairs Studio for two nights. The Queen bed and Sofa bed are comfy enough for all of us. For $165 a night, it is a steal with the magnificent view of the lake and the beautiful old church. The Studio is immaculately clean with complimentary toiletries and the daily room service is a great bonus. I find the complimentary WIFI very speedy and I could get about 2 hours doing my emails out of it, I'm happy with that. We had dinners on both nights at the Japanese restaurant, Kohan, which is about 5 minutes walk from the accommodation and the food were great, but we had to book in advance as Lake Tekapo were packed with tourists when we were there, so most good restaurants were filling up fast. The Hot Springs is only a 5 minutes drive near the Backpacker Hostel end. We were there for the Trippo giant water slide and my daughter didn't want to leave.
We would love to stay there again in the future as everything is conveniently located nearby and the view is priceless. Thanks to Don and Catherine.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CelineAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    253
    55
    6
    8
See reviews for
210
321
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Had our privilege to stay here with a lake front view, Lake Tekapo is my most favorite place and anything here would get a bonus score.

The accommodation here is comfortable, right in front of the lake, so location wise this would be the best to go for. It's a bit crowed with all the rooms built around each other, but I suppose being such a hot spot, this is what it has to be.

Perfect spot for a holiday stay, I would rate 4 stars for the accommodation, but like I said, I would add a bonus score for this magical lake Tekapo

Room Tip: Get a lake view room on the top floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryba9vg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We booked a room with a view of the lake and we had a lovely balcony right in front of the lake with a view of the little church too. We got a take away pizza and a bottle of wine and sat on the balcony watching the sun go down. Perfect after a long journey!
The room was very comfortable with all necessary equipment.
We enjoyed our stay and really the position of this hotel is spectacular.

Room Tip: Book a room with a lake view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hew751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Lake Tekapo is very popular so we felt that the price was reasonable. The view of the lake from your room is worth it alone. We found the room to be spacious and very clean and the bed very comfortable. The complimentary wifi limit of 50 mb is pretty low compared to the 7 other comparable hotels/motor lodges that we stayed at throughout the South Island (the average is 200 mb). But you can always pay a dollar or two for more wifi and 50 mb is more than enough for emailing. Location is right in heart of the very small Tekapo village center.

Service is good - we were only there one night and it seemed that we caught our hosts at a busy time, but they were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleys84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night en-route to Queenstown from Christchurch. We were thrilled with the room we had. It was just a downstairs studio (no. 12 I think) but the room had marvellous views over the lake. The room itself was spacious, clean, well-furnished and comfortable. We had a great night's sleep in the bed. Was good to be able to use crockery and cutlery to have breakfast to save on costs. Many places do not provide this so you have to eat out (or eat cereal out of a mug!).

The resort has great views of the lake whilst being close to everything. It is right in the heart of the Lake Tekapo village.

Will definitely stay here again and for longer next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim-Andrew04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Two Australian families stayed here. One in upstairs apartment, one down. Views from both to lake were great. Rooms were very comfortable, even for a family of five (with 3 teenagers). Hosts very friendly. Wish we had of had 2 nights in Lake Tekapo plenty to see and do.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank OpalGirl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Travelled with my spouse and 7 year old. Stayed for a night in Dec 2013 in an Upstairs Studio with 1 Queen and 1 Sofa bed. Host was friendly and showed us to our room. She gave us the corner room as per our request for a quiet room. At least some owners bother to read the customer's request. There are several staircases serving the rooms upstairs, so it is unlikely that you will be disturbed. Lake view from the room is breathtaking! The view alone is worth a "Very Good" rating! However, room, furniture and equipment look tired and are in need of an upgrade. Resort is centrally located and near everything that you will need. The wind outside was very strong the night we stayed, and it kept us awake for large parts, but of course, no fault of the resort. Overall, enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs unit for breathtaking lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ynwa17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don Y, Owner at Lake Tekapo Village Motel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us, and taking the time to review your experience.
I am pleased you enjoyed your views, and appreciated the efforts we make to satisfy our guests requests if possible.
I was a little surprised at your observation that our room and furniture needed upgrading. In June and September 2013, we refurbished all our studio units, replacing carpet and all joinery, repainted, and have just recently replaced bed covers. Beds, couches and drapes have been replaced within the last 2-4 years, and we intend replacing the bathroom joinery, and all family unit joinery in May / June this year. We will certainly look at replacing crockery etc more frequently, and yes, our phones look tired! We will pay more attention to the little things that may detract from our room’s appearance.
Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.2 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,492 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.7 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#11 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tekapo Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Village Motel

Property: Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Address: State Highway 8 | Village Centre, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand (Formerly Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tekapo Village Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lake Tekapo Village Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Scenic Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Lake Tekapo Scenic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing