We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but with great views!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Basic but with great views!”
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We had flown into Christchurch from Singapore and were driving to Queenstown, due to our late arrival it seemed to make sense to stop somewhere midway and Lake Tekapo seemed just the spot.

Location: Right in the thick of things in Lake Tekapo…there isn’t really much there but you are walking distance to a couple of places to eat. However, the real bonus is the superb views in the morning of the lake outside the window. Magnificent!

Room: Rather basic, definitely motel standard with small television for late night news. Heated blanket for the winter was a nice touch. The basic theme ran through the bathroom as well. A couple of freebie snacks had been left for us also.

Service: Friendly enough, we didn’t have any real interaction with the staff as it was a brief overnight stop but they were always pleasant. We were recommended a little café next door which was able to fuel us up in the morning before our drive.

Summary: Does what it says on the tin at a fair price. Were glad we stopped overnight here so we could enjoy all the scenery to Queenstown in daylight.

  • Liked — Great views!
  • Disliked — A bit too basic
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank OP2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    254
    56
    6
    8
See reviews for
211
325
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2008

Stayed here on our way from Christchurch to Queenstown to break the journey. Budget motel, but best location in town. Clean and warm and right on the lake. We left our brand new digital camera behind and the staff were fantastic. They arranged to send it to Queenstown and it arrived in a couple of days, so we really appreciated their helpfulness and honesty.
P.S. If you have time, go up to the hot pools and outdoor ice skating - it overlooks the lake and is magical at night.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2008

Small motel with great views over the lake and right in the centre of town. We upgraded to a family unit and were given probably the best one (upstairs at the end of the block and facing the lake). Reception gave us a warm welcome and even helped with the luggage. They gave us a town map and recommended some places to eat and a nice lakeside walk. The unit was very spacious with a lovely bright lounge area. We certainly enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — Lake views
  • Disliked — Bathroom had shower only
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank emmandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2008

This place is close to everything in Lake Teakapo, not that there is much everything, including almost next door to the supermarket. We had the upstairs family unit on the end of the building which has a balcony overlooking the lake, and is almost certainly the best room in the place. As well as a separate bedroom it has an L shaped lounge with folding doors to separate the area with a sofa bed, so it is almost as if there are two bedrooms and also a lounge/dining area, which is still a reasonable size. Very thorough maid service.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank PercyVeerance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands U.K.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2008

This motel is right on the edge of lake Tekapo with stunning viewsof the mountains on the other side. We found the room a bit basic as there were no wardrobes for hanging up our clothes. As we were on the first floor, we had to climb up a flight of stairs and along a walk way to get to it. I would not recommend a first floor room for disabled or elderly people. The car park was rather cramped and not really adequate for all the cars that needed to park on it. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were very clean. There is not a lot to do there except admire the spectacular views so one night is probably enough time to stay there. It is in a beautiful place and well worth a one night stay. The Church of the Good Shepherd is only a stone's throw away.

  • Liked — The fabulous views
  • Disliked — Cramped car park
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norma_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2008

We only stayed at Lake Tekapo for one night and that was sufficient for our needs. The hotel room was clean and comfortable with magnificent views of Lake Tekapo although planning permission is being sought by developers for more accommodation between the existing properties and the lake itself, much to the disappointment of the present property owners.

  • Liked — Fantastic lake and mountain views
  • Disliked — Very little storage in room for clothes
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dukieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2008

Nice well appointed and clean room with a wonderful view of Lake Tekapo.

We will have no hesitation in staying there again.

The hotel has no restaurant but there are several restaurants within a few minutes walk from the hotel. The two we tried were 'average'.

  • Liked — Cleanliness & View.
  • Disliked — No restaurant.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine_Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.2 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,734 reviews
0.8 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#12 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#11 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tekapo Heights
Tekapo Heights
#3 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tekapo Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Village Motel

Property: Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Address: State Highway 8 | Village Centre, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand (Formerly Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tekapo Village Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Lake Tekapo Village Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Scenic Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Lake Tekapo Scenic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing