We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Possible Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Possible Location”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Without a doubt this Motel has the best location in the town. Most of the rooms overlook the lake and the views are out of this world. We considered delaying another day just for the experience. The cooking facilities were shared with the backpackers and I must say i had no problem with this.

Room Tip: Arrive early and try and get the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenisAsgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    256
    56
    6
    8
See reviews for
213
327
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on the second floor and had fantastic views of the lake and mountains. My kids especially loved the bedroom that had views of the lake. Service was great - thanks for helping us book the horse trekking. Overall we had a wonderful experience staying at Lake Tekapo.

Room Tip: Choose the second floor room closest to the lake for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_sg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Great position, absolutely stunning views especially from first floor rooms. Good facilities in the room which was quite small but had a balcony with table and chairs where we ate our meals. Restaurants and takeaways one minute from motel. Wifi payable. Worth a trip to drive up to the observatory and look down on the motel area.

Room Tip: First floor room nearest to cafe is the room to have! Think it was No 18.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MumandEleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The location and the views from our studio on the second floor were fantastic. Restaurants were within a two minute walk. The room was only average, compared to other rooms we stayed at in Christchurch, Auckland and Queenstown. It was smaller in size than other rooms, for the price that was charged. However, there isn't much competition in the town. The views and the location trumped most deficiencies.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This place is amazing, the view from our room, was magnificent. Shops and services 1 minute walk from this Resort. It really is a hidden gem. We were welcomed hours earlier than normal check in. They gave us a room on the ground floor (excellent for carting of bags). I was so taken with the view, I must have taken 100 photos from our front door. The beds are warm and comfortable, the rooms were clean and comfortable, we had a spa bath and also offered a movie on dvd (no cost) internet was extremely cheap. The bar was right next door, but still quiet for us light sleepers. I could retire here. Thank you

Room Tip: I like the ground floor, spa bath and still a veranda. Excellent place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Our group of 23 stayed here for a staff xmas do in a mix of family and studio rooms - ALL with some degree of lake view. The arrangement and booking of this was made exceptionally easy by Judy and staff - they even waited a few extra weeks for our confirmation (during a weekend in Tekapo where everything else appeared to be booked fully). The management and staff were wonderful and helped with local eatery recommendations and also arranging our lovely local babysitter for the evening. We struck the best weather and were able to have drinks and nibbles on the beautifully kept garden/lawn area at the front of the motel looking to the lake. Breakfast was had at Reflections (next door) which was absolutely delicious! Would recommend this place too. Our motel rooms were compact but clean and had everything we needed plus extras (outdoor fold up chairs, liquid soap and shower gels - just the little things you wouldn't expect sometimes). I would be guessing that some rooms were slightly newer or more recently updated than others. Overall, all the rooms are great value and in a perfect location for an easy walk to everything Tekapo has to offer. Thank you so much Judy and fellow staff :) We will be back.

Room Tip: Studio units in newer block? or front 2 units of reception block facing lake totally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAPDAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed here for one night during our tour of NZ, stayed in the family spa room which is on the ground floor in corner at the back with a nice view of the lake.

Service was ok, no complaints and we checked straight in even though we were there before 3pm (it was about 2pm if I remember correctly.

The room was nice enough but was the least clean of all the places we stayed in NZ. The main issue I had was above the main entrance door was a large spider's web and actually the spider was still there inside. It wasn't huge or anything and wasn't causing any harm, but it looked like it has been there for quite a while, surely one of the cleaners should have spotted this?

The bedrooms were fine, the single beds weren't particularly comfortable but were good enough and the kitchenette had everything we needed to cook food for a young child.

In terms of value, I think the room was overpriced. I realise that lake tekapo is popular but we paid $195 for the night and it was the most expensive place we stayed in NZ, including a stay at the copthorne hotel in Wellington. We chose the hotel because of the good reviews here on tripadvisor but looking around the tekapo township there looked to be a lot of other options which are cheaper. I don't know about price, but the peppers resort looked much nicer from the outside.

Overall, not bad and certainly wouldn't tell anyone not to stay here, but would probably stay somewhere else if we ever went back to Tekapo.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingLimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don Y, Owner at Lake Tekapo Village Motel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and taking the time to review your experience which we find most helpful .
I must apologise for the cobweb found in your room, an oversight which we will certainly address. We do have cleaning guidelines, and checking procedures, however we will review these, and encourage more attention to detail.
Our single beds have been replaced earlier this year, and are quite firm for good support. However we will consider adding a topper for increased comfort levels.
I regret you found our rates expensive. We are very competitively priced for Lake Tekapo accommodation and the services we provide; our very high occupancy supports this. Our rates on all room types are clearly provided at reservation.
Thank you again for staying with us, I hope you enjoyed your New Zealand holiday, and that we may have the opportunity to host your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.2 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,831 reviews
0.8 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#12 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tekapo Heights
Tekapo Heights
#3 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#11 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tekapo Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Village Motel

Property: Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Address: State Highway 8 | Village Centre, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand (Formerly Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tekapo Village Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Lake Tekapo Village Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Scenic Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Lake Tekapo Scenic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing