We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning view, good location right on lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Even though the rooms were a little small and the shower was very small, these were balanced out by the fact the rooms look out onto the lake and over to the church. While we were there we had a wonderful snow storm to make the setting picture perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

418 - 424 of 683 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort was a fabulous place for us to stay while there - they have affordable rooms with plenty of space and amenities you would need while travelling. Friendly, helpful staff and so much to do.

Room Tip: the motel units on the lake side are ideal, but every room has a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilyeritchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The room is very clean and the owner is very helpful. The two bedroom unit is not very big, but it can accommodate 5 people without any problem. At the balcony, you can see the beautiful lake, snow mountain, with moon or sun rise.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed here 2-nights while driving down from Christchurch to Queenstown. The facilities are really top-notch for a motel, warm and comfy. Bathroom was clean and well-maintained, bed was comfy and room service was wonderful.

The view is magnificent - you could not ask for anything better. We watched the sunrise from our beds! The location is smackbang in the middle of town near the grocery store and it's located right next to the best cafe in Tekapo (Run77 Cafe).

All in all, a very lovely stay - thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs studio so you can see the sunrise on the lake from your bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shinycaptn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Easy to find, great location near to shops and restaurants. The room and bed were very comfortable, huge bathroom with spa bath. Nice and warm on a chilly spring night. The views are magnificent. Would definitely stay here again next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here overnight on a trip with our teenage daughter.

We were welcomed warmly at reception and then shown to our rooms personally by the owner. He was full of information and happy to answer any questions we had.

Our room was upstairs with a wonderful view of Lake Tekapo from our balcony. The room was booked as a double and single for three people however there were only two chairs.

There are plenty of eating places within an very easy stroll. We also took advantage of the putt putt golf course right beside the hotel.

It is a gorgeous place to stay with friendly owners - we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

For NZ$150, it was the most expensive night of our 8 day Christchurch-Queenstown tour but it was well worth every dollar. We got the upper flour studio and the views of the lake and mountains were absolutely breathtaking. Don't be mistaken by the seemingly dated exterior of the resort, the rooms are modern, clean and well-equipped and is on par or even better than your four star hotels. There is even a large balcony for you to enjoy the view while sipping a cup of coffee. Queen sized bed was large, clean and comfortable. Heaters in the room and the bathroom (well appreciated since it can get quite cold at night). Room was spotless, there was ample tea and coffee provided. TV was equipped with Sky and there was even a ceiling fan for those feeling the heat in the summer. Not to mention, the innkeepers were friendly and helpful in introducing the facilities of our room, Lake Tekapo and pointing out directions for us on our day of departure. There was also free onsite parking. Only small blip was the bird poo on my chair in the balcony, but I guess that's part and parcel of resort living!

Kudos to the resort for our memorable stay at Lake Tekapo! Will definitely return again!

Room Tip: Request for upper floors for a better view, although the lower floors are just as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yshon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Tekapo
0.2 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3,100 reviews
18.5 mi away
Aorangi Motel
Aorangi Motel
#1 of 4 in Fairlie
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 16 in Lake Tekapo
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 16 in Lake Tekapo
182 reviews
0.8 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
265 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tekapo Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Village Motel

Address: State Highway 8 | Village Centre, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand (Formerly Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: $146 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tekapo Village Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the lake front, Lake Tekapo Village Motel offers rooms with lake views. Free WiFi and free private parking is available. Twizel is a 40-minute drive from the property. Guests can choose from Studios, Two-Bedroom Apartments and a Penthouse Suite that accommodates the top floor of the motel. All rooms at Lake Tekapo Village Motel feature a flat-screen TV, private bathroom with hairdryer, heating and ironing facilities. A variety of restaurants, cafes and bars are located within short walking distance from the property. Tekapo Springs is just 2 km from Lake Tekapo Village Motel. There are a range of activities offered in the surrounding area including golfing and hiking for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Tekapo Village Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Scenic Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Lake Tekapo Scenic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing