We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Ideal location with incredible views of the lake. The room was compact but very well equipped and organised. However no microwave. Immaculately clean. Not many great eating options in town, especially if you're vegetarian. But the café right near the motel is fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    251
    55
    6
    8
See reviews for
209
319
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nakhon Nayok, Thailand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We came here a bit late but they offered us the room at the end of the hallway, nearest to the lake. The room was tidy, a bit compact but full-equipped. View at sunrise was stunning, particularly the autumn foliage and the lake. The staff was a middle-age lady who was very nice and helpful. She suggested several places to eat. And we picked the best pizza we ever had! And how nice she arranged our booking we made beforehand. She used another keycard to switch on the heater for us before we arrived there. (It was chilly that night) I love the service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChaiKusuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster East, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Good location very close to everything. Beautiful location on the top floor looking over the lake. with snow capped mountains in the background. Unfortunately it was not as sunny as we had hoped therefore the lake was not bright blue as we had hoped to see. Had a toaster and kettle but no microwave or cutlery. Very neat and tidy and would recommend it as a good place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayCeetrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located in an ideal location and we had the most amazing views. Although the rooms are quite dated they are immaculately clean. The staff are friendly too. Wifi is available also. Be sure to read reviews of local eating places before choosing where to eat.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minda75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Right on the lakeside with amazing views. Very clean and modern. Large bathroom with separate shower and spa. Toaster, kettle, plates and cutlery in room which is handy. Very near the shops and booking offices. Laundry onsite works well. Owners very helpful.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EvilParrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nambucca Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Awesome views from the upstairs studio room overlooking the beautiful lake across to the snow covered mountains - it doesn't get any better than this. Had a lovely little balcony to sit out & enjoy the view and to take great photos. Facilities are fantastic - right in town - plenty of food eateries & restaurants & a little supermarket. (even got a bottle of wine there) Had a toaster & plates for eating in the room & free wiifii. Fabulous place to stay!

Room Tip: Views upstairs are spectacular, but have to climb steep stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is the 2nd time we've stayed at Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort and have thoroughly enjoyed both stays. The rooms are really well appointed. Comfy beds, plenty of space and a great bathroom.There's tea, coffee and hot chocolate on offer for free and a selection of sweets to purchase. The motel is situated right in the centre of Tekapo with the shops and cafes just a minute from the door. From the unit we had a fabulous view of the lake and it took only a couple of minutes to walk down to the lake side. We didn't book the room in advance, just turned up on the day and were offered a really reasonable rate for our two night stay. A really great place to stay.

Room Tip: try and get the units facing the lake to enjoy the view with a glass of something nice on your own d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffybundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.2 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.7 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#11 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tekapo Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Village Motel

Property: Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Address: State Highway 8 | Village Centre, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand (Formerly Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tekapo Village Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lake Tekapo Village Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Scenic Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Lake Tekapo Scenic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing