We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's all about the view!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Tekapo Village Motel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“It's all about the view!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were met by one of the owners who was very friendly. We had a room which faced towards the lake and had its own private decking area. The room was spacious, very clean with a large comfortable double bed. There was a sofa, ironing board & iron, micro, fridge with a few basic items i.e. plates, bowls, glasses cutlery. You are supplied with a limited free supply of wi-fi which was enough for me to check my facebook and send messages home. The bathroom was not the most luxurious but clean and had a small walk in shower, sink and toilet. There was a bath but no plug which was disappointing, as I would love to have had a bath as I get fed up with showers. There are plenty of local bars, cafes and resturants. The location is great for local walks and the Church of Good Shepherd is worth a visit. We had a chinese takeaway with a locally purchased bottle of New Zealand wine which we sat and ate on our decking overlooking the lake and watching the most amazing sunsets. The portions of food are the largest I have ever had, we purchased 3 dishes but could have easily only have ordered 2 dishes and still have food left over. Would loved to have stayed longer but had a schedule to stick to. Would visit again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redkaz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    247
    54
    5
    8
See reviews for
203
313
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a first floor studio overlooking the lake. Views terrific from balcony. Could not fault apartment for cleanliness, but relative to some motels in New Zealand Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort's Studios lack facilities, such as only a coat stand with coat hangers - no wardrobe! No sink for washing any dishes, and cooking equipment had to be requested. Wi Fi hardly lasted for setting up period before requiring paid top up. This was the most expensive motel we have stayed in on South Island and without its spectacular location, and convenience to local shops and restaurants - Pepe's Pizzas are great- I would be marking down more than 3 Stars!!

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NJC1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don Y, Owner at Lake Tekapo Village Motel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the views from your room, and appreciated the great job our cleaning staff do.
Your comment about our lack of a wardrobe or better clothes storage reflects a deficiency in our faclities that we hope to address when we replace the storage unit / benchtop, scheduled for the coming winter. We deliberately try to avoid cluttering our rooms with excessive furniture.
Our studios are equipped with tea-making facilities only, toasters and sufficient crockery etc for breakfasts and take-away consumption, usually sufficient for the one night stay of the majority of our guests. Our family units have kitchen facilities if more cooking options are required. I will review our website room descriptions to ensure this is clearly communicated.
Our Wi-fi policy is to provide our guests with free access to basic emailing and reservation capability. We are aware that the 50Mb we offer may be quickly used up if there are accummulated updates, or automatic downloads scheduled, but our top-ups are very reasonably priced, and intended not to be profitable, but to transfer costs to users rather than all guests. We intend to review our allocations to ensure they are realistic.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the great restaurant options our village has to offer, and hope that you consider re-visiting our area; our winter vistas are also spectacular.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed two nights at the motel but wish we had stayed more. It has a great view of the lake and a private balcony for each of the rooms. The owners are very helpful and willing to make one's stay as comfortable. There is no kitchen facility but one does not need that with so many restaurants around. The location is perfect and great for walks along the lake side. Must visit the Church of Good Shepherd around 3 kms, 5-0 mins drive. We did go to the observatory as well which is a good steep walk if one likes to take that or by road there is an option as well.

Room Tip: Rooms at the first floor are have better views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DishantB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and i spent 2 nights at this resort in December 2012 on our way back to Christchurch. We found the owner/manager Don and his wife extremely helpful and friendly, and the room was excellent and very comfortable.The view from our room over the lake was spectacular and the weather was just right.We enjoyed our night up Mt John observatory gazing at the stars-the event can be bought on-line so book there to avoid disappointment in the tourist season. We booked for the 2nd night, but the first nights sky was clear so we were allowed to move our visit and take the first nights trip,which we appreciated. There are plenty of places to eat and the variety is good. The Church of the good Shepherd is well worth the visit, Mt Cook is also easily reached and we would not hesitate to recommend a stop over at this resort.

Room Tip: Ask Don for a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tone848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabarita Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed at this motel in December 2012 whilst attending a good friends of mine wedding.

I had contacted the motel prior to arriving and requested an early check in to allow me sufficient time to get ready for the wedding. To my surprise the managers of the motel were very understanding and suggested I contact them at 10am (on a Saturday check in) to see what time my room would be ready. My room was ready at 11am and I was able to check in immediately.

The motel is in the centre of town and my room on the ground floor had lake views and snow capped mountains in the distance. All Lake Tekapo has to offer was within walking distance.

Highly recommended and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had a two bedded apartment for one night. Our apartment was right on the lake on the corner of the property so was duel aspect. The views were amazing and the apartment although basic was clean and functional. Reception staff very helpful and parking was easy. Great location for walking to restaurants and bars (approx. one minute). We wanted a break between Queenstown and Christchurch and this suited the bill perfectly.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner apartment at the very end of the block overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank groupofeight014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here 1 night in January in 2013, owner/ proprieter was very friendly and helpful, gave us great tips on what to do and see locally eg Observatory, and scenic tours of Mount Cook. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms have good view but go for a ist floor room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MVWokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.1 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,349 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#10 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tekapo Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Village Motel

Property: Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Address: State Highway 8 | Village Centre, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand (Formerly Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tekapo Village Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Lake Tekapo Village Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Scenic Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Lake Tekapo Scenic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing