We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Tekapo Village Motel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed in an upper studio. It exceeded our expectations. The view is great; the staff friendly; the room particularly clean and well equipped (with extra towels, dishes, refrigerator, and such). It is centrally located within the village, and therefore very convenient to restaurants. The staff were helpful with tourist information.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    247
    54
    5
    8
See reviews for
203
313
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth,AUS
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

I, along with my wife and one year old son stayed here for one night in March and for a short stay breaking up the drive to Mt Cook, the Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort is a pretty good option. We stayed in an upstairs executive apartment (think thats what they called it) which was the room closest to the Lake with arguably the best views. The rooms are reasonably well equipped, but spotless and well maintained. Our room had a master bedroom and a second room (with TV, couch and single bed) which could be partioned off for those travelling with kids. The apartment was quite small, but the view makes up for it.

Our exposure to the staff was excellent. Check in was personalised and friendly and checkout came with a smile and lots of advise on what to see on our travels.

Keep in mind, this area is a little more remote, so you will pay more for everything (including the rooms at the resort), but overall, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for an upstairs room at the end of the block (funnily enough the most expensive) - Thats where yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EndlessTraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

This place is AMAZING!!! It's sooo lovely that I can't really put it on words. We got an upstairs room. The view was really breathtaking.. It's so peaceful and lovely. You can just sit on the balcony over cuppa hot choco, counting the stars on the clear nite sky or simply waiting for the sun to rise in the morning, where the church of good shepherd turns golden. The owner (I forgot his name, sorry) was so kind and friendly when ushering us to our rooms, explaining everything regarding the rooms and views and the surrounding. It really a MUST STOP place for everyone. I truly recommend this hotel and will be back one day.

Room Tip: Choose the Upstairs room facing the lake, for sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank byusmommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

From the initial phone call to make a reservation I was impressed. Don was extremly helpful and went out of his way for us even making a reservation for us to visit the ST John Observatory when we phoned again the next day asking for advise. On arrival Don greeted us and escorted us to our room....instead of just pointing us in the right direction...and made sure we were aware of how things worked. The room was very clean and tidy with a wonderful view over the wonderful Lake Tekapo. The property is one of very few that can claim lake frontage. The room was comfortably warm and had a nice balcony. Most importantly the bed and pillows were comfortable, the shower though smallish had good water pressure and heat, and the room was quiet, except for the 4 year old terrorist that woke us up at 7am in the morning running around outside on full trottle and in full voice. Shutting our double glazed slider helped shut that out and really that is out of the hotels control if the parents have no control. Don advised us on resturants and we were pleased with his recommendation.
Lake Tekapo is half way (3 hours drive) between Christchurch and Queenstown. It is an ideal place to stop as it is quite beautiful with the Church of the Good Shepard and statue of McKenzies dog on the lake frontage. On your way there stop at Burkes Pass after the small town of Fairlie. There are a couple of great country shops there especially Three Creeks where Dave is a master at rustic furniture making....trust me you'll want to take some home with you! Also many interesting nic-naks inside.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room if you are able bodied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ravinon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

The room itself is nothing exceptional, clean, spacious and well-kept, all good but nothing too special. However, we knew that we paid for the location and the view rather than the facilities. And the money was well spent.

The place is right by the lake, with nothing to obstruct your view. The sunsets were unfortunately mediocre when we were there, but the sunrise was gorgeous! At night we went out on the balcony on our upper floor unit to do some star gazing, and it was beautiful. We saw a couple of shooting stars, and thousands of stars twinkling in the night sky. It was a sight to remember.

The hosts were simply wonderful, showing us personally to our room, and giving us all kinds of helpful information. We felt really welcome by their hospitality, and more relaxed knowing we can always go to them for any help or information.

If you want to appreciate the beauty of Lake Tekapo, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mynthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

I had done a search for hotels around the Lake Tekapo area and the recommendations for Lake Tekapo could not be more true.

We had a great room with the best view of the lake - I think it was number 11 on the ground floor. The beds are good, nice very big bathroom and lots of information about the area.

The team at the check-in desk were great and gave lots of good recommendations on what to see and do.

One thing to do while there is to go up on Mount John and have breakfast at the Astro Cafe - best view in the whole world I think.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sus2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

When you book accomodation over the internet from the other side of the world in a place you've never been to, you can't really expect too much. So what a surprise to find I had booked us very comfortable, modern rooms with the most stunning views imaginable! The entire front of the units in the Scenic Resort are glass so you simply can't miss a thing. The view? A beautifully landscaped crazy golf course followed by green lawns running down to the shores of a tourquoise lake that stretched into the distance to the feet of white mountains! Mind boggling! And just around the corner from Mackenzies, where we had a fantastic meal on the hot stones. Truly a little piece of paradise.

Room Tip: Choose the studios for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babsanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.1 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#10 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tekapo Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Village Motel

Property: Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Address: State Highway 8 | Village Centre, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand (Formerly Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tekapo Village Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Lake Tekapo Village Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Scenic Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Lake Tekapo Scenic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing