We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel - lovely friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tailor Made Tekapo Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hostel - lovely friendly staff”
Reviewed May 25, 2010

I stayed at this hostel twice on my way around new zealand and really liked it. The staff make such a difference as they really care about the place. Good kitchen facilities and Ok living area. tekapo is beautiful and there are some lovely walks. its quite quiet with not much nightlife but the beauty more than makes up for it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyedinburgh_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    110
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
29
107
60
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2010

I've never stayed in a backpackers before and if every one I now stay in is as good as the Tailor-Made-Tekapo Backpackers, I will be a happy traveller!! :-) The staff were extremely helpful and the accommodation was exceptionally clean. Great cooking facilities, good BBQ area, lovely gardens for chilling out in the hammock. Everyone was in such a good mood!! Thank you so much for a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegrezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2010

We stayed here two nights with our 2-year-old. What is not to like about this place? It was a great experience, start to finish, and we would be happy to stay here again.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by friendly staff, who really made us feel very welcome. We were amazed by the stunning garden which was being looked after by Michael, the owner. There are several picnic tables on the lawns, so you can have your dinner outside, or read a book. Kids are well catered for with a sandpit, slide/swing set, as well as heaps (heaps!) of toys in the communal area. Our little girl loved it!

The communal areas were very clean and well equipped. Our room (we booked a double room with ensuite) was small, but very clean and there is some room to store your luggage so it doesn't get in the way. The ensuite was also small (toilet, shower and small basin) but very clean too and was really all we need.

The hostel is not too far from the 'centre' of Lake Tekapo, maybe a 10 minute walk. The surroundings are very quiet. Also, we found the other travellers we met here really friendly and relaxed.

Not to mention the incredibly good value of this place - $70/night - it is a place that we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmj81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We stayed for one night in a double room. It was clean and comfy. Only complaint was the poor curtains let a lot of light in which made for an early morning wake up from sunlight. The kitchen facilities were ample and we enjoyed our brief stay. The host who checked us in was friendly and helpful and showed us what to do in town on a map. Shared bathrooms were clean and ample.

It's in a nice quiet street off the main road which was great so it was very quiet. Also had ample parking for our car.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skramit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
460 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

A very nice hostel with a very good staff. Excellent location close to town but in a quiet area.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2009

We stayed in a King ensuite room, so not really backpacking! Still, very clean, good value for money and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatD18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2009

Clean, warm and friendly. Ive stayed here before and will return again. I loved the dry humoured local who worked in the hostel. We had an twin ensuite room and it was spotless.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveltragic9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.2 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,586 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#12 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tailor Made Tekapo Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tailor Made Tekapo Backpackers Hostel

Property: Tailor Made Tekapo Backpackers Hostel
Address: Lake Tekapo Village | 11 Aorangi Crescent, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet corner of the village and set in a beautiful garden, we are only 300 metres from the bus-stop and the Village shops. Lake Tekapo is half-way between Christchurch and Queenstown/Wanaka (all less than 3 hours away) and we are only just over one hour from Aoraki / Mt Cook. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tailor Made Tekapo Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tailor-Made-Tekapo Backpackers Hotel Lake Tekapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing