We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in NZ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tailor Made Tekapo Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place, could just do with larger kitchen like most BBH establishments. Place immaculate, the care and pride of the management team is clearly visible! Beautifully kept gardens too, a real pleasure and WIFI available too!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cdv50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for Tailor Made Tekapo Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 272 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

My husband and i stayed here for just one night in the double ensuite and we loved it. One can simply sit on the many garden chairs or hammock and soak in the scenery...a lovely garden with spring blooms and snow capped mountains in the background. There is even a tennis court next door for the active. There is a good star gazing spot close by, unfortunately it was not a starry night when we were there. The room was comfortable, but the pillows were flat and could do with a change. Only drawback is that it does not have views of the lake. Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yasotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at this hostel for a single night only, in a double room. The location is perfect, a bit away from town, but we didn´t explore the surroundings as it was almost winter at the time.
But from earlier trips we know how beautiful Lake Tekapo is!
The room was cozy and clean, the kitchen and communal areas really nice and tidy. The fact that there´s no TV in the "living room" even enhances the "out in the country" feel of the place... I would definately recommend staying there...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Butch G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Another excellent place! Only 300m from the main street, it is a charming, homely and cozy place. Its location away from the main street also makes it an excellent star-gazing spot! Apart from being big and spacious, the rooms are also colorful and uplifting, with mattresses that are soft and comfortable (which makes me want to lie in all day - I'm not sure if that's a good thing) and huge windows facing the yard. Bathrooms are large and clean. Had a glimpse of the dorm room - no bunk beds and a huge window with an excellent view!

The lounge is cosy and there are board games to play. Kitchen is excellent, it's the first place where condiments are provided! Service was excellent too! Will definitely stay here again if I visit Lake Tekapo again (which I'm sure I will) Don't forget to take a walk up Mt John if the weather is good. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alienshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We arrived at Lake Tekapo and stopped at this hostel first and wow, why go anywhere else! The prices with BBH were really good and it is so close to the main strip. The absolute most cozy and comfortable hostel I've stayed in so far!!! The fire place and kitchen area were perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed for 1 night. The room was clean and cosy, it was quiet and had it's own entrance. Lovely garden, friendly staff, no surprise extra costs for bedding etc. Only negative thing is that the bed was two singles put together which isn't terribly comfy, but didn't ruin our sleep. Recommended

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauranz255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We choose this place after it was recommended by a girl from Albatross Backpacker and we were not disappointed. The hostel with a long and interesting history was in a really good shape: rooms, bathrooms and toilets were clean and (I would not say that just new) in really good conditions. The owner of the hostel was very nice with us and spent a lot of time answering on our endless questions. We were really sad that couldn't stay there for the second night and definetly will come again if one day we will be passing by.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.2 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,928 reviews
0.3 mi away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#13 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
YHA Lake Tekapo
YHA Lake Tekapo
#4 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tailor Made Tekapo Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tailor Made Tekapo Backpackers Hostel

Address: Lake Tekapo Village | 11 Aorangi Crescent, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: $51 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tailor Made Tekapo Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet corner of the village and set in a beautiful garden, we are only 300 metres from the bus-stop and the Village shops. Lake Tekapo is half-way between Christchurch and Queenstown/Wanaka (all less than 3 hours away) and we are only just over one hour from Aoraki / Mt Cook. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Tailor Made Tekapo Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tailor-Made-Tekapo Backpackers Hotel Lake Tekapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing