We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chalet Boutique Motel
Nearby Hotels
$129
$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Mt Dobson Motel(Fairlie)(Great Value!)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aorangi Motel(Fairlie)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$155
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$128
$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Godley Hotel(Lake Tekapo)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveler rating
318
27
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
318
27
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshenkel hutgarden roommount johnlake and mountainscollie dogself cateringshort walkperfect locationuninterrupted viewssmall kitchenettelaundry roomtwo nightsnew zealandsouth islandfully equipped kitchencomfy bedperfect stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
299 - 304 of 349 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We stayed overnight, but as others have reviewed, wished we stayed longer. Lake Tekapo was clearly the most scenic spot in our 9 day tour of the South Island. We stayed in Unit 2 which had uninterrupted views of the aquamarine coloured lake and snow covered mountains. The unit was spacious and immaculately clean. Host Walter was very welcoming. Little historic church across the road had two weddings throughout the Saturday avo we stayed. We had dinner at the "Reflections" restaurant recommended by Walter which was excellent. Make sure you drive (9 kms) our hike (?2 hours) to Mt. John Observatory Cafe for a coffee. Must be the best location for a cafe in the world with 360 degree panoramic views.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

The location is wonderful, directly opposite the lake and easily close enough to the parade of shops and restaurants to walk. We had a lovely, light sunny room with doors out to a patio. The shower room was quite small but not a problem. Lovely comfortable bed, so much so that we overslept!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahm100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

This is an older building, but was more than adequate. The hosts are very nice and friendly (e.g., they helped us de-ice our car in the morning). The hotel is directly across the street from the Church of the Good Shepherd, and has an excellent view of the lake and surrounding mountains (we stayed in the front left apartment when looking from the road). The floors are heated, which is nice during the winter. The hotel is not "five star" by any means, but it serves the purpose and was reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel159549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Booked this accommodation based on Tripadvisor reviews and was not disappointed. We stayed in the appartment on the ground floor front (right hand side when looking from the road) with access to the garden and fantastic views of the mountains and lake. My wife and I had the front room while the kids were in the back room. Heated floor in the living area was a nice touch which we all appreciated. Walter and Zita were extremely friendly - lovely people. Walter helped out when we had some problems with our rental car, and provided a box of toys which my son loved. The location is right on the lake, just beside the Collie dog statue and the Church of the Good Shephard. It is also within easy walk (10 mins) of the shopping/restaurant area.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie_abroad_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We stayed at "The Chalet" in Lake Tekapo in early April 09 and had an excellent experience! The hosts Zita and Walter go out of their way to make sure all needs of travellers are met. They have several types of accommodations. We stayed in a very cosy ground floor room with direct access to the garden. The room was spcacious and comfortable. They also have cottages and suites with more than one bedroom. What is really fantastic and unbeatable is the location of "The Chalet" right at the water front of Lake Tekapo (We will never forget the view!) and only meters away from the Church of the good shepard.

Thank rhino100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews