We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chalet Boutique Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Chalet's location is simply out of the world. You have a gorgeous view of Lake Tekapo and the motel is located just two minutes away from the famous Church of the Good Shepherd and dog monument. The management gives you privacy and the motel is well-appointed. There is a daily cleaning service and they even did our laundry for us which was very helpful for me! The highlight of the stay was a recommendation of a local astrophotographer who gave my family a great overview of the stars from his balcony, a few minutes away from the motel. It was a simply amazing night looking at the stars! I would recommend this motel to families.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
There are newer reviews for The Chalet Boutique Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 317 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Had a two night stay here last Nov and met with unfortunate rainy weather. Thankfully,the lodge is huge and well equipped so staying in was a consolation for us.

Even though my husband and daughter braved the rain to check out the nearby church of the shepherd,I was too comfortable lounging on the day bed to go out in the rain.

Beautiful view of the lake. Weather improved on our second day and we horse riding as well as a short hike near the lake which was interesting. A great prelude to our 2week trip.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Agnes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

The Chalet Boutique Motel is a very nice and comfortable place to stay in. It has very good view of the scenery and like what i wrote for the title, it is very well equipped. The owner is also very hospitable. There is only a small supermarket, so if you would like to cook there, i advise you that you should buy your groceries before going. Thank you for the nice service and yi would surely see me there again next time!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Jovianne99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed in unit 6 on the 2nd of December '13, which was a wonderful 3 person unit to the back of the property. But don't let that fool you because being at the back it had direct access from a back door into the laundry room downstairs (which was pin drop silent from above) and parking was just below. The views were just as gorgeous too. The room was clean and well decorated and the mattress though super soft were surprisingly comfortable.

We had some dirty clothes which we thought would be nice to wash and discovered that laundry room was free for usage and the hosts were very accommodating when we asked to use it. They even dumped our laundry in as we were out watching the stars.

It was our first day in NZ and after rather tiring drive from Christchurch, Judith was so friendly and settled us in our room with a small bottle of milk for tea.

The place is a stone's throw (almost literally) from the church and the lake itself. Views were stunning both day and night. You have to see it for yourself. That in itself was worth the money.

Although we stayed for just 1 night before moving on, we will be back!

Room Tip: Almost all the rooms are different, so don't worry about whether you're getting the best, be...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superfoodking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We arrived in Lake Tekapo at about 9pm without making any prior reservations. Most of the other hostels and hotels were fully booked and we were lucky to chance upon the Chalet Boutique Motel. The friendly and helpful owner, a Swiss lady, offered us (family of 3) a cottage with an amazing view of the lake. The cottage was well equipped and very comfortable.

The location was just perfect, being in a quiet part of the lake, yet within 1 minute on foot to the Good Shepard Church. The unobstructed view of Lake Tekapo just filled us with awe. We were sad that we only spent less than 12 hours in the cottage. We wished we could stay another day but had to drive up to Chirstchurch.

We will definitely stay in the same property if we come back to Lake Tekapo again. Definitely one of the best.

Room Tip: Get one of the cottages facing the lake
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotspot78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We needed a place to stay for one night that was near the lake but not in the middle of everyone. This was the place. Lake views, was able to walk to lake and star gaze at night. Walking distance to Good Shepard Church. Rooms clean and everything in kitchen to make ourselves a nice dinner and breakfast. Walter the host let us use the laundry facilities which helped after spending 2 weeks traveling in NZ.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayBronxAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We booked two nights at the chalet and loved it all. They had no problem with accommodating a baby and produced a cot and high chair with no problem. They even adjusted the timing of some work on the balcony to fit in with his sleep. They booked dinner for us at the wonderful Japanese restaurant by the lake even though we arrived quite late. The view was to die for and the apartment was tasteful, clean and really well equipped. It has a lovely calm atmosphere and is a wonderful place to stay. Book early to avoid disappointment and stay as long as you can.

Room Tip: Our apartment had view of the lake which was a real binus
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janekdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.6 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,938 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
673 reviews
0.5 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalet Boutique Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet Boutique Motel

Address: 14 Pioneer Drive, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: $118 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Chalet Boutique Hotel Lake Tekapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing