We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely loved it!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chalet Boutique Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved it!”
Reviewed August 4, 2008

We came to The Chalets after leaving the Godley and were feeling pretty down. After seeing the rooms we were thrilled and happy to say it was just a case of picking a room! Words can't really describe how much we loved staying here.

We staying in Unit 6, and had a lovely couple of nights with the Clowns. Our room was quite large and we had plenty of space. Sitting on the bed or table inside, you could look past the front unit and straight over the lake. In summer I imagine it would be beautiful sitting on the balcony in the afternoons.

The room was very clean and fresh and we were pleasently surprised when it was serviced inbetween our 2 nights. There is a small kitchenette and you could cook meals quite happily.

We will definately be back here one day.

  • Liked — It was so comfortable and the relaxing and romantic break we wanted.
  • Disliked — Nothing, we loved it all.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnuB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    25
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
73
193
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2008

We stayed in Chalet 4, ground floor with garden view. The room was tastefully decorated with an underwater theme.

Very well equipped with everything you need for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reserved19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2008

My family stayed in the large 2 bedroom unit (I think Unit 5) for 2 nights. It was the best accomodation of our 8 day holiday in southern NZ. The turquoise Lake Tekapo is only across the road (about 20-30m), Church of the Good Shepherd a quick 2-3min stroll down the road and there are beautiful gardens around the property. Fantastic self catering facilities (like a home away from home) and very comfortable beds. Nice lounge, TV, eating area (very spacious) and maybe could only do with an additional bathroom - otherwise just wonderful!

  • Liked — Location & comfort
  • Disliked — none really
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CKPhotographics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2007

Stayed here recently with some freinds. We had the number 6 cottage. The view is worth the price alone for it is simply stunning. The hosts were extremely freindly and provided everything we needed. The cottage is quite old but it is clean and beautifully decorated and I could not fault it if I tried. Lake tekapo is a very quiet place but perfect for a relaxing night under the stars!

  • Liked — The cottage was huge!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princessvixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
79 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2007

old style swiss chalet with a slightly date interior but with amazing views ,very comfortable place

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.6 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#11 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalet Boutique Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet Boutique Motel

Property: The Chalet Boutique Motel
Address: 14 Pioneer Drive, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Chalet Boutique Hotel Lake Tekapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing