We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chalet Boutique Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Back again to the Chalet! Stayed 2 nights in the room with the beautiful flower garden view (unit 3). Walter and Zita were very welcoming hosts. Very cosy, comfortable, clean, reasonably priced and we slept very well. Free wifi and free use of the laundry is a plus.

Location wise is just in front of the Lake itself very near the Church, about 5-10 minute walk to the shops and restaurants, we're just lazy so we took a 2 minute drive over.

Booking and tariff enquiry wise you can't do it through their website, you'll need to email them directly for the details.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zicron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 335 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed 2 nights in this lovely motel. We had Apartment 1, which has a lake view. It was spacious and modern -- beautifully decorated. Walter and Zita were very nice, cordial hosts. We highly recommend The Chalet.

Room Tip: We enjoyed an apartment with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a very beautiful place to lodge, as Zita and Walter make you feel welcome and well looked after. We got a room with garden view, which was big enough and still cosy. We slept very well, lots of fresh air from the mountains, I guess, and the bathroom as all nice amenities and a heater, thats springs into acion instantly. Unfortunately, we only stayed for one night, but hopefully, there will be another time to return. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ikat58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Henkel chalet which is set back from the road yet has a wonderful aspect of the lake and snow clad mountains. Lovely accommodation with well appointed facilities and easy access to their laundry facility.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claude_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stumbled upon this place by sheer good fortune. We stayed for only one night (unfortunately) in the cottage.
Beautiful views, beautiful accomadations. The owners clearly take great care and pride in their establishment. The cottage faces Lake Tekapo and you can lie in bed and look out through the big picture window. There is a fireplace and amazingly well stocked kitchen. Everything was top-notch.

If you are traveling to Mt Cook, I'd recommend staying here and driving to Mt Cook which is only about an hour away.

Cannot recommend The Chalet any higher! GO!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymousMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Chalet Boutique Motel is strategically located. It is by the main road facing the lake and mountains, yet far enough (5-10 minutes walk to the Church and the small township) for you to enjoy the breathtaking vistas in tranquility. The best of both worlds!

Zita was an incredibly warm host, with a heart for the children. She laid out baskets of toys for them, and hinted that children may not enjoy the Earth and Sky night tour (well, the sky was overcast that night anyway...) Instead, we were told about the pine forest nearby (not in guidebooks) where the children may enjoy playing in relative safety as the waters are shallower there. We were introduced to the nearby eateries (ask Zita for the menus if you would like to call and order), as well as the other fun places to visit nearby (Astro Cafe, Tekapo Springs). I was touched that Zita showed genuine concern for my skin allergy and offered to google for remedies.

We stayed in Unit 2, which has fabulous lake views from the lounge/living area and one of the bedrooms (super King size bed). The other bedroom (super King size bed with extra single bed) faces the garden. The kitchen was well equipped with hot plates, microwave and a fridge.

After a good dinner in the Chalet, we strolled to the Church and was delighted to find that the busloads of tourists (who were still there when we arrived at 5pm) had gone. What a great opportunity to grab a few shots of the Church in dazzling twilight colours.

At night, we switched off all the lights and viewed stars from the comfort of our bedroom.

We had a most delightful stay...

Room Tip: Units 1 (max 3 persons), 2 (max 5 persons), 5 (max 5 persons) and 6 (max 3 persons) have lake views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nlaykhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our hosts Walter and Zita were such an attentive and great host that they upgraded us to a unit that was further and more private while facing the beautiful Lake Tekapo so we can enjoy our honeymoon in an unit away from another they were having renovated.

Walter showed us around and then provided much insight on the attractions nearby as well as a star map to enjoy the night view as the town was specially designed to minimise light pollution. The view was absolutely breath taking as you wake up and see the lake and mountains in full glory without getting out of bed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhair78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Tekapo
0.6 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3,235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
700 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 17 in Lake Tekapo
422 reviews
18.2 mi away
Aorangi Motel
Aorangi Motel
#1 of 4 in Fairlie
140 reviews
18.1 mi away
Pinewood Motels
Pinewood Motels
#2 of 4 in Fairlie
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalet Boutique Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet Boutique Motel

Address: 14 Pioneer Drive, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: $117 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Chalet Boutique Hotel Lake Tekapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing