We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chalet Boutique Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Paihia, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A Gem!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a very beautiful place to lodge, as Zita and Walter make you feel welcome and well looked after. We got a room with garden view, which was big enough and still cosy. We slept very well, lots of fresh air from the mountains, I guess, and the bathroom as all nice amenities and a heater, thats springs into acion instantly. Unfortunately, we only stayed for one night, but hopefully, there will be another time to return. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ikat58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    26
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
74
198
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Henkel chalet which is set back from the road yet has a wonderful aspect of the lake and snow clad mountains. Lovely accommodation with well appointed facilities and easy access to their laundry facility.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claude_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stumbled upon this place by sheer good fortune. We stayed for only one night (unfortunately) in the cottage.
Beautiful views, beautiful accomadations. The owners clearly take great care and pride in their establishment. The cottage faces Lake Tekapo and you can lie in bed and look out through the big picture window. There is a fireplace and amazingly well stocked kitchen. Everything was top-notch.

If you are traveling to Mt Cook, I'd recommend staying here and driving to Mt Cook which is only about an hour away.

Cannot recommend The Chalet any higher! GO!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymousMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Chalet Boutique Motel is strategically located. It is by the main road facing the lake and mountains, yet far enough (5-10 minutes walk to the Church and the small township) for you to enjoy the breathtaking vistas in tranquility. The best of both worlds!

Zita was an incredibly warm host, with a heart for the children. She laid out baskets of toys for them, and hinted that children may not enjoy the Earth and Sky night tour (well, the sky was overcast that night anyway...) Instead, we were told about the pine forest nearby (not in guidebooks) where the children may enjoy playing in relative safety as the waters are shallower there. We were introduced to the nearby eateries (ask Zita for the menus if you would like to call and order), as well as the other fun places to visit nearby (Astro Cafe, Tekapo Springs). I was touched that Zita showed genuine concern for my skin allergy and offered to google for remedies.

We stayed in Unit 2, which has fabulous lake views from the lounge/living area and one of the bedrooms (super King size bed). The other bedroom (super King size bed with extra single bed) faces the garden. The kitchen was well equipped with hot plates, microwave and a fridge.

After a good dinner in the Chalet, we strolled to the Church and was delighted to find that the busloads of tourists (who were still there when we arrived at 5pm) had gone. What a great opportunity to grab a few shots of the Church in dazzling twilight colours.

At night, we switched off all the lights and viewed stars from the comfort of our bedroom.

We had a most delightful stay...

Room Tip: Units 1 (max 3 persons), 2 (max 5 persons), 5 (max 5 persons) and 6 (max 3 persons) have lake views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nlaykhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our hosts Walter and Zita were such an attentive and great host that they upgraded us to a unit that was further and more private while facing the beautiful Lake Tekapo so we can enjoy our honeymoon in an unit away from another they were having renovated.

Walter showed us around and then provided much insight on the attractions nearby as well as a star map to enjoy the night view as the town was specially designed to minimise light pollution. The view was absolutely breath taking as you wake up and see the lake and mountains in full glory without getting out of bed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhair78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Loved this place. Our room had a fantastic view of the lakes and the alps. Further, it has everything you need such as foil and kitchen roll, plenty of toiletries and spotlessly clean. Hiats very helpful. Really felt at home
Would return here in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Room two was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pritchp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I can't say enough about this place... it is fantastic. The units are comfortable, clean and have fantastic views. The hosts are welcoming and friendly. I stayed here for two nights at the beginning and end of a snowshoeing adventure up to Rex Simpson Hut in the Two Thumbs range. The motel is located outside the 'CBD' of Tekapo but it is only a short walk and it is nicer out there as the views are uninterrupted and it is quiet. The little historic church is only meters away and the statue of the dog - both worth a visit and photo!
I would recommend this place to anyone looking for quality accommodation in Tekapo. I will definitely be staying here again when I come back!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.6 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,841 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
667 reviews
0.5 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
367 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tekapo Heights
Tekapo Heights
#3 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#11 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalet Boutique Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet Boutique Motel

Property: The Chalet Boutique Motel
Address: 14 Pioneer Drive, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Chalet Boutique Hotel Lake Tekapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing