We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get any better than this!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chalet Boutique Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stumbled upon this place by sheer good fortune. We stayed for only one night (unfortunately) in the cottage.
Beautiful views, beautiful accomadations. The owners clearly take great care and pride in their establishment. The cottage faces Lake Tekapo and you can lie in bed and look out through the big picture window. There is a fireplace and amazingly well stocked kitchen. Everything was top-notch.

If you are traveling to Mt Cook, I'd recommend staying here and driving to Mt Cook which is only about an hour away.

Cannot recommend The Chalet any higher! GO!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymousMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 321 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Chalet Boutique Motel is strategically located. It is by the main road facing the lake and mountains, yet far enough (5-10 minutes walk to the Church and the small township) for you to enjoy the breathtaking vistas in tranquility. The best of both worlds!

Zita was an incredibly warm host, with a heart for the children. She laid out baskets of toys for them, and hinted that children may not enjoy the Earth and Sky night tour (well, the sky was overcast that night anyway...) Instead, we were told about the pine forest nearby (not in guidebooks) where the children may enjoy playing in relative safety as the waters are shallower there. We were introduced to the nearby eateries (ask Zita for the menus if you would like to call and order), as well as the other fun places to visit nearby (Astro Cafe, Tekapo Springs). I was touched that Zita showed genuine concern for my skin allergy and offered to google for remedies.

We stayed in Unit 2, which has fabulous lake views from the lounge/living area and one of the bedrooms (super King size bed). The other bedroom (super King size bed with extra single bed) faces the garden. The kitchen was well equipped with hot plates, microwave and a fridge.

After a good dinner in the Chalet, we strolled to the Church and was delighted to find that the busloads of tourists (who were still there when we arrived at 5pm) had gone. What a great opportunity to grab a few shots of the Church in dazzling twilight colours.

At night, we switched off all the lights and viewed stars from the comfort of our bedroom.

We had a most delightful stay...

Room Tip: Units 1 (max 3 persons), 2 (max 5 persons), 5 (max 5 persons) and 6 (max 3 persons) have lake views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nlaykhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our hosts Walter and Zita were such an attentive and great host that they upgraded us to a unit that was further and more private while facing the beautiful Lake Tekapo so we can enjoy our honeymoon in an unit away from another they were having renovated.

Walter showed us around and then provided much insight on the attractions nearby as well as a star map to enjoy the night view as the town was specially designed to minimise light pollution. The view was absolutely breath taking as you wake up and see the lake and mountains in full glory without getting out of bed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhair78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Loved this place. Our room had a fantastic view of the lakes and the alps. Further, it has everything you need such as foil and kitchen roll, plenty of toiletries and spotlessly clean. Hiats very helpful. Really felt at home
Would return here in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Room two was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pritchp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I can't say enough about this place... it is fantastic. The units are comfortable, clean and have fantastic views. The hosts are welcoming and friendly. I stayed here for two nights at the beginning and end of a snowshoeing adventure up to Rex Simpson Hut in the Two Thumbs range. The motel is located outside the 'CBD' of Tekapo but it is only a short walk and it is nicer out there as the views are uninterrupted and it is quiet. The little historic church is only meters away and the statue of the dog - both worth a visit and photo!
I would recommend this place to anyone looking for quality accommodation in Tekapo. I will definitely be staying here again when I come back!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

If u talk about untouched Virgin beauty of lake and mountains then it has to be the Lake tekapo . And from this apartment hotel the lake is right across ,

The apartment is very nice with spacious rooms and the front apartment has @ bedrooms which is great with windows and doors opeing to stunning lake views .

The couple who runs the hotel is really warm and Nice . as we arrived they gave my son a lot of toys to play with .

The kitchennete is fully equipped and has milk for the child also .

The car can be parked just besides your apartment and u can just be at ease .

Wonderfull place to stay for couple of nights . Just amazing beauty and peace

Room Tip: Take a front apartment which has two bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pknrajasthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Only had one night here unfortunately. Zita & her son Stefan were the most welcoming hosts. Our ground floor apartment was spotless, spacious and had a fantastic view of the lake and mountains. We soaked up the atmosphere sitting out in our own little courtyard with a glass of wine. Easy walking distance to the Church of the Good Shepherd; great location and wonderful accommoation.

Room Tip: We stayed in Unit 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taurus8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.6 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3,017 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
675 reviews
0.5 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalet Boutique Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet Boutique Motel

Address: 14 Pioneer Drive, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: $111 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Chalet Boutique Hotel Lake Tekapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing