We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful boutique hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chalet Boutique Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2012

With stunning views across Lake Tekapo, this was a memorable place to stay. Lovely garden to relax in, and comfortable rooms with self catering hob and fridge.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
There are newer reviews for The Chalet Boutique Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 317 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2012

The chalet is located ideally and is furnished with thought and care. The hosts, in our case Zita, are warm and caring and take their time to impress you with the local options in as much detail as you want. As it was our last night in New Zealand, we wanted to to wind down and the local spa was the perfect spot where we spent most of the afternoon. For a small town, the dining options are quite good.

As a bonus, the chalet throws the Internet access for free - not a regular feature in NZD! We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoumiCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

My one-night stay at The Chalet was a fantastic experience. The location could not be better as the motel is right by the lake. When I arrived in the evening, there was a crowd of tourists but because it was by the lake, all it took was a very short walk later that night and early next morning to find oneself solitary at the lake.

The room is spacious and clean, with plenty of towels and toiletries for one's use.

Zita is like the mother we miss on holiday, She's enthusiastic and genuine, and will see to all your needs.

Overall, a delightful place to stay at Lake Tekapo.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brainycoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We sadly only stayed for one night in order to do the midnight Earth and Sky stargazing tour. The motel is right overlooking the lake - one of the most spectacular lakes until you go further south and see the next one, Lake Pukaki - even more spectacular .. !

Zita gave us a terrific welcome with lots of recommendations which we couldn't fulfill in the time available. The apartment was well equipped, comfortable and had a great view with outside table and chairs had we had time to use them.

Luckily we had brought food with us to cook because Tekapo has a limited number of shops.There is a nice cafe - Run 77 - where we had coffee etc.

Only one very minor criticism of the room - we didn't particularly like the (towelling?) sheets but we slept well anyway after our star gazing (An absolute must)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlespBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms and the room was spacious and comfortable. We could also enjoy the lake view from one of the windows. We found it useful that we could use the laundry downstairs. The B&B is not in the center of the town, but it is very close and it is perfect to enjoy the lake in a quite location.

Due to high season, we could only stay here for one night, and hope we will be able to stay there longer next time we are there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KikiHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed one night in early March in room 1 which has a lovely view out towards the lake at the front. It was well kitted out and had everything we needed, and then some. Walter was very welcoming indeed and gave us all sorts of information about the local area, walks, places to visit and even alternative routes up to Christchurch when we left. His recommendations were spot on and we thoroughly enjoyed our short stay in Lake Tekapo which we wish could've been longer.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pem243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

A very spacious room, interestingly decorated and well equipped with everything we needed. The garden is very pretty and there are a couple of seats dotted around plus a table and chairs outside the room. The hotel is right across the road from the Lake and a short walk from the Church of the Good Shepherd - far enough away to avoid the hoards of tourists who are there throughout the day. Our room was at the back of the house therefore it had no view of the lake but it was nice and quiet and we saw plenty of the lake at other times.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoneyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.6 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,930 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
673 reviews
0.5 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalet Boutique Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet Boutique Motel

Address: 14 Pioneer Drive, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: $117 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Chalet Boutique Hotel Lake Tekapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing