We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Godley Hotel for God Damn Awful”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Godley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Godley Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Godley Hotel for God Damn Awful”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Other than the location not a lot going for this place. Asked for and was confirmed with inter-connecting rooms as was travelling on my own with 3 children. Checked in and paid then found out rooms not inter-connecting. Went back to reception only to be told we don't have rooms like that. Make sure you take up the offer to inspect rooms prior. I turned the inspection down. After taking kids ice skating came back to room for hot showers only to find out that there is no water pressure and the showers are worse than a dribble. At least the rooms were warm.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    66
    112
    112
    172
See reviews for
85
254
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Very unfriendly check in. Not informative about Tekapo. Very different to every other check in around beautiful New Zealand. Freezing room. Exposed wires on electric blanket. Cracked, stained sink. Just
disgusting overall. Filthy carpet.
Avoid.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mishybk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Tekapo hotels

Lincoln, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I was very aware of what previous reviews have stated about this hotel. However, when I came there along with my family (2kids and a husband), this hotel wasn't that bad at all. In fact, my kids were enjoyed their time and slept well all through the night. Yes, the decor is outdated but it wasn't a big problem. Yes, the sink got stains, but it was because previous irresponsible guests who smoked and dumped the cigars butt there. Overall, we've got a clean, nice, and quiet room

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hesthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Okay, the outside looks shabby and the rooms are too -- worn carpet, furniture and curtains. But the rooms are quiet, most with great views of the lake (even though reception is right on the main road). Our room was clean, fresh and comfortable with a good bed. If you're picky about a few nicks on the dressers, worn spots on the carpet, a drip or two from a faucet, or you need 50 Sky channels or more than 40 gallons of hot water, you can surely find another place for twice the price. If you want to spend under $100 for a great view of the lake, bordering on the park, with free private hot tub, no noise but right on the highway, then here you go.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake-view room, at the budget room price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hidey-holer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Lake Tekapo is my favorite spot in New Zealand. How the Godley Hotel exists in such a lovely spot is an abomination! I've always stayed at the Last Tekapo Scenic Resort in Tekapo in the past. But, this time I decided to change it up a bit and stay at the Godley. I checked in and the reception staff asked if I would like to see the room, and I said, "no, I'm not picky. I'm sure it will be fine," That was a mistake I grabbed by bags and opened the door to the room.......ughhhhh! Disgusting. Musty smell, old, worn out carpet, a saggy looking bed, tiny room with creaking floors that I was afraid I was about to crash down through to the first floor. Bathroom was a complete mess with leaking faucets and missing tiles and just looked dirty all the way around. I just stood there for a moment dumbfounded. I thought, well, I'll make the best of it......another moment later after still just standing there, I said, no, no, no!, I can't make this work. I'm disgusted, disappointed, and will be so unhappy depressed! So, I put my bags back in the car and walked down to see if the Scenic Resort had a room....with it being the Queen's Birthday weekend, I doubted it. If they didn't, I was going to keep on driving. I told them of my dilemma and if they had I room, I would go back and cancel the Godley room. Luckily, I got their last room. I told them, I don't know why I decided to stay somewhere else that time, but was so happy they had a room. So, I walked back to the Godley, and apologized, but said I was just not happy at all. The reception staff was miffed, which I could understand, but I just couldn't stay there. Even if they had offered a room for free, I think my skin would be crawling all night and I would still have to pass. They seriously need to start from scratch with this place. It could certainly add to the splendor of Tekapo, but in it's current state, it simply detracts from the experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank India J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The view and the heater is all that this room had going for it. For $145 I expected alot more. Bed linen was stained, rubbish under beds, tv was terrible, had to hold onto shower handle so it didn't stop, terrible curtains, and had a message on back of door to say we had to limit hot water usage.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Rocked up at 9am on Wednesday 14th after checking rates online. Was aware the room I was booking was dated and this was described on wotif that i'd be getting an older room. Lake Tekapo isn't a cheap place to stay, so I thought for $90 I got a pretty good deal. Stayed in room 306 overlooking the pool, had a queen bed and single, small tv, heater, kettle and shower/bath/toilet. Spacious rooms, and while yes the furnishings are dated I found the room to be clean, warm (electric blankets rock!) and just what I needed to crash for the day. Appreciated the gentlemen on reception giving me a 9am check-in early too, offered me breakfast and was friendly / easy to deal with (especially when I work for the opposition in Tekapo haha!). All staff i encountered were friendly, and had a pleasant stay. Would return here. I think some people need to understand that you get what you pay for in the Hotel Industry. I've paid $90 to stay in hostels where i've had my own room and had to walk down the hallway to shared showers/toilets. For the price I paid to have multiple beds and an ensuite I was happy. I'd hope to see them do a refurb in the coming years as they have an awesome location, a bit of paint and new carpets/linen and fixtures would bring this hotel into the 2000's however.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpayne84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.3 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
650 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#10 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Godley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Godley Hotel

Property: The Godley Hotel
Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Godley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the lake, overlooking the lake and surrounding mountains, the Godley Hotel offers comfortable and clean rooms in a beautiful and central location. It is a country style hotel with friendly staff and great service. Just 1.5 hours driving time from Aoraki Mt Cook National Park and 3 hours from Christchurch and Queenstown, the hotel is also only 40 minutes' drive from local skifields. The Church of Good Shepherd, the Sheepdog Statue, and all the restaurants and bars are within walking distance. Just a short distance away you can also find our beautiful tracks and walkways, world-class skiing, horse trekking, as well as the Tekapo Springs where you can enjoy an earth-fed natural hot spring bath and Mt John Observatory where you can view the galaxy of stars. With the wide range of outdoor activities available in Lake Tekapo, the convenience of the Godley Hotel makes it a great choice for the region. The hotel has a large restaurant and cosy bar with great Food and Beverage menu for you to choose, the hotel also offers indoor spa pool, outdoor swimming pool and a pool table for you to enjoy. A warm welcome from all of us at the Godley Hotel and we hope you enjoy your visit in the beautiful Lake Tekapo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Godley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Godley Hotel Lake Tekapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing