We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't recommend it” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Godley Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Godley Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wouldn't recommend it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

The location was good but not a lot else. The room could have been cleaner and the bed was in need of a new mattress. The room also lacked proper curtains. On the plus side the staff were very helpful. Adequate for a night but wouldn't recommend it for any longer.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank h_rossbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    60
    100
    101
    156
See reviews for
74
227
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

The location of this hotel is its saving grace. The rooms are a little shabby with saggy beds. Good walking distance to shops and restaurants and parking outside room. Easy walk to Church of Good Shepherd on the lake.

Room Tip: Ask to check out room before taking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

spent a night at double room with view, great location, at the end of the tekapo township, there is a small supermarket "4square", I-sit and earth & sky tour booking desk is just next door, restaurant and bar is all next to the hotel. 10 min walking distance to church, 15 min walking distance to hot pool, Bus stop for Newmans, naked bus, kiwi experience is only 5 min walk. Tekapo lake just behind the hotel. However, for the price i paid, i will pick Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort instead. Here a bit run down

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liawht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

My wife booked us into the Godley motel for a weekend getaway, almost a honeymoon as you would call it, as it is our first time away since our feb wedding, we were to stay 2 nights at the Godley, $140 per night and we took the option of breakfast for 2 at $170 per night, after an awesome trip up through the Lindis pass admiring the beautiful colors of the autumn trees, we arrived at Tekapo, pulled in to the Godley, immediate thoughts were "looks a bit dated", pressed on into reception, and got our room key to the superior lakefront unit no 405.
Parked up, got the bags, misses in tow, happy as, till we opened the door………..
Immediately, a stench of 30 year old stale smoke hit us in the face, yuck she said, our honeymoon was looking in bad shape!!
The room was shocking, the carpet was so old and dated, that is was completely worn through to the concrete underneath in front of the patio door, hidden by a couple of equally worn rugs overtop, the curtains were stained, faded and ripped, both ends hanging down as half the curtain rail clips were missing or broken, we couldn't find the light switch for the lights, which was an invalid point, as when we did find them underneath the bedside unit, half them didn't go anyway.
after coming back from tea, we settled, or tried to, for a good nights sleep, the bed was extremely uncomfortable, saggy, and had some awful underlay thing that kept bunching under the sheets.
The wife made the mistake of looking down beside the bed, and shrieked in horror, finding a 6 odd cm cocoon lying on the floor, i had a look and found it was empty, I'm not sure what creature, was made in there, or where this creature is now, We certainly didn't look any further.
This could have been another reason to not get any sleep, but the night from hell wasn't over yet.
the room above us was occupied and we could hear every movement they made as the floorboards creaked and groaned, we could even hear them going to the loo.
As the night progressed, we tossed and turned, wondering if we would only have to pay the one night and get away for the next night without having to pay and stay again, the room got hot from the heater thermostat which didn't work properly, so i opened the patio door, of which the rollers were so worn that is sounded like a train coming every time you opened it, and the same with every one else's door, which we heard also. unfortunately the worn rollers caused the door to jump off its tracks, so there i was at 3am on the outside of the door in my underwear, fighting to get the door on its tracks, in the morning, we showered, which you had to do with one hand on the tap, as it kept closing unless you held it up, we went for breakfast, which was ok.
thankfully we only stayed and paid one night.
The Godley is by far the worst hotel either of us have ever stayed at, its a disgrace to such a beautiful part of the country, and i do believe that it only survives, relying on the huge amount of tourists that visit the area, unaware. if repeat business is what it was built on, it would have been out of business years ago. I'm embarrassed as a New Zealander to have tourists to our country to have the "Godley" experience.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank foxy20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Tekapo hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We're expecting the worst, but loved the location. Had a lake view room that was cosy and made the most of the dodgy room! Nice and warm and the staff were helpful and friendly. For $100 a night- don't expect the ritz and you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

0 rating stayed for one night booked 2 rooms unfortunately,You vomit as soon as you enter becoz the oddor,The bathroom stinks with stains and stinch from hell, heating is poor, bed bugs and more, please avoid for your own health and safety, tried to pay more for a better room but nothing available because of peak season, please don't go here and be tempted with cheap rates

Room Tip: Never book this accommodation, 0 rating but cannot submit the review
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 243EddyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
122 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is the worst place I have stayed. My husband pulled out his side table to try to find a plug to plug in his electric toothbrush. Behind were a mess of exposed wires coming out of the wall. A bit freaky to say the least! Heater was nearly coming off the wall. Toilet barely flushed, shower was rubbish and pathetic. In the main reception carpet was threadbare. Everywhere was faded paint which was peeling and the whole place in general disrepair.

Room Tip: If you are an electrician there's some wires needing fixing in room 415!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.3 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.3 mi away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#13 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Godley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Godley Hotel

Property: The Godley Hotel
Address: State Highway 8 | P.O. Box 63, Lake Tekapo 8770, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Godley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Godley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Godley Hotel Lake Tekapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing