We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Godley Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$184
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Aorangi Motel(Fairlie)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$99
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hermitage Hotel(Mt. Cook Village)
$139
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (546)
Filter reviews
546 results
Traveler rating
13
78
134
133
188
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
78
134
133
188
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
306 - 311 of 546 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We reserved a room at the Godley Motel at Lake TeKapo through the NZ i site. This was the recommendation of a representative at the Christchurch information site. Upon arrival we knew we were in trouble when we opened the door and were hit by the heavy smell of deodorant and mold. Turning the light was our second mistake. The rugs were filthy, the walls were dirty and the furniture was damaged and ancient. The bathroom was a disaster. The sink was cracked from the top to the stopper was moldy. The mirror above the sink was so old it had lost its silvering around the edges. We opened the doors for over an hour and the smell was still present. There were no other rooms in town so we were stuck. In the morning we could not even shower as the drain did not work. We should have slept in the car.

Room Tip: Never go to this motel.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pfleming34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We thought it was too good to be true and it was. The view is all that they seem to have going for them, as it's clear along Lake Tekapo. The room was on the top floor and was sooo very tired! The shower pressure wouldn't even rate as a shower, it was so low. They warn you about there being only 30 minutes worth of hot water and to be careful how you use it! Ha-ha, what a joke! The bathroom door wouldn't even latch closed, let alone lock. The Fridge froze everything in it even though it was turned down. I wondered why it was turned off when we got there. The curtain track was falling off the frame and we worried that it might fall down overnight. The pillows were flat and needed two to make one normal one! We saw a better room elsewhere and should have paid the extra few dollars. This was our most expensive room and the worst of the lot. The whole place needs a serious amount of renovation to bring it up to even basic standard. I noticed a large number of maintenance items that required attention. The only thing that did work well was the under floor heating in the bathroom! It's such a pity that the rest of the place didn't work as well. Fix this place up folks, or you will find that nobody stays there.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are best. Check the shower pressure. Check that the fridge is working OK. Make sure that you can open a window.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel is dated, really shabby and an unpleasant place to stay. The hot water pressure in our room was so pathetic that I couldn't even wash my hair. The bed cover had marks from the previous occupants. The heater is really noisy. Luckily, we were only staying for one night.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, look for somewhere else.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the Godley two years ago and thought it was okay. This time we could not find other accommodation and stayed there again. NEVER AGAIN will we stay there. The heater worked in the room sometimes, the electric blankets plug on one side didn't have an outlet to plug into, wires were exposed beside the bedside cabinet. The bed was very uncomfortable to sleep in and I woke several times during the night because of this.To fill the jug we had to use the cups and it didn't fit under the tap correctly. We had an evening meal the meal was fine, but the staff were not very pleasant and I felt we were inconveniencing them by coming in for a meal after 7. The outside of the hotel is beginning to look shabby and I believe needs and overhaul, inside and out.

Room Tip: Get a lakeview room, this is the only positive thing about the Godley.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bronny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

everything sucks! Blankets didn't work as the temperature was 0 degree or even lower when I stayed in there. Bad smell in room, No hot water while taking shower. When I checked out, the lady who was responsible for the room checking was extremely impolite!!!!!!! Bad service I had ever experience!!!!!! Bad Hotel+Bad staff=Sucks!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ANNA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews