We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend the extra $$ and stay somewhere else!!!!!”
Review of The Godley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Godley Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spend the extra $$ and stay somewhere else!!!!!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Is it cheap? Yes. Does it need some serious updating? Yes. Did I arrive with realistic expectations? Yes.
It is currently 2.23am and I will not be getting anymore sleep tonight. There is total silence outside and nothing is preventing me sleeping other than the excruciating pain I am in due to these beds.
I was prepared to overlook the fact that the wallpaper had been around so long it was almost back in fashion. And that one of the lights in the room didn't work. And that the light in the bathroom didn't work. And that the receptionist wasn't overly friendly or welcoming. But I will now spend the rest of the night awake and in pain because of beds that have only a future as bonfire material.
I had read the reviews before booking so, sadly, I have only myself to blame. For goodness sake, heed the warning, spend the money and actually get some sleep somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    67
    117
    115
    174
See reviews for
89
259
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

After being greeted at reception we went to our rooms and were worried what we were in for, having read some other folks reviews.

Our room was very adequate, with a heated floor in the bathroom. We had electric blankets on the beds and a nightstor heater in the room. We had tea making facilities.

For a 2+ star hotel I was pleasantly surprised.

Some of our party were disappointed with their rooms, especially the bathrooms which were in poor repair.

In the early evening we went to the bar to have drinks before dinner only to find out that we were unable to purchase drinks as there was no bar manager present. That was disappointing.

We then walked up the road to Reflections Restaurant and had a very enjoyable meal, and drinks, and watched the All Blacks beat France while we ate.

We awoke the next morning to a lot of snow on the ground but we still managed to drive home, via Fairlie.

Room Tip: Ask for a good room and if you want downstairs, you should say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catwatching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscliff, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Recently had the misfortune of staying in one of the biggest dumps on the planet unless you like thin walls, creaking floorboards, no water pressure in the shower, motel siren going off in the middle of the night, running toilet and worn carpet and curtains, and all this came at an overpriced $145. Had to be transferred to another room only to find it just as disgraceful. The only strength for this nightmare was its location.....forget "Lord Of The Rings" being filmed in NZ, I found the perfect location for the remake of "Motel Hell"

Room Tip: Avoid This Motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Tekapo hotels

Dunedin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We didn't stay at this place, but (literally) got stuck there. At one end of their motel unit there are two small, but wide, steps down into the carpark. Because the motels shade them, it is very hard to see that there are steps there and it looks as though it is a driveway entrance into the carpark. My husband drove our car down them and of course got stranded. The manager came out to see what had happened and immediately began making snarky remarks about his driving. I stepped back and saw that it was almost impossible to see the steps until you were on them. We then had to get the garage across the road to come and tow us out, and then check our car to make sure it was ok. (They were very nice, only charging us $40. But we were lucky we hadn't gone just a bit further, or we would have needed repair work.) The guy at the garage then happened to mention that he'd had to do this quite a few times before - people are always driving down the steps. He'd suggested a sign to warn people, but the hotel hadn't put one up.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acootraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Trying to find a reasonably-priced place to stay, we had gone against the advice of an iSite information specialist and booked a night at the Godley Hotel. Don't let the name fool you... It was a night in hell. The receptionist was anything but friendly, even when we needed an extra heater for our freezing cold room and a new set of clean sheets to replace the original ones that had black curly hairs on them. A simple apology would have been nice, but one was not offered. The room was horribly outdated and we were terrified to use the bathroom. Even if we would have been covered in mud, you couldn't have paid us to use the shower. Avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tallgirltraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel was dated but comfortable. TV was hard to work. I could not have a shower or bath as it was a to hard to get into the bath with the shower over it. Its ok for the younger people, but us who are not so agile its not good.

Had a wonderful view of the Lake. Was able to take tons of pics from my room.

The resturant was really good, the guy who was the waiter was fantatic, he said he was from Philippines. He was really good. Got the food we wanted.

The wifi for 5 dollars for 24 was good. If you cant get the wifi in your room go to the lounge as it works real fast there. Also I found moving to another part of the room and it worked ok.

Close to all the shops,



Christine

Room Tip: As for a Lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berry, NSW
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

A very pleasant room with wonderful views of the Lake. The bed was very comfortable and the room was nice and warm. The Godley is centrally located to the shops and restaurants, so is a good place to stay. Wifi is not free here.

Room Tip: Room 407 had the good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joram48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.3 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,732 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
663 reviews
0.3 mi away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#12 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
364 reviews
0.7 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#11 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Godley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Godley Hotel

Property: The Godley Hotel
Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Godley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the lake, overlooking the lake and surrounding mountains, the Godley Hotel offers comfortable and clean rooms in a beautiful and central location. It is a country style hotel with friendly staff and great service. Just 1.5 hours driving time from Aoraki Mt Cook National Park and 3 hours from Christchurch and Queenstown, the hotel is also only 40 minutes' drive from local skifields. The Church of Good Shepherd, the Sheepdog Statue, and all the restaurants and bars are within walking distance. Just a short distance away you can also find our beautiful tracks and walkways, world-class skiing, horse trekking, as well as the Tekapo Springs where you can enjoy an earth-fed natural hot spring bath and Mt John Observatory where you can view the galaxy of stars. With the wide range of outdoor activities available in Lake Tekapo, the convenience of the Godley Hotel makes it a great choice for the region. The hotel has a large restaurant and cosy bar with great Food and Beverage menu for you to choose, the hotel also offers indoor spa pool, outdoor swimming pool and a pool table for you to enjoy. A warm welcome from all of us at the Godley Hotel and we hope you enjoy your visit in the beautiful Lake Tekapo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Godley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Godley Hotel Lake Tekapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing